I’m Back At Work! by Cynthia D’Alba

Cyndi Headshot #4Hi All! Cynthia D’Alba here. As some of you know, I’ve been in treatment for stage 1 breast cancer. The good news is that there are NO (nada, zero, nil) traces of the cancer left so YAY chemotherapy (even though you took my finger nails, toe nails and every stand of hair off my body!) I still have 3 weeks of radiation to do (gotta kill any seed cells!) but that won’t be until after RWA National in San Diego. (Side Note:  Anyone be at San Diego where we can meet up for a drink? I’ll bring you a sneaker!)

I’m not above bribing someone to sit with me in a bar!

I’m back to work writing on my next two books. The first one is Cadillac Cowboy and the second is Hot and Spicy Cowboy. A pair of brothers meeting up in Whispering Springs, TX after many years apart. An argument gone bad. A divorce of the parents. One son is raised by the father (Ryan) and the other by the mother (Shade.) Should be interesting. Maybe by next month I can share the covers with you.

Want an unedited little teaser from Cadillac Cowboy?

When Shade’s alarm went off, his eyes popped open. He stretched his arms over his head while twisting his ear to his shoulder. After a couple of satisfying neck cracks, he stood. He’d feared that the guilt over leaving Victoria here while he hit the road early would keep him awake. Apparently he’d been too exhausted to care or maybe he had become the heartless bastard his last lover had called him.

The shower put out a stream of hot water with about the same force as a good piss. No matter. He was in and out in minutes. As he dressed, the guilty angel rode his shoulder. He promised he wouldn’t dump Victoria, but he was sneaking out to his car. Fuck. It couldn’t be helped. She needed to go home where she belonged.

A couple of minutes after that, he left the room key on the dresser and headed out to his car. When he opened the trunk to dump his duffle, Victoria’s wedding dress hit him like a neon light. Damn. He’d figure out how to get it back to her somehow.

He unlocked the driver’s door and slid behind the wheel.

“Thought you’d leave without me, did you?”

His hand flew to the gun holstered in the middle of his back. Then he recognized the voice. His hitchhiker. He lowered his hand back to his side.

“Fuck.” His heart pedaled faster. “You scared the crap out of me.” He looked over at Victoria in the passenger seat. “How did you get in my car? The doors were locked.”

“Picked the lock. And don’t change the subject. You were dumping me here, weren’t you?”

Heat flushed up his neck.

“Say nothing,” she ordered. “It’s written all over your face. Guilty as charged.”

“No,” he lied. “Of course not.”

“Shit, Shade. Don’t kid a kidder. People have been lying to me for years.” She pointed to her face. “I’ve got a built-in lie detector and you just failed.”

“Did you sleep at all in the room or did I blow a hundred bucks for an empty room?”

“I showered, washed my hair, got ready for bed and then got to thinking. What would I do if I had an annoying leech? I’d get rid of it. Pretty much what you had planned.”

“I never said you were a leech.”

She laughed. “I noticed you didn’t deny the annoying part.”

Hope you enjoyed that!

Don’t forget to leave a comment so you’re in this month’s drawing!

Until next month (July 24th) and maybe some hot new book covers!

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to I’m Back At Work! by Cynthia D’Alba

  1. Marty says:

    Such great news for you, yay! Hugs

  2. maggiewells68 says:

    Glad to see you back at it!

  3. ELF says:

    Delighted to hear that you had such great results, Cynthia! Welcome back and thanks for sharing the fun excerpt!

  4. Therese Lopez says:

    So happy your doing great!!! That is wonderful news!! I’m also glad to hear you have to hot cowboys in the works!! I can’t wait to read about them. Something tells me that one is the good ole’ boy and one is the bad boy cowboy!! I can’t wait!!

  5. I’m so happy for you! Continued healing!
    Love the tease!

  6. Author says:

    So very glad to hear this news, dear friend!! Jillian

  7. lacombejc says:

    So glad that the cancer is gone, this is awesome news. Love the teaser, it sounds “realllly” good!! 🙂

  8. Donna Repsher says:

    What wonderful news! You had me at “cowboy”! Welcome back!

  9. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Great news, you beat cancer!!! The excerpt sounds great.

  10. So happy to hear the great news! And looking forward to your new stories!

  11. Shirley Long says:

    First and foremost ~~ congratulations on your fantastic test results. And yes, God does answer prayers. I’m so glad you’re on the mend and back at work doing what you love to do.
    Loved the excerpt and can’t wait to read both books.

  12. Mary Lawson says:

    That is fantastic about you! Welcome back. My mother always told me it wasn’t nice to teas, BUT glad you did. Can’t wait to read it.

  13. Shy says:

    I’m very happy to hear you kicked those evil cells butts! I’m in the San Diego area but I have my six year old with me most all of the time so I’m not very good at being a drinking partner. I’d still love to meet you though.

  14. Eileen Kolick says:

    Wow! I need more. So glad to hear your treatment is successful. Can’t wait to read this series!

  15. Clare O'Beara says:

    Well done on fighting off the disease. Stay well!

  16. Woo hoo, Cyndi! *tackle hug* So happy for you!

  17. Natalija says:

    Awesome news!!! So happy for you.

  18. Kelly Bailey says:

    Can’t wait to read Cadillac Cowboy.
    Beyond thrilled for the Cancer Free news.

  19. Fantastic news, Cyndi! The hair can be really crazy when it comes back. I didn’t know mine had such weird growth patterns. Praying that you will NEVER be touched my this disease again! Here’s to a speedy recovery!

  20. alisab8 says:

    So glad to see you’re back and writing again.

  21. Teresa Forduce says:

    Wow so glad to read something new and can hardly wait for more!! Love ya!

  22. Cheryl Lemon says:

    So glad you are on the road to recovery. I live in San Diego, and I’ll be there, just let me know the time and what bar.

Leave a Reply

