Nashville and Xmas in July by Donna Michaels

Hi everyone,

How’s your July going? It’s been a special month for me and my family. My husband no longer heads to the armory to work. Yep, this month, he officially started his terminal leave from the military. He’s been in the Army National Guard, both part time and full time, for over 35 years.

ret cake

Here’s the cake I had a good friend of mine make to celebrate Michael’s retirement.

Since my husband was home, I took full advantage and had him help me out at the Weekend With An Author Conference in Nashville. Two weeks ago, we drove down, and boy, let me tell you, it was nice not to rush through airports with heavy suitcases. Having the car, (and driver 😉 ) was also nice, because after the conference, we drove to downtown Nashville to explore.

It was hot and humid, but not inside the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. We spent quite a bit of time checking out exhibits from some of greats like, Hank Sr., Wylon, Garth Brooks, George and Tammy, Charlie Daniels, Leonard Skynard, banditElvis, Toby Keith, and several wonderful photos of Johnny Cash when he was in the Air Force.

There were several cars there, too. This was the one used in Smokey and the Bandit II! How cool would it have been to sit in it? A true beauty!

 

From there, we headed to the original Grand Ole Opry–the Ryman Auditorium.  opry

What a wonderful place. The building itself is beautiful, with it’s woodwork and amazing windows, and the exhibits of past performers were so incredible to see up close.

The whole place was something. You could feel the history!

My husband took this photo of me and my author friend, the wonderful Siobhan Muir, with the stage in the background. We were actually up on a balcony looking down.

All in all, between a terrific conference, and the sightseeing, Nashville was a great trip. I look forward to heading back there again. So much fun!

Speaking of fun, what better way to end July than with a fun Xmas in July FB party?

20139767_859142334235726_506838055608323113_n

Join me, and a ton of authors, as we help Lori King celebrate her 5th Anniversary as a published author this weekend!

Here’s the link:  https://www.facebook.com/events/1747800595518117/

I hope we’ll see you there!

Thanks for reading,
~Donna
www.DonnaMichaelsAuthor.com

 

 

 

About DonnaMichaels

I'm an award winning, NYT & USA Today bestselling author of Romaginative fiction. I write Romance through the H's-Hot, Humorous & Heartwarming.
This entry was posted in contemporary western, Free, Uncategorized, Westerns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

