The Blue Plaid Shirt–Em Petrova

Today I’m wondering why the hell I bought a blue plaid shirt. I figured it would be springier than my normal charcoal gray and black with a dash of red in my wardrobe. But when I put it on, I felt… EXPOSED.

 

 

IMG_4652.JPG

 

That may sound odd to you color-wearing people, but for those of us who live in colors of the gray scale, you get it.

 

Yes, I’m introverted. I may not seem like it on the internet, but if you approached me in public, I might take a while to warm up to you. After encouraging you to talk about yourself (because the topic will not be me), I will run home and hide behind my screen.

 

I sometimes write about characters who aren’t so brazen like me. Or at times I write a heroine brazen enough to wear blue and white (gasp!). My latest heroine, is very comfortable in her own skin. She struts her stuff in front of every rodeo man she encounters, because she knows she is worth looking at. As she puts it… “I’m not playing hard to get. I AM hard to get.”

 

While I sit and contemplate sending this shirt back to the warehouse it came from, I’ll  let you read a little excerpt of LIPSTICK ‘N LEAD, now available for PREORDER (in your e-reader Jan 29)  only on Amazon. And maybe after I read it, I’ll pick up a little of Bella’s confidence and rock the blue plaid shirt.

 

LL

 

The minute Quint walked into the arena and set eyes on the curvaceous cowgirl climbing into the chute, his heart did a Texas tango. He stopped in his tracks to watch. What the hell was she doing? She wasn’t a bull rider.

Yet she’d just slung one round, denim-clad thigh over a two-ton beast with blood in its eyes.

“Holy fuck,” he murmured, half prayer, half reverence for the woman with a set of balls big enough to think this was a good idea. There were women bull riders in the world, but most chicks stuck with gentler beasts.

Not Bella Roberts.

Quint issued a low whistle and folded his arms as someone opened the chute and the bull rushed out. As soon as Bella was whipped downward, her beautiful face nearly grazing the bull’s body, which would surely bust her nose, he stopped admiring her guts and started worrying for her sanity.

“Dammit, who let her do this?” He was no bull fighter, but he’d seen it done enough times. He sprinted into the arena, waving his arms. The beast bucked. Bella was tossed.

When her perfect ass hit the dirt, he reached for her. She took his hand, and he yanked her out of the way seconds before hooves pummeled the earth where she’d been lying.

His heart thumped so hard, he had no recollection of taking her out of the arena. His chest felt too tight, his adrenaline running too fast through his veins. Focusing on the feel of her soft palm against his, he fought for calm.

“Well that went better than I imagined.” Her voice was full of mischief, and she tugged her hand from his grasp.

He grasped her by the shoulders and pressed her against the wall. The building wasn’t well-lit, but a bare bulb somewhere down the passageway allowed him to see the laughter in Bella’s eyes.

Dammit, the woman had no clue what danger she’d just put herself in. She might have been killed, maimed.

“I don’t know what you were thinking getting on the back of that bull, but—”

“It was a dare.”

Quint nearly choked. “Who the hell dared you to ride that bull?” He’d better grab a shovel, because he’d be digging a grave later tonight.

Her eyes flared at his tone. “One of the guys asked me to come to his trailer after the competition.”

He dragged in a deep breath through his nose, battling fury. Bella didn’t know him, and his anger was nothing short of intense on a good day. But after seeing her being whipped…

“I said the guy couldn’t handle me. He asked who could. So I showed him.”

 

READ MORE OF LIPSTICK ‘N LEAD

Also, available now is a 3 book set of MENAGES! If you haven’t read Double Dippin’ or LASSO MY HEART before, this is your chance to get 3 books for $4!

 

BUY COUNTRY RIDE

countryrideboxset.jpg

FYI–my daughters said my top looks like a tablecloth and they had an urge to lay food on me. Damn teenagers.

 

Thanks for reading today! I’d love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

 

Em Petrova

~hardworking heroes–in bed and out~

 

Website

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

Blog

FB Fan Page

Twitter

Street Team

About empetrova

Em Petrova lives in Backwoods, Pennsylvania, where she raises 4 kids and a Labradoodle named Daisy Hasselhoff. Her dream is to find an old pickup and travel small-town USA, meeting new people. Her heroes are hardworking–in bed and out–and she is known for panty-scorching erotic romance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Blue Plaid Shirt–Em Petrova

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Think of grey as a shade of blue and you will be fine! This is not a bright shirt compared to some. You can always throw on a darker sweatshirt over it if you go out, so get used to the colour at home. Colour is mood-boosting and we need that at this time of year.

  2. Lori Meehan says:

    I wore black for years because of work. When I no longer needed to wear black it was hard not to it was like a shield. Once you start wearing color it’s so much fun.

  3. Rosemarie says:

    I know exactly what you mean! Most of my wardrobe, especially in winter, is either black or gray. In a fit of delusion, thing I need some color in my clothes, I recently bought a purple (gasp!) shirt. When I tried it on at home, my husband got annoyed that I kept asking “are you SURE this color is okay on me?” He just doesn’t understand…he wears blue shirts all the time. Your new shirt is lovely. It’s difficult, I know, but you should keep it.

  4. For what it’s worth, I think you look lovely in blue. But I get your reason to fret about a color you’re not used to wearing. I do that with RED. I like the color, but I always feel like it doesn’t go with my complexion and I analyze the heck out of it.

  5. patyjag says:

    Great excerpt! I’m an introvert, but I like wearing bright colors. It gives others something to say to me to get me to talk to them.

  6. Shirley Long says:

    Now Em ~~ I think the shirt looks great on you. Little color never hurt anyone. But, I also like black so there you go.
    Loved the excerpt and the picture. Just went and preordered.
    I’m also kind of an introvert. That’s not exactly the right word but it does take me a while to warm up to people. Give me a keyboard and I can talk all day, but put me in front of strangers and I won’t open mouth. Which is actually good sometimes considering some of the things I might say. 🙂

  7. mathlady68 says:

    I totally get where you’re coming from. I have been trying really hard to try “new” things with my wardrobe. I bought a plaid shirt earlier this year. It’s in colors I would normally wear but it’s…plaid. You know what I mean. I have managed to wear it twice and both times I wanted to throw a jacket or sweater over it because it’s …plaid. I feel like everyone is paying undo attention to it. Trust me, the pain of growth is worth the end result. And if your teenagers persist in their need to treat it like a picnic blanket, just suggest using their clothes as cleaning rags. The bathroom could probably use a good cleaning. 😉

  8. Sue Cox says:

    I like your shirt, it has that comfy country feel without looking dowdy. Pay no attention to the fashion comments of teenagers, they subconciously hate when their moms look good ! Your books are great btw. have a great one !

Leave a Reply

