Rope a Falling Star by Siobhan Muir

starlight600Howdy, y’all!

My name’s Siobhan Muir and I write the Cheyenne Cowboys at the Triple Star Ranch in Wyoming. Wyoming’s known as the Cowboy State and it makes sense because we have the largest and oldest rodeo in the United States, Cheyenne Frontier Days. The rodeo is only six years short of the state’s ratification, which happened in 1890, and twenty-three years younger than Cheyenne, established in 1873. That’s a long time to have hot cowboys riding broncs and bulls.

Cheyenne Frontier Days is a huge celebration extending the last ten days of July every year. There are four pancake breakfasts, four parades, and concerts every night except two – when the bull riding championships take place. I was at a pancake breakfast in 2015 when the inspiration for Tom Colton, the hero in Rope a Falling Star, limped past me. The cowboy couldn’t have been more than 29 years old, but he moved like a man more than twice his age. I watched him move through the crowd and an entire cowboy story line unfolded in my head.

The blurb and an excerpt are below, and Tom Colton took me on a helluva ride in his romance with Amber Hillcrest. Ironically, while I was in the middle of book one, the story line for book two, Star Light, Star Bright showed up, and y’all are fortunate because it comes out this month. Check it out here: http://siobhanmuir.com/slsb.html

Thanks so much for joining me here on the Wild & Wicked Cowboys, and happy reading!

 

ropeafallingstar600Rope a Falling Star (Triple Star Ranch #1)
Genre: Romantic Suspense, Cowboy Romance
Release Date: July 12, 2016

Only the best stars fall…

Three time bronc-riding champion Tom Colton’s dream of a fourth title ends when he draws Wooden Nickel, a mean little bronc with more twists than a maze. With his heart no longer in rodeo, he figures it’s time to go home to the Triple Star Ranch, the PTSD therapy ranch he and his dad founded to help others with trauma in their pasts. Tom just wants a little time to nurse his hurts and consider his next move.

Amber Hillcrest started out as a Triple Star client and stayed on as a massage therapist. Her dog Nimbus keeps her PTSD in check, but her heart remains bruised. She knows she’s too old and too broken for love, especially with the son of her boss, but he’s hot enough to fill her fantasies for years to come.

Amber tries to keep it professional between them, but Tom proves too irresistible with his big heart and charm. But someone is sabotaging the Triple Star and the neighboring Fantasy Ranch, and an ex-girlfriend keeps coming around, trying to reconnect with Tom. Tom’s hands are full of problems instead of the luscious massage therapist. But when Amber gets kidnapped, Tom will move heaven and earth to get her back and tell her how he truly feels.

Read an excerpt of Rope a Falling Star

Copyright © 2016 Siobhan Muir
All rights reserved.
“Dinner with Amber.”

“It’s worked better than you know.” Amber grasped her water glass with both hands. “You’ve helped so many people, not just your father. Interacting with animals to find comfort and stability is a huge thing. Most humans don’t know how to fix the hurts, but animals do. It takes a wise human to know that. You’ve really done so much for people, me included.”

Her words warmed him almost as much as her smile. “I’m glad I could help. I just wanted to save my dad, to give him something to focus on. I figured my winnings and money could help a little.”

“You’ve done a lot, buckets and gallons. I’d even say a ‘butt load.’”

He laughed and stuffed some food in his mouth before he said something lame.

“I mean it, Tom. Your generosity and efforts have helped so many.”

“What about you, if you don’t mind me asking. What brought you to the Triple Star?”

Amber ate for a few moments in silence and he wondered if he’d pushed too hard too fast. Damn, whoa back there, Colton. She’s not some buckle bunny.

“I, uh, I came here as a client three years ago, trying to get back to being functional after the accident.” She pushed her food around the plate. “It was a rough time and I didn’t know how my brother and his wife convinced me to come out here from Seattle. But this ranch was the best thing that ever happened to me. And your dad, too. He really understood what was going on with me.” She reached for Nimbus and the dog shoved her head onto Amber’s lap. “He got me in touch with Wyoming Service Dogs and Nimbus took me the rest of the way.”

Tom watched Amber stroke her dog’s head with love and gratitude, and he wished he could offer her the same solace. Great, now I’m jealous of a dog.

“You’ve made one helluva recovery.” He raised his water glass in salute. “To Trip Colton for making this ranch and Nimbus the service dog for doing what she does best.”

Amber raised her own glass. “And to Tom Colton for funding the ranch for Trip to do what he could do.”

No more than fifty feet away across the river a herd of elk chose that moment to pass through and the bull trumpeted with his own announcement. Both Tom and Amber jumped, turning their gazes to the magnificent male as he nosed his harem of cows into motion.

“Wow, I guess we’re all expressin’ our gratitude tonight.” Tom grinned as he watched the small herd head off toward the copse of cottonwoods upstream.

“Yes, seems like.” Amber returned her gaze to him. “Tell me about you. Aren’t you competing in Cheyenne Frontier Days? I thought that was still going on.”

“Oh, it is and I was, but tonight was my last ride.” He swallowed against the sorrow at the change. Why the hell do I feel sorry? My heart’s not in it anymore.

“Your last ride? You mean you’re done with the rodeo?”

He nodded. “Yup.”

She eyed him a moment or two as she sipped her water. “Is that where you got your shoulder injury tonight?”

He nodded again. “Yup.”

She gaped at him. “I’m surprised you chose to…stop riding.”

“You were gonna say ‘quit’, weren’t you?”

“I thought about it, but quitting suggests giving up and you don’t strike me as a man who merely gives up.” She gave him a pensive smile. “I get the impression it’s more you’ve done what you wanted and now you’re ready to move on to something else.”

Damn, did this woman read minds? He sat back and let his gaze rest on her auburn hair in the fading light.

“That’s exactly what I was feelin’. I just couldn’t get excited about it anymore.”

She nodded slowly. “I’ve learned when that happens, it’s definitely time to move on.” Her mouth tightened over her words and she finished her meal. He wanted to ask what it was she walked away from, but the energy shifted and she’d closed up. What’s she thinkin’ now?

“Thank you so much for dinner. I enjoyed it.” She rose and gathered her plate to take back into the house.

“Are you going?” He blinked.

“Yes. I need to get some rest before tomorrow’s clients.”

He rose and followed her inside, wondering what he’d said to shift her mood. She wouldn’t look at him, but easily cleaned up the remnants of her meal and put the dishes in his dishwasher.

“At least let me give you a ride home.”

“I drove, so I have my Jeep. It’s okay, Tom. Dinner was great. Be sure to ice your shoulder and take some homeopathic Arnica montana or rub on some sports salve to help with the inflammation.” She gave him a perfunctory smile and he sensed his chances with this woman slipping away while he watched.

BUY LINKS

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rope-Falling-Star-Triple-Ranch-ebook/dp/B01I07LRBU

Amazon short: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01I07LRBU

Payhip: https://payhip.com/b/BUJg

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1124071270

Kobo Books: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/rope-a-falling-star

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/648412

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Siobhan Muir lives in Cheyenne, Wyoming, with her husband, two daughters, and a vegetarian cat she swears is a shape-shifter, though he’s never shifted when she can see him. When not writing, she can be found looking down a microscope at fossil fox teeth, pursuing her other love, paleontology. An avid reader of science fiction/fantasy, her husband gave her a paranormal romance for Christmas one year, and she was hooked for good.

In previous lives, Siobhan has been an actor at the Colorado Renaissance Festival, a field geologist in the Aleutian Islands, and restored inter-planetary imagery at the USGS. She’s hiked to the top of Mount St. Helens and to the bottom of Meteor Crater.

Siobhan writes kick-ass adventure with hot sex for men and women to enjoy. She believes in happily ever after, redemption, and communication, all of which you’ll find in her paranormal romance and romantic suspense stories.

MY LINKS

Website: http://siobhanmuir.com

Blog: http://siobhanmuir.com/siobhans-blog

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/103103994291883974643/posts

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Official.Siobhan.Muir

Twitter: http://twitter.com/SiobhanMuir

Tsu.co: http://www.tsu.co/SiobhanMuir

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5760938.Siobhan_Muir

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/siobhanmuir35

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Siobhan-Muir/e/B007CRB2F6/

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/siobhan-muir

 

 

 

This entry was posted in contemporary romance, contemporary western, cowboys, romantic suspense, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rope a Falling Star by Siobhan Muir

  1. siobhanmuir says:

    Thanks so much for having me today, ladies. 🙂

  2. Excellent!! And congrats!!

Leave a Reply

