What I Crave Around The Holidays — by Renee Vincent

Happy holidays from RV copyIt’s hard to believe December is already here. Truthfully, I’d like to know where the heck this year has gone. I swear, every year goes by faster. Or is it just me?

Anyway, I hope you’re ready, or getting ready, for the holidays because they’ll be here whether you like it or not. For me, I love this time of year—Christmas especially. I enjoy gathering together with family and friends, watching their faces light up when they tear open their gifts, and eating some of the most delicious holiday foods.

The one thing I look forward to at Christmas Eve is my mother-in-law’s German Potato Salad. I could make an entire meal on it. Though it wasn’t always that way. I kid you not.

When my husband and I first started dating, I couldn’t stand it. Even the smell didn’t appeal to me. I could hardly stomach the thought of a “hot” potato salad with a vinegary tang. Despite my German lineage, and my familiarity with strange German recipes, this one was too bizarre.

That was the first year.

The second year, I decided to take a little spoonful and eat some out of politeness.

The third year, I spooned a little more, claiming it wasn’t all that bad.

The fourth year, I kind of craved it. Oddly enough, I heaped a bigger helping onto my plate.

The fifth year, I couldn’t wait to eat it, and the rest is history. It is by far my favorite thing to eat at Christmas.

So what do you crave most during the holiday season? (Maybe it isn’t food…) Either way, I’d love to hear your story.

*And remember, anyone who comments on one or more of our blog posts is automatically entered in our Wild & Wicked Cowboys contest for that month. At the end of each month, one name is drawn for a Wild and Wicked Cowboys branded gift. Comment daily to increase your odds of winning.

And last but not least…

Join me, the Smutketeers, and 100 of your favorite authors for daily prizes and loads of fun! This is one of those events YOU DO NOT WANT TO MISS!

Abstract Christmas background.Holiday abstract background

Visit SMUTKETEERS website and mark your calendars! I’ll be there Monday, December 14th—I hope to see you there too!

RV Headshot_150pxConnect with Renee Vincent:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Join Renee Vincent’s newsletter and reap the benefits of being a loyal follower! (One lucky winner is drawn each month)

About Renee Vincent

RENEE VINCENT is a USA Today bestselling author who also pens humorous, sweet contemporary romance (with a smidgen of spunk) under the name GRACIE LEE ROSE. From the daunting, charismatic Vikings, to the charming, brazen Alpha male heroes of modern day (which now include cowboys) readers will be whisked away to a world filled with fast-paced adventure, unforgettable romance, and undying love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What I Crave Around The Holidays — by Renee Vincent

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Not a craving, but I enjoy making and tasting a few different stuffings for the turkey. Or chicken, pheasant, duck or whatever the two of us are having. I’ll make one stuffing with sage and onion, one with sweet chestnuts, lemon zest and bacon. Maybe one with cranberries, apricots and onions.

  2. mjmgma says:

    I crave a dish my mother always made for every holiday. It is 1 package cream cheese, 1 can crushed Pinapple, and 1 bag mini marshmellows. Some people call it Ambrosia, but my Mom called it her Christmas Salad.

    • YES, I call it Ambrosia but I like that she calls it Christmas Salad better. It’s funny because I have a similar story. What most people call noodle burger, my mother-in-law calls it Surprise! I think it’s cute when mothers or grandmothers change the name of a food to fit their style or mood.

  3. Lori Meehan says:

    The potato salad sounds good.

  4. Paty Jager says:

    I crave Peppermint Ice Cream! And it is only out during the holidays which is really a good thing. 😉 Fun post!

    • As crazy as this sounds, I’ve never had Peppermint Ice Cream and my favorite brand, Graeters, offers it in December. I guess I need to break down and get me some. Thanks Paty!

  5. Maggie Holcomb says:

    I crave sugar cookies! We have a friend who always brings us cookies and they are the best I’ve ever had!!

  6. just more girl time with my bestie

    • Aw, Rhonda you are so sweet!!! I crave more time with you too! We have so got to figure out a way to see each other more often. Personally, I think you just need to move to KY and get it over with 🙂

  7. Sue Barr says:

    The one thing I crave/love about Christmas is time with family, real and rented. I’ll explain.
    Hubby was in the Air Force, so for most of our married life we were ‘away’ from home. We’d always invite those who couldn’t make it home for the holidays to join us in our meal, and we learned that these are the most precious moments. Even the year we were in a tiny two bedroom apartment, and the stove wasn’t big enough to roast a bird, so I made meatloaf and shaped it like a turkey.
    However, in light of your post, I will say that I crave buttertarts. Christmas was the only time my mother made them, so it was always special.

    • I love meatloaf, and I would’ve loved to see your meatloaf shaped like a turkey! I love your ingenuity, Sue!!!

      I’ve never had buttertarts. Looks like I need to look them up and snag a recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

