Cowboys Say The Darnedest Things by Renee Vincent

cowboy wisdomWriting cowboy romance requires a certain amount of research. Authors must portray their characters in a true fashion when it comes to dialect, accent, mannerisms, and behavior, else the reader won’t believe what they’re reading. For instance, rugged cowboys would never be caught using stiffly formal and proper speech out on the range, and they’d certainly never be seen having “tea time” with their fellow herders.

However that’s not to say cowboys aren’t gentlemen. In fact, as romance readers we expect our western heroes to mind their manners, to be respectful, and, above all, remain honorable. We want hunky cowboys who open doors for women, remove their hats when entering an establishment or home, and speak with a certain down-home charm that makes a woman feel special.

While we love our cowboy heroes who know how to woo us with their words, sometimes (in an effort to represent the very essence of the west) these spur-sportin’, horse-ridin’, hard-workin’ men in boots say the darnedest things.

In researching for my own cowboy series (the Mavericks of Meeteetse) I’ve come across some dandy sayings that paint a vivid picture, and embody the true spirit of the wild west. I hope you enjoy!

63190-img_20150904_161908_300pxSayings I’ve Said Before (since I’m a horse rider & farm girl myself):

  • Always drink upstream from the herd.
  • Don’t squat with your spurs on.
  • A cowboy is a man with guts and a horse.
  • When in doubt, let your horse do the thinkin’.
  • The quickest way to double your money is to fold it over and put it back into your pocket.
  • If you find yourself in a hole, the first thing to do is stop digging.

Cowboy Sayings Worth Sharing:

  • Lettin’ the cat outta the bag is a whole lot easier than puttin’ it back.
  • The only good reason to ride a bull is to meet a nurse.
  • I took to the life of a cowboy like a horse takes to oats.
  • When you’re throwin’ your weight around, be ready to have it thrown around by somebody else.
  • Don’t dig for water under the outhouse.
  • Never approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear, or a fool from any direction.
  • If you get thrown from a horse, you have to get up and get back on, unless you landed on a cactus; then you have to roll around and scream in pain.
  • There never was a horse that couldn’t be rode; Never was a cowboy who couldn’t be throwed.

“Courage is being scared to death – and saddling up anyway.” —John Wayne


Release Promo 2
“Fans of Vivian Arend and Cora Seton will love Renee Vincent…her sexy Mavericks will steal your heart!” —USA Today bestselling author Shelly Thacker

About Renee Vincent

RENEE VINCENT is a USA Today bestselling author who also pens humorous, sweet contemporary romance (with a smidgen of spunk) under the name GRACIE LEE ROSE. From the daunting, charismatic Vikings, to the charming, brazen Alpha male heroes of modern day (which now include cowboys) readers will be whisked away to a world filled with fast-paced adventure, unforgettable romance, and undying love.
This entry was posted in cowboys, Uncategorized, Westerns and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Cowboys Say The Darnedest Things by Renee Vincent

  1. Therese lopez says:

    This series sounds amazing!! I love her books so much and I can’t wait to try these.

    • Therese, you’ve totally made my day! I’m thrilled that you LOVE my books…every author loves to hear that. But to come upon your praise unexpectedly is twice as nice! Thank you so much and I hope you enjoy this series!

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Love the phrases, which make a lot of sense! Also those are beautiful covers.

    • Why, thank you Clare! That means a lot to me since I designed them myself. I now do all my own covers and I’ve been very pleased. It makes it even better when someone else likes them.

  3. Good facts to know 🙂

  4. Pingback: Cowboys Say The Darnedest Things by Renee Vincent | cherylanne57

  5. Teresa Forduce says:

    love that you yourself are a rider – and that you research before you write – I get really upset as a farm girl and horse lover/rider when things are written that are so inaccurate!! Great covers as well – would catch my attention without a doubt!

    • As an author of historical romance, particularly Vikings, I pride myself on accurate research. It’s a must in this business. As a reader myself, it aggravates me when authors don’t do their research just for the sake of kicking a book out.

      Thank you for your praise on my covers, Teresa! I’m so glad they caught your attention!

  6. vicki says:

    Renee, the covers are beautiful. And love the sayings! Congratulations!!!

  7. BellaMasters says:

    Love this! And yes, I can see you saying some of those things! Thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to read your new series!

    Maddie James

  8. Melissa Keir says:

    I love my cowboys! They are sexy and respectful. True hardworking men!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s