Harper Lee Remembered, and Honored with a Giveaway By Randi Alexander

HarperI was saddened to hear of the passing of Harper Lee yesterday. The author wrote To Kill a Mockingbird, the novel named Best Work of Fiction of the 20th Century. Her book inspired me when I first read it as a teen, and still stands as an example of great storytelling.

Here are some quotes and photos of Ms. Lee, and I hope they’ll inspire you as well.

http://www.townandcountrymag.com/leisure/arts-and-culture/news/g1101/harper-lees-best-quotes/?slide=1

Leave a comment about which book has inspired you, and one lucky commenter will be chosen as the winner of an ecopy of To Kill a Mockingbird.

Enjoy your weekend!
Randi
“Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
Newsletter
Books
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Authorgraph
Goodreads

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Harper Lee Remembered, and Honored with a Giveaway By Randi Alexander

  1. doveknoll says:

    Wild by Cheryl Strayed inspired me. She overcame a lot during her journey to recovery and self-awareness.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      This book looks amazing! I put it on my wish list. Thanks for sharing, I can see how this book would be incredibly motivating.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Agreed, I read Mockingbird aged 12 or 13 and found it incredible. My mother was worried that it wasn’t suitable for children….

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I can see your mother’s point, but I think it depends on the child. Our 12-year-old would not be a good candidate to read it, but our 14-year-old would. It is an incredible story, and still timely even now.

  3. ronnie c. says:

    To Kill a Mockingbird was very inspirational growing up….it had several life lessons in it…my dad would read me a chapter a night…if they were short chapters, he read two!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s a wonderful memory, Ronnie. I agree that reading it with a parent would be something you’d never forget.

  4. To Kill a Mockingbird……it has some really good quotes and if taken to heart you will be a much better person!!!!!

  5. Some of Stephen Manchester’s books are very inspiring.

  6. For me, in my youth, it was The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. The thought that life can hand you nothing but lemons, but with talent, great friends, and people who believe in you…well, you can “Stay Gold.”

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I loved The Outsiders, too, Kitt. I should re-read them and share with the Twerplets. They’d enjoy them, too.

  7. Eileen says:

    I read James Michener’s Hawaii when I was about 11. Very adult themes and I don’t think my folks knew that. But it opened my eyes to a wider world out there, exotic locations, different ways of life. The story may have started my love of the ocean as well.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Yes! Oh my gosh, I read that book when I was around that age, too. I remember it started with a volcanic eruption that created the islands, and that hooked me right off! Time for me to re-read that one! Thanks, Eileen!

  8. Randi Alexander says:

    We have a winner! Using Random .org, Eileen’s comment was chosen the winner of an ecopy of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve sent you an email, but if we don’t connect, please contact me at Randi (at) RandiAlexander (dot) com. Thanks to everyone for your great memories and suggestions.

  9. Oh wow…this one’s a hard one to answer, Randi. And I know your giveaway is over, but I thought I’d share mine anyway.
    I first found an inspiration to write after reading The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.
    For inspiring me to write a love story no one would forget, The Princess Bride.
    For inspiring me to write romance with a scandalous ending, Wuthering Heights.
    For inspiring me to write historical romance, that would be any book by Catherine Coulter, Heather Graham, Johanna Lindsey, or Amanda Quick!

    It’s sad that Harper Lee died….I so loved the book To Kill A Mockingbird. It was a book I’ll never forget from my high school years.

    Thanks for sharing this lovely post, Randi! ♥

Leave a Reply

