Creating a legacy by Beth Williamson

Hey y’all, Beth Williamson here! Today I wanted to talk about creating a legacy. How do writers do it?

I get asked “where do your ideas come from?”. It’s not a simple answer, like “From the cookie jar” or “The magic tree in the backyard with plot leaves”. LOL. The inspiration for each author comes from a different source, and most times, multiple sources.

The legacy I created with the Circle Eight series was a simple discussion with an editor. She was looking for a “family centric” series. I started noodling on what I loved best about my favorite books and they all revolved around really strong families, as did most of my series to date.

I hadn’t gone back in time to the true wild west of Texas, when the Republic was formed and life was a challenge each and every day. It was a leap of faith that I could pull it off. When I thought about family, it was about forever, about unconditional love and support, which led me to the infinity symbol. Turned on end, it’s an eight. *light bulb moment*

I wanted it to be a typical family in the 1800s, lots of children to work the farm/ranch and help with the younger ones. I had to create a situation where the children would have to rely on each other. I don’t know about y’all, but I’m the youngest of 4 and we fought like cats and dogs growing up. However, your siblings are your closest relatives, the people who should always have your back no matter what.

Choosing the personalities of the Grahams came to me slowly as I wrote book 1, MATTHEW. He was the responsible one who had already been through a war and then his parents’ murder. Strong and unbending, he had to protect his family. (Writing this makes me want to reread his story so much!)

Centering the family around a ranch was the obvious choice given the time period. It became a character of its own, from the big tree behind the house where the family cemetery was to the huge tree that marked the edge of their property. Home.

I put down those roots deep for this legacy, creating the world of the Grahams to share with readers. Each sibling has their own unique story, their own demons, their own needs and wants, and of course, their own true love.

With BENJAMIN‘s release, the circle eight of the past is complete. I turned my attention to the modern day Grahams and started to establish the legacy of these original eight and their descendants. It’s a labor of love to connect them together.

After book 1, LAZARUS, I’ve completed what will be book 2, AUDACIOUS, which is centered around Veronica Meredith Graham (remember one of Matthew’s twin redheaded daughters was named Meredith? :)). It will release on November 8 as part of Sable Hunter’s Hell Yeah! Kindle World. I can’t wait for you to meet Ronnie. She’s audacious. 😉

This entry was posted in A Writer's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

