Candy as a Way to Create a Character? Randi Alexander

Last weekend, we had a rainy day on our mini-vacation, and were strolling through a mall. You know how those Sees Candy stores give out free samples? Well, the twerplets honed in on that and rushed in for their free sweet. There are so many choices, it’s just crazy!

Candy Character Building Randi Alexander

I watched the family read the descriptions of dozens of candies before they chose their freebie. Pink loves her fruit, and chose a chocolate covered cherry. MissFussy adores caramels because they last the longest, and she requested her favorite.

LittleMan waited to see what Kick chose, and went with the same thing. He’s at that age where he’s just between a boy and a man, and watches carefully to be sure he’s making a manly choice.

My Kick chose dark chocolate with two flavors of chips. He’s a dark chocolate fan, and adores it when I bring home a small high-cocoa content bar for him that he can nip away at for a few days.

For me, the one that caught my eye was the Normandie. I read it off to Kick. Vanilla brown sugar with two kinds of nuts. My husband laughed. You’re sure not vanilla… I had to smile at that. …but you’re definitely two kinds of nuts.

What? Well, yes, okay, I get called nutty more often than I can count, but that’s just my creative side overpowering my logical one – which is a good thing for a writer.

We walked away with a bag of chocolates to enjoy later, but it gave me a great idea. For the cowboys I write, I’m going to start thinking more about them as types of candy. Are they black licorice? Maybe a softer milk-chocolate? Sour gummy worms? Or hard toffee? It makes it easy to imagine each kind of cowboy, right?

How about you? How would you describe yourself as a candy?

Hope you have a SWEET day!
Randi
“Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
Newsletter
Books
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Authorgraph
Goodreads

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Candy as a Way to Create a Character? Randi Alexander

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sounds like fun! However, to avoid any one-dimensional characters, maybe they could be two different and opposing kinds of candy. You know, sweet guy but don’t get him riled.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Absolutely, Clare. Gotta give every character a little secret something – like a gooey candy filling. LOL

  2. I would describe myself as an M&M. Hard candy shell and once you get past that, I’m soft inside

  3. mjmgma says:

    White Chocolate Mint. Cool and refreshing on the inside.

  4. Therese lopez says:

    I guess I would be warm milk chocolate, with rich caramel and just the right amount of nuts. I can be kind of crazy!!!

  5. I am dark chocolate on the out side with coconut on the inside(Mounds) because I keep my sweet side hidden by a dark shell, and that shell is not to sweet. After you get to know me(past my shell) you see I am not as hard as I want people to believe!!!

Leave a Reply

