Since I’ve Been Gone – SABLE HUNTER – Plus Contest

SABLE HUNTER HERE!! September was the last time I spoke with you here on Wild and Wicked. I’ve been having a time! And it wasn’t all a good time. In mid-September, I was rushed to the hospital with what I thought was food poisoning. I blamed a place called Mimi’s and brussel sprouts. I endured the pain for several days before one friend finally convinced me to go to the doctor, she was afraid I had something more serious. She was right. The ER staff was much more concerned with my high blood pressure and off the charts blood sugar – all I was worrying about was the agony in my middle section. They gave me pain medicine and that seemed to work. I endured tests and MRI’S then was informed I had a strangulated hernia and a bowel obstruction. I didn’t even get a chance to blink before they took me to surgery.
The surgery went fine and after that, their diagnosis of high blood pressure and diabetes was also proved false. Apparently I was just in mega-stress. Well, I could have told them that. Pain will do that to you.
I went home and thought all was well. A few weeks later was when my troubles really began. I was hit with unreasonable panic attacks. I went from normal to nuts and I had no idea why. Anxiety began to eat me alive. I lost the ability to close my eyes in sleep. I dreaded the sun going down. I became claustrophobic. I actually had to move to a bigger place and I began to either spend my nights out of doors on the patio or else I sat up all night in a car. Sleep only came with exhaustion. I began to seek help and my doctor prescribed xanax. I have to tell you, I was more scared of the drug than I was my headcase. She recommended that I see a therapist and I did. After speaking at length to me – and yes, I told her I had book deadlines, I didn’t have time for this crap – she diagnosed me as having had a ‘chemical reaction’ to the anesthesia administered during surgery. She did hit on a point, I had dreaded being put to sleep. The only other times I’d gone under for surgery I’d had an awful time waking up. This time I roused with no problems, but now I was faced with unreasonable fear of sleep and darkness and isolation. Well, I ended up taking the Xanax and still am – the smallest dose they can diagnose – and I also take a handful of herbs and over the counter sleeping aids to lull myself to slumber. Since its been over three months, I can report that I’m better. The crazy anxiety has dissipated but I still have trouble going to sleep. HOWEVER – – during this time I have not stopped writing. I released TEXAS CHAOS, KIT AND ROGUE and HEAD OVER SPURS and I’m working on four more SIMULTANEOUSLY. When I’m really famous (cough,joke) and their teaching about me in some college class, they’ll look back on these books as my ‘dark period’. In one book, Head Over Spurs – which I wrote to honor Desiree Holt. For a self-torturing plot twist, I gave my heroine my symptoms and the readers a foreword explaining the cathartic exercise. It was well received. We looked back and my last post included IF I CAN DREAM, and then my problem set in. So I’ll share with you the links and blurbs for the others as well as a peek at what else is going on. ALL AVAILABLE IN AMAZON!
Texas C.H.A.O..S.
myBook.to/TexasCHAOS
October 27, 2015

Texas Chaos (1)

The letters C. H. A. O. S. don’t just refer to reality out of control, it’s an alert–the Chief Has Arrived On Scene! Logan Gray is that chief. He covers the ground he stands on and people show respect when he walks by. In his late thirties, Logan is a confirmed bachelor. While he may adore the young Jenna from afar, at 18, he considers her to be a lifetime too young for him.
Jenna is of another opinion. Logan Gray is everything to her. He rescued her from a fire at 16. His parents took her in when she had nothing and no one. Raised on his Gray Wolf guest ranch, Jenna learns how to trick-ride and perform in the rodeo. When Logan’s not looking, she even loves to try her hand at bull-riding. And now, she is ready to go after what she wants most–Logan Gray.
Ignoring the fact that his heart and body craves Jenna like a drug, Logan does what he thinks is best and gently turns her down. What happens next turns his world on end. Logan learns that love can’t be defined by a number and life without Jenna is no life at all.

KIT AND ROGUE

myBook.to/KitandRogue

November 26, 2015

Kit & RogueHappily-Ever-After or Wedding Bell Blues? The Lone Wolf, Rogue Walker, isn’t alone anymore. Not only has he been reunited with the love of his life, Kit Ross – he’s found a family, three brothers and a legacy left him by his father, Dusty Walker. Everything seems to be perfect. Kit has agreed to marry him and she’s having his baby. What could go wrong? Well…everything. Just as soon as all the pieces have fallen into place, all hell breaks loose. Someone is out to destroy Rogue and take away everything he values, starting with his very identity.
Kit knows Rogue Walker is her destiny. The love and passion that flows between them is all-consuming. To begin their lives in style, she plans a surprise wedding and a hot-as-hell honeymoon. If sex were the only thing they had to worry about, their lives would be perfect – because these two can burn up the sheets like nobody’s business. Alas, there’s more to marriage than sex – who knew? Especially when there seems to be more than one bride. Will the real Mrs. Rogue Walker please stand up?
Despite the seemingly insurmountable circumstances, true love will prevail – not only for the Walker clan but for another couple who has found their way to Red Creek, Kansas during this season of miracles – and believe you me – it’s going to take a big one to straighten out all of this…

HEAD OVER SPURS

Released Dec 22, 2015
Head Over Spurs

From the moment Tanner Barron laid eyes on Desiree Holt, he knew she was the only woman for him. His dream girl. The only problem – it was an impossible dream. Their paths crossed early on, before she became a country music star and before he had anything to offer her other than his adoration. One night, in a dark alley off 6th Street in Austin, Tanner rescues Desiree from two men who have her cornered, threatening her. She wants to thank him, but he disappears just before the police arrive. Desiree doesn’t forget, even when she’s offered a record deal and whisked off to Nashville, where she pens a song in his honor – White Knight.
A decade passes before they meet again. Fate brings them together just when they need one another the most. He’s trying to find peace after a failed search and rescue mission and Desiree is seeking healing after another attack – this time by an over-zealous fan which has left her traumatized and unable to sleep.
Their time together begins at Christmas, but it doesn’t end there. They find solace in one another, despite the things that could keep them apart. They’re from two different worlds, she’s famous, he’s just a cowboy who would die for her. Tanner’s not sure he’s good enough, she’s not sure she can satisfy him – after all he’s a young, virile stud and she’s almost a decade older than he is. Will distance, age, and fame keep them apart? Or will the fact that they’re head over spurs in love with one another be enough?

And this is the amazing book DESIREE HOLT wrote honor me

Naked Hunger

His heart has an appetite only one woman can satisfy.

Naked Cowboys, Book 8

Sable Hunter paid her dues caring for suburban pets in West Texas. Ready to get back to her first love—large animals—she’s excited about moving to Saddle Wells to take over for the retiring veterinarian. With a reputation to build, she can’t afford any distractions, and the sizzling heat between her and local rancher Ryan Donovan could seriously mess with her focus.

Ryan earned his stripes the hard way, one bull at a time on the rodeo circuit. Now he’s put his prize money to work raising bulls for competition. He can’t deny he misses the rush of pro riding—until the sweet new vet in town brings a different kind of excitement and makes him want to sweep her into his bed and his future.

Becoming friends with benefits sounds like an excellent compromise to Ryan until he can convince Sable she doesn’t have to choose between career and love. But a costly mistake could destroy her career, as well as any chance for happiness with the man she realizes she loves.

Warning: Contains a woman whose career is taking off, and a man whose career is changing direction faster than a spinning bull. Hang on, ladies, this cowboy’s got a free hand and it’s about to get wild!

http://amzn.to/1OUtTfn

 

There is another bit of exciting news – I have another book up for pre-order that’s a part of the COWBOY JUSTICE 12-PACK – Cowboy Lawmen so hot it’s criminal. Ha!

Cowboy Justice

Here’s the link and below is my individual cover that’s in the boxset and the blurb.

Kobo http://bit.ly/1SjlnsS

TEXAS LONESTAR ( Book 3 on the TEXAS HEROES SERIES)

Dallas McClain is a busy man – far too busy to fall in love. He is a Texas Ranger, a volunteer firefighter and a man with a plan to own his own ranch someday. But for now he’s chasing criminals and putting out fires – everywhere but his own bed. Dallas loves women, what he doesn’t have time for is a relationship or a family. Until… he meets Haley.
Haley Richards is under attack. Shots have been fired through her window, animals have been poached off her land and someone is rustling her cattle. If she doesn’t get help, Haley will lose her home. The local Sheriff can’t seem to help, so he calls in a Texas Ranger to do the job.
The moment Dallas meets Haley, sparks fly. They can’t seem to get along for a minute, but the attraction between them is hard to deny. Abandoned by her husband, she is struggling to keep her home and family intact. She doesn’t trust men as far as she can throw them, but Dallas seems to be different. Despite his aggravating personality, she can tell he’s a man of honor. And when her little girl, Sadie, decides Dallas is going to be her new daddy… Well, let’s say all bets are off. A determined female, no matter if she is pint-sized, is hard to ignore.

 

Also cumming – I mean coming soon is the next HELL YEAH!!

RYDER’S SURRENDER – I’m going to do my damndest to get in out this month – January.
Here’s the cover and the blurb.
12571427_10205970358601436_1455333612_n
Ryder and Pepper McCoy are the pampered sisters of the Highland McCoy brothers – Heath, Philip, Jackson and Tennessee. They have always been over-protective of the girls, vetting every man who is brave enough to ask them on a date. Both are spirited, giving their brothers a run for their money – but one is about to give them a heart attack. Two men are vying for the hand of Ryder McCoy- Samson Duke and his brother Gideon – but this isn’t a rivalry, the Duke brothers plan on sharing her. They are determined to lasso, corral and mark the feisty filly with the DD brand. Ryder is torn between keeping the relationship with her family intact and following her heart. Resisting one of the Duke boys is difficult, keeping both of them at arm’s length may very well prove to be impossible. There’s more going on than meets the eye. The Dukes and the McCoy’s may very well have a common enemy. When Ryder becomes the pawn in a madman’s scheme, all of the men who love her will have to work together to save her. Still, entrusting their baby sister to the wild, powerful Dukes is not something they can accept. Will Ryder bend to her family’s and society’s expectations or will she surrender to what her soul and body crave? She soon finds out that true love doesn’t always follow the rules.
Ryan and I are also working on MICAH a HELL YEAH! EQUALIZER and I’ll have a KINDLE WORLD OMEGA TEAM/TEXAS HERO NOVELLA out in mid-February. The title for it will be TEXAS STAND-OFF. So, you see – I’ve been busy. Even when I was as nutty as a fruitcake, I was busy! For a chance to win your choice of any book mentioned above that is currently available for purchase – comment below and tell me what your biggest challenge has been – I won’t say fighting my anxiety was the worst thing that ever happened to me, after all I have lost folks I love – but it was right up there. What have you faced and conquered?
I LOVE YOU ALL
SABLE

About sablehunter

Sable Hunter writes erotic romance. She writes what she likes to read and enjoys putting her fantasies on paper. Her stories are emotional reads where the heroine is faced with challenges, like one of her favorite songs – she’s holding out for a hero – and boy, can she deliver a hero. Her aim is to write a story that will make you laugh, cry and sweat. If she can wring those emotions out of a reader, then she has done her job. She grew up in south Louisiana along the mysterious bayous where the Spanish moss hangs thickly over the dark waters. The culture of Louisiana has shaped her outlook on life and made its way into her novels where the supernatural is entirely normal. Presently, Sable lives in Texas and spends most of her time in wild and wonderful Austin. She is passionate about animals and has been known to charm creatures from a one ton bull to a family of racoons. For fun, Sable has been known to haunt cemeteries and battlefields armed with night-vision cameras and digital recorders hunting proof that love survives beyond the grave.She writes for Secret Cravings Publishing as well as publishes much of her own work. Join her in her world of magic, alpha heroes, sexy cowboys and hot, steamy, to-die-for sex. Step into the shoes of her heroines and escape to places where dreams can come true and orgasms only come in multiples.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Since I’ve Been Gone – SABLE HUNTER – Plus Contest

  1. Shirley Long says:

    Hi Sable ~~ good to hear from you. And I’m so glad you’re doing somewhat better. Hopefully you will continue to improve with time. I can not imagine what you’ve been thru. You will continue to be in my prayers.
    Now………at my age there have lots of challenges to work thru. But if I’m totally hones, and I always try to be honest, I have to say that having my barely 15 yr old daughter, who had never even been on a date. wind up pregnant has got to be the worst. That’s when I had to hit the Xanax in order to get any kind of rest. And most nights, that didn’t even work. Yes, I survived but trust me, it was a hellish year. Not something I’d wish on anyone.
    I already have all the books except Cowboy Justice which is on preorder. So, unless it is one available to win, just count me out this time.
    Take care…………………………

  2. Shirley Long says:

    Me again!! Forget to tell you that I am totally in awe of the cover for Cowboy Justice. Lord have mercy that man is hot. And the purple on Ryder’s Surrender shouts HOT, HOT, HOT..
    Don’t know who did them but they’re both freakin’ amazing.

  3. Wow…..You have had a hard time. Hope you continue to feel better. I had to have a hysterectomy at 28, I had always had problems. No one knew just how bad it was, they did not understand. I finally got my hormones under control and was able to go on with my life. Just when I thought I had everything under control my grandmother passed away. She was my anchor, I was devastated but I have come back stronger. It was not a good year!!!! I still wish she was here to see my grand daughter. I will keep you in my prayers!!!! Hugs!!!!!

  4. laurellasky says:

    You certainly have had a rough time, as someone who has chronic insomnia I can empathize. I’m 72 and my husband of 30 years is 90 and has Alzheimer’s but is still with it. I have many health issues including diabetes, COPD, and thought that I was getting on top of things. I wrote my first book and went to my publisher’s conference and I started feeling exhausted and walking was like walking through quicksand and when I returned home went to the Dr. And found out I had stage 4 kidney failure. This has been quite a challenge and I’m still working on improving with a strict diet, losing weight and now I’ve improved to stage 3. I’m working on a second book but it’s going very slow.
    I enjoy your books and am glad you are doing better. Hang in there. Sending big hugs

  5. Cynthia Gallaher says:

    My biggest challenge was helping my Mom in her final years, knowing there was absolutely nothing I could do to help her.

  6. pamela says:

    Hi Sable… I’m so glad to hear you’re doing better. My heart goes out to you as I can’t even imagine what you’ve been through. But I’m very impressed that through it all, you never seemed to miss a beat! I was 3 days shy of my 45th birthday when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I’m glad to report I’m 3 years cancer free now, but it hasn’t been without pain, struggle and finding my “new normal”. I still have to work on my new normal at times, but I’m alive so it’s worth it. Through it all, I realized I was stronger than I thought, and there were blessings along the way (like my hair growing back curly). I wish you the best in your recovery and keep up the great work!! I love your books. (Hugs)

  7. Hi Sable… I’m so glad to hear you’re doing better. My heart goes out to you. I’m quite impressed that through it all you’ve been able to write so many fantastic stories. Kudos to you! I was 3 days shy of my 45th birthday when I was diagnosed with breast cancer . I’m happy to say I’m 3 years cancer free now, but that didn’t come without the struggles and pain of surgeries, chemo and radiation. I found out that I’m stronger than I ever gave myself credit for being. My journey isn’t over, but I’m confident the worst is behind me now. I hope the worst I’d behind you as well.

  8. Clare O'Beara says:

    So sorry to hear of your illness twice over. Sounds dreadful. You were very brave to tackle the phobia and keep writing. Wishing you a better 2016.

  9. alexiajanie says:

    OMGoodness…you’ve had a rough time. Glad they were able to finally diagnose you and that you are on the mend. Healing prayers sent that you will continue to get better. Looking forward to you books.

  10. Kathy says:

    Sable, so glad you are doing much better now. I think we all fear that we are losing it and we know something isn’t right. I hate when something happens and I feel like I can get it under control. Glad you got the help for the physical and the mental. They all go hand in hand.

  11. I am so sorry to hear about your problems. I have had to face food sensitivities. The doctors pretty much told me I was crazy but then I found someone who helped me realize it was the food I was eating.

  12. lacombejc says:

    I am so glad you are doing so much better. What I have been putting up with for years, actually 32 yrs to be exact, I have heart palpitations. I can be doing nothing, or walking or sleeping, it could be anything. My heart just starts beating really fast, sometimes lasts for 10 minutes, an hour or even more. I take medicine for it, but they never went away, just something I have learned to live with. I am excited to read all of the new books, I freaking love the cover for Ryder’s Surrender. I am a menage fanatic and can’t wait to read that one. Congrats on all of the new books, future ones also.

  13. Pingback: Since I’ve Been Gone – SABLE HUNTER – Plus Contest | cherylanne57

  14. Stephanie O. says:

    Sure hope you continue to improve on the sleep situation! I’m very intrigued by the new Ryder’s Surrender book coming out…would love to read it!

  15. Barbi Davis says:

    Oh Rebecca, I am so very happy to hear you are alright. I knew I had not seen you on FB much. I thought it was just book deadlines. And the last Newsletter was so long ago. My thoughts and prayers are with you hon. Sending positive energy. Wish I would have been able to send it when you needed it most. I am ashamed to say. I am horribly behind on your books. But things will get better. And I will catch up, promise. All my love, A super huge fan. From Southeast Texas with love, Barbi Davis ♡♡♡♡

  16. Rosemarie says:

    I’m very glad to hear you’re doing better. My recent challenge came when I lost my job last fall. After working part time near home for the past 15 years, I’ve had to go back to work full time with a one hour commute….a little difficult in my late 50s. However, after a month I can say I am fortunate to be doing work I enjoy with great people. Love your books!

  17. Terri says:

    So glad you are getting better. That had to be scary. I think my biggest challenge has been learning that not only did I have PTSD but learning how to deal with it. BTW it sucks. I hate not being able to do everything I use to be able to do but do realize that I do better than I should many times.

  18. Shy says:

    My biggest challenge is being a good mom.

  19. Erin Dixon says:

    My biggest challenge has been the sudden progression of my cystic fibrosis. I always knew this disease would become tougher to deal with as I aged but I never expected the extra issues I am dealing with now. The excessively painful gut problems have been the worst. I too deal with insomnia and the drug I have used for years is now causing a drug reaction….but the food allergies I have limit what I can take. Yep, some days it’s amazing I can even get out of bed but I do and I try to be grateful for all the good things in my life despite the challenges. I am glad you are healing and improving everyday. I look forward to reading the new books.

  20. Oh Sable! You poor thing! I’m so sorry you had such a difficult time after September. I’m hoping that 2016 proves to be much better for you! But I admire the fact that you’ve kept on writing during those trying months. I don’t know that I could’ve done that. What an inspiration you are! Great to have you back!!!

Leave a Reply

