Guest Blogger Leigh Smith Shares A Cowboy’s Love

Howdy Y’all:  Doncha’ just love hearing that from the mouth of a yankee? – just tryin’ to set the tone for my latest cowboy story.  I do love me some cowboys – they’re always sexy as hell, especially with those jeans fitting those sculpted asses.  Kinda makes you want to reach out and grab some.  Okay dirty old lady talkin’ here and maybe in real life they’re not all gorgeous, but there is a mystique about them that cannot be denied.

leigh2

BLURB:  Annabelle Steele, highborn into Philadelphia Society, becomes engaged to another member of Philadelphia’s elite aristocracy.  Both sets of parents are thrilled with the influential match until Jameson Henry Bartlett’s real character is revealed.

Rather than be subjected to the man’s further depravity, Annabelle takes matters into her own hands and plans her getaway.  She accepts a teaching position in San Francisco and clandestinely makes her escape as Grace Callahan.

Fate intervenes, and her travel plans are thwarted when her stagecoach overturns and she is left stranded in the Arizona Territory.  Marsh Tucker discovers the accident and takes Ms. Callahan and the other survivors to the Winding Creek Ranch.

At first, Marsh Tucker thinks Ms. Callahan is nothing but a young spoiled society brat and treats her with disdain. Grace Callahan believes Marsh Tucker is nothing but a brute and bully after he takes her over his knee and gives her the spanking he thinks she so richly deserves.  They’re both wrong.

Come along on the journey to Winding Creek Ranch.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS:

What is your book’s genre or category and what draws you to the genre?  It is a period western and having grown up in the 50’s and 60’s when westerns were rife, the period has always intrigued me. There is something inherently dominant about a cowboy.

Tell us the story behind the story. What influenced you to write it and how long did it take you?  A Cowboy’s Love is set in Arizona in the late 1800’s. My husband and I were on a trip during the summer and driving through to Sedona, I was inspired by the terrain and the unusual names of some of the towns.  After some research, and because I am a history nut, I found myself thinking about what it would have been like to live there back then and before I knew it, I was writing this story. The background cover is actually a photo I took while on the trip.

I always want my stories to be historically accurate so this period piece required more research than usual and took longer to write than say a contemporary piece.

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?  Marsh Tucker lost his youth during the Civil War.  Much like our soldiers today he suffers from PTSD but there was no name for it back then.  He’s gotten through the worst of it with the love of his mother, his mentor, and a love of the land that carries him through.

Anabelle Steele (aka Grace Callahan) has a fiercely independent streak for a woman of her time. I admire that quality and it is women like her that made this country great.

Is there a part of you in any of the characters? I have an acerbic tongue and an indpendent streak a mile wide which usually comes out in all of my characters.

When did you decide to become a writer? I didn’t write my first story until five years ago when someone challenged me.  It took off from there.

How do you find the time to write?  Being retired gives me greater flexibility.  I thought I would devote lots of time to writing but life takes over and I don’t spend nearly as much time as I would like on writing.  Because life is full, my mind doesn’t have as much time to wander and the story ideas seem to come slower.

What are you working on right now? Right now I’m working on another western type story, set in modern time and there are some ideas floating around in my brain about a contemporary story. We shall see where my muse takes me.

EXCERPT:

After running away and being found, Grace’s rescuer brought her to an Indian village. She felt at ease until she was roughly pulled off the horse and dragged along by the arm belonging to Marsh Tucker.

“Where did you come from and what do you think you’re doing?” she asked breathlessly.

He didn’t say a word as they passed the gathering crowd including White Cloud, Red Fox and Bull Johnson among them.  Some of the crowd offered Marsh sticks and branches – he shook his head no and kept pulling her behind him.  When he reached several large boulders, he found one suitable, sat down and pulled her over his lap, leaving her head and legs dangling in the air.  She was humiliated as she heard the hoots and howls of laughter from the crowd.  However, once Marsh brought down his rough, calloused steady hand to her backside, her indignity was replaced by a throbbing pain.  She wailed at the unfamiliar assault and only received another equally hard whack on her bottom. Having never been spanked as a child, she had no idea it could hurt so much. Squirming around only made him paddle harder. When she tried kicking him, he simply brought one of his thighs over her legs, tugged her in tighter and kept right on relentlessly whacking her bottom.

She used a free hand to pinch him, only the thick materials of his jeans prevented him from feeling the effects.  He answered her attempt by even spanking harder if that was possible.  By now, she would do anything to prevent getting one more thwack on her throbbing bottom.

Finally, the battering stopped, and she heard him ask if she had learned her lesson.  When she asked what lesson, his hand came down again and again in quick succession.  She opened her mouth as wide as possible and bit his thigh.  He howled in pain.

“Why you little wildcat. I’ll teach you.”

BUY LINKS:

LSF Publications: http://leighsmith.lsfpublications.com/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NAMJGTD

Also available on Kindle Unlimited

Website: http://LeighSmithAuthor.com

Email: livinezlee@gmail.com

 

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guest Blogger Leigh Smith Shares A Cowboy’s Love

  1. catrouble says:

    I do love cowboys in denim and really enjoy your books. This one is on my TBR list but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

  2. rozharrison says:

    Hi Randi and Sunny, I enjoyed reading the Q&A and loved the excerpt. She is one feisty woman, he has his work cut out! Can’t wait to start reading this Sunny, I always love your hot cowboys and feisty heroines 🙂

    Hugs
    Roz

  3. PK Corey says:

    I’ve enjoyed all of Leigh Smith’s books and this was one of my favorites!

  4. Hi Sunny and Randi! Great interview without lady friend here! I enjoyed learning how the story intersects with some of your life Sunny.
    Now I think I’m going back to read once more!

  5. ronniesoul says:

    Loved the excerpt. Thanks. SG’s book is on my TBR list.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

  6. Loved this – reminded me of a scene from the traditional hollywood westerns and early tev shows. Love a public spanking and they way they offer implements. Think I’ll need to read this one.

Leave a Reply

