Guest Blogger Maggie Carpenter Gives Us The Cowboy’s Rules

This is to celebrate The Cowboys Rules, the very first book of the Cowboys After Dark series. When I penned this naughty novel, I had no idea eleven more would follow.

As of April 21st, the Cowboys After Dark Series, has garnered over 300, 5 star reviews/ratings on Amazon/Goodreads.

The Cowboy’s Rules became a trilogy, which wasn’t planned, but Chad Douglas, the tenacious western horse trainer, and Sassy Cassie, the show jumping diva, just would not leave me alone.

Maggie1

THE COWBOY’S RULES

A NO-NONSENSE COWBOY. A FEISTY FEMALE. A BLAZING LOVE STORY.

Chad Douglas, a tenacious western horse trainer, agrees to transport three show horses to an event six hours away. Their owner is a young woman he’s never met named Cassandra Davidson.The daughter of a wealthy businessman, Cassandra is beautiful, but demanding and spoiled.

When she meets the surprisingly handsome cowboy, she announces that she’ll be flying to the show and will meet him there. Chad makes it clear she either accompanies him and her horses for the long drive, or she can find someone else. Used to getting her way, she displays a flash of temper. Chad climbs back into his truck to leave, and Cassandra realizes she has no choice. She’ll have to acquiesce.

Just how many sparks will fly during their trip? And what will happen when they reach their destination? Climb into the horse van with Chad and Cassie and find out.

 

EXCERPT

Dashing through the house, Cassandra burst out the back door just in time to see the truck pull to a stop, but to her surprise she spied a horse already on board. The truck was decent enough, a late model Ford, and the trailer was modern, wide and sleek. It certainly didn’t compare to the luxurious van she moved her horses in, but it was one of the better rigs she’d seen. Why it was on her family’s property, however, was still to be determined.

Striding quickly over the manicured lawn, she saw a man in a cowboy hat step from the cab.

“Excuse me, can I help you?” she called.

The man stopped, slowly turned, and heavily tinted, aviator sunglasses stared back at her. His hair was dark and longish, falling around the nape of his neck, his jawline strong, and he was wearing a suede jacket with lambswool lining.

“I guess you’re Cassandra,” he remarked.

His voice was thick and deep, almost gravely.

“I am,” she quipped. “Who are you?”

“Chad Douglas. Max sent me, said you were in dire straits. Needed to get your horses to the Mill Creek Show.”

“I do, yes, I do,” she exclaimed, “but I don’t understand. You’ve already got a horse and a trailer with you. What are you going to do, clone yourself?”

“Whoa,” he exclaimed, holding up his hands. “I came here to do a friend a favor.  I don’t need to be spoken to like that. I’ll catch ya later.”

Cassandra watched in shock as he moved to open the driver’s door.

“Wait!” she shouted, running around the truck. “I’m just really irritated.  I didn’t expect to find myself in this mess. Did you want to leave your horse and rig here? Is that the plan? Then how would you get back? I don’t understand any of this.”

“You’d best slow down and catch your breath or you’ll have a stroke about thirty years too early,” he drawled.

“I don’t have time to slow down,” she declared impatiently. “My horses have to be loaded and out of here in less than an hour.”

“I do realize that,” he replied calmly, crossing his arms and leaning against the side of his truck, “but if you don’t settle a bit, you won’t be gettin’ outta here at all. Now do you wanna keep yellin’, or do you want me to explain how I can help you?”

“Okay, okay. I’m calm,” she said, trying to hide her annoyance. “Just tell me.”

He didn’t respond, but she saw his brow furrow, and could feel his eyes scrutinizing her behind the dark glasses.

“Throw a please in there, and I just might.”

“Oh, for pity’s sake,” she replied, rolling her eyes.

He didn’t move or speak, and she felt something strange in the pit of her stomach.           

          “Fine. Please, tell me,” she sighed, lowering her voice and speaking more slowly.

“I’m headin’ up there anyway, and I was just leavin’ when Max called, and-”

“Did he also tell you I have three horses to transport?” she interrupted, her voice rising in exasperation, “not just one.”

Without a word he dropped his arms, and turned to climb back in his truck.

“Sorry, sorry,” she apologized. “I’m just freaked out.”

“When was the last time bein’ freaked out ever got you anywhere?” he asked, leisurely turning back around, his voice steady and even.

          You are soooo frustrating, she silently groaned, gritting her teeth, but realizing she was getting nowhere, she consciously changed her demeanor and shot him her best, sweet smile.

“Chad, I’m truly sorry. You’re right. Please, I won’t interrupt again.”

“If you and I are gonna get along, that would helpful for both of us,” he remarked, not believing her abrupt change in attitude.

“Yes, sure,” she nodded. “Please, carry on with what you were saying.”

“It’s no big deal. Since your van carries four horses, I can put my horse in with your three.”

“Oh! I guess that would work, but do you know how to drive a van like that?” she asked, pointing to the large, horse transport vehicle parked alongside the barn.

He didn’t shift his gaze in the direction she was pointing, but stuffed his hands in the pockets of his jacket and walked a few steps away.

“Chad?”

Still ignoring her, he looked up at the house, stared down at the barn, and finally looked back at her.

“First, Max wouldn’t have sent me all the way out here if I didn’t know my way around the vehicle I’d have to drive. For the record, I’ve driven one just like it many times, though the one I’m used to is the model up from that one.”

“Really?” she asked in surprise. “The six horse?”

“Second,” he continued, not responding to her question, “if I’m gonna drive you and your horses up to Mill Creek, you need to understand I’m not workin’ for you, I’m doin’ you a favor. Now if you can understand that, I’ll be happy to help you out, but I have a rule; I only do a long haul if the person with me is agreeable. I’m not spendin’ six hours in a cab with someone who has an attitude.”

“What are you talking about?” she frowned. “I don’t go with the van. I fly up.”

Chad Douglas stared at the young woman huffing and puffing in front of him. Already on his way out of town, it had been more intrigue than friendship that had made Chad turn around and head back. Max had talked to him about Cassandra many times, how difficult she could be, how spoiled she was, but Chad knew Max went out of his way to help her. Now he understood why.  There was a neediness about her, an indefinable quality, that, in spite of her brattiness, was endearing.

“Let me get this straight,” he said slowly. “You want me to drive your three horses up to the Mill Creek show by myself, while you fly up.”

“Yes, exactly,” she replied. “Shoot, what am I going to do about a groom?  Max usually does that as well.”

He dropped his eyes to the ground, covertly smiling.

Oh, little lady, I am definitely drivinyour van, and you are definitely cominalong for the ride.

HER FORBIDDEN COWBOY

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HAPUWHY/

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/1117703858

 

Please note: This book contains graphic sexual scenes, bondage and discipline, and light BDSM elements.

I hope you enjoyed the excerpt. Chad and Cassie take quite the ride. I hope you can join them and share their wicked fun.

Maggie

www.MaggieCarpenter.com

http://www.Amazon.com/author/maggiecarpenter

 

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest Blogger Maggie Carpenter Gives Us The Cowboy’s Rules

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    You said horses, you got my attention! Sounds like a great read.

  2. 🙂 It’s such a disease, isn’t it? I think horses have magic powers! I know mine does. Thanks, Clare. It’s a fun, sexy book.

  3. Thank you, Randi, for having Chad and Cassie grace your fabulous blog! It’s great to be back.

  4. I’m going along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

