A real life cowboy became a make believe hero

Leave me a comment and win a digital or audio copy of this book.

Christmas is a ,long way off but I was thinking about my characters and this popped into my mind.

People are always asking me where I get my ideas for characters. I tell them the world is so full of interesting people I have a hard time keeping up with them all. I have a football player inspired by a waiter, a heroine inspired by a cop, and so it goes. And while it isn’t Christmas, I want to tel you how I found a Christmas story hero.

HE CAME UPON A MIDNIGHT CLEAR is a story I wrote for Decadent :Publishing’s 1Night Stand series. It’s about a cowboy who must marry by midnight New Year’s Eve to retain the ranch he inherited and a woman who for the first time in her life has reinvented herself. I had an idea in my mind what I wanted him to look like but I couldn’t make the image come clear in my mind.

I was still living in Texas at the time, in a town called Boerne. Bear Moon Bakery is one of the town’s real treasures. They have little cafe tables and chairs outside for those who want fresh air. This particular day I was sitting outside waiting for someone, reading my book, drinking my latte and eating my scone. I have a habit of swinging my foot when I sit like that and suddenly bam! I connected with someone’s leg. I looked up and nearly swallowed my tongue. There he was, Mister Hunky Sexy Cowboy.

He stood a little over six feet, clad in jeans, well worn cowboy boots, a light ranch jacket and of course his Stetson. His square-jawed face featured high cheekbones and the most incredible eyes. He did not have me arrested when I asked if I could take his picture, thank heavens. And he became Cody, in HE CAME UPON A MIDNIGHT CLEAR.Cody

I couldn’t publish his picture because I promised him privacy but this is the closest I could come. Isn’t he hot, hot, hot????? If only he hadn’t been wearing his shirt the day we met.

He Came Upon a Midnight Clear

Cody Alvarez needed to find a wife by Christmas or he would lose the ranch his uncle left to him. Libby Morris just needed, for once in her life, to feel desired. Sensual. Appealing. Especially after an intense reshaping at a high-end spa. Invited to Christmas Week at the Castillo Lodge in Alaska by Madame Eve of 1Night Stand, Cody and Libby were not given the names of the partners chosen for them. As they were forced to wait until they learned who their one-night stands were, they discovered an incredible spark of chemistry and a connection stronger than either had experienced before. Would spending a very erotic night together ruin their arrangements or give them another option?

C heck out this and all my books at http://www.desireeholt.com

 

About desiree01holt

I'm an author of erotic romance, a lot of them with very hot cowboys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A real life cowboy became a make believe hero

  1. Pingback: A real life cowboy became a make believe hero – cherylanne57

  2. ELF says:

    That is one yummy picture, Desiree, thanks for sharing!

  3. doveknoll says:

    I bet that cowboy was sexy if he took your breath away. Lol. The book sounds great and I would love to read it.

  4. seelkfireice says:

    I love reading how authors get their ideas for their stories and this one sounds good. I would love to listen to it.

  5. Chris says:

    I think it’s time to visit Texas!!!!!

  6. Clare O'Beara says:

    Real life inspiration for a hero! Sounds great. Happy Easter.

  7. Dianne Kenes says:

    He came upon a Midnight Clear is this a book I can get to read on my kindle? This Cowboy is really hot! Can’t wait to read this!

  8. Merriedth says:

    Well I think of he is only half as good looking as the man in this picture we might have passed out lol….

  9. lacombejc says:

    Very sexy picture and yes VERY HOTTT!! I like the sound of the book. Thanks for sharing.
    lacombejc (at) suddenlink (dot) net

  10. Jodi Knecht says:

    Sounds Great!

  11. Denise says:

    Gotta love Texas cowboys. Nice to hear how the idea came about and that he was a good sport for the picture. He is very yummy! Great picture.

  12. dvice58 says:

    Wow, what a story! And what a hunk of cowboy!

  13. Cheryl Lemon says:

    Why can’t I meet cowboys like you did. He is hot. Love the story.

  14. Shirley Long says:

    My heavens he is beautiful. I know it’s not the cowboy you kicked, but is he a “real” person? Is there someone in my amazing state of Texas that looks like that? Goodness gracious. I’ve gotta get out more and see the sights. 🙂
    Hope you and our family have a great Easter.

  15. Cindy Hamilton says:

    What a hot looking cowboy!! would love to read this!!!!

  16. LJ Young says:

    OMG, can’t wait to read this! Love your books, love the title, love the pic, and love that this is a 1Night Stand book! Thanks for the background info.

  17. And the winner is……Jodi Knecht. Congrats. Just email me at authordesireeholt@gmail.com to collect your prize.

Leave a Reply

