Happy National Name Your Car Day! by Renee Vincent

img_1664

Renee Vincent’s 1975 Corvette Stingray, “Lady Mara”

I’m a lover of romance novels, horseback riding, and yes, classic cars–Corvettes, to be exact! I own a 1975 Corvette Stingray, and her name is Lady Mara, named after the heroine from my very first romance novel, Raeliksen.

Until yesterday, I didn’t know there was such a thing as National Name Your Car Day, and who knows how this vehicular holiday came about to begin with, but evidently it’s real. It even has its own hashtag: #NameYourCarDay

Cars have been given names for a long time, and I’m betting you remember a few famous ones from the past. I might be showing my age when I mention these, but here goes. There’s Kit from Knight Rider, Herbie from the Love Bug, Christine from Stephen King’s car-killing famous novel, and The General Lee from The Dukes of Hazzard, just to name a few off hand.

RV HeadshotPersonally, I know many people who’ve named their cars, including my late sister, Lindsey. She drove around in a white Toyota Corolla named Sammy. I also recall my father talking to his old pick-up truck when her engine wouldn’t turn over on cold winter mornings. He’d tenderly pat the dashboard, as if to give her a reason to rev up, and call her Betty.

What about you? Have you given your car a name? If so, what is it? I’d love to hear about how you came up with it, so please share you story in the comments below.

If your car remains nameless, well now’s the day to give your car a special and unique alias! Share your new car’s name in the comments below, and I encourage you to share it on social media today using the hashtag #NameYourCarDay.

About Renee Vincent

RENEE VINCENT is a USA Today bestselling author who also pens humorous, sweet contemporary romance (with a smidgen of spunk) under the name GRACIE LEE ROSE. From the daunting, charismatic Vikings, to the charming, brazen Alpha male heroes of modern day (which now include cowboys) readers will be whisked away to a world filled with fast-paced adventure, unforgettable romance, and undying love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy National Name Your Car Day! by Renee Vincent

  1. Mine is a 2014 Mustang GT, I call her Baby. She makes me smile when I take her out.

  2. Hi Renee, I had a Mitsubishi Eclipse… and I named her the Plum Goddess…because of her color, loved that car. I’ve named most of my cars. Currently I’m without. Thanks for sharing your gorgeous Stingray.

Leave a Reply

