New York! New York! by Cynthia D’Alba!

Howdy from the Big Apple! Home of consistent honky horns, sirens, and lots of blinking neon lights! I have discovered that I miss the quiet, the sound of wind through the trees, green grass, winding backroads and coffee that doesn’t cost $5 for a cup! As you can tell, I can NOT a big city gal! I’m here for the Romance Writers of American conference. I’m exhausted! If you follow me on Facebook, you saw my in-room dinner last night. Ahh. What a treat! (if you don’t, why not??)

I write small town contemporaries because apparently that’s the life I see as ideal but it’s certainly not for everybody! How many billionaire/big city books are out there? Lots! But give me a southern cowboy with a soft smile, a twinkle in his eye wearing a pair of Wrangles that hug him in all the right places! The most famous cowboy where I am right now is the Naked Cowboy (Google this if you don’t know who that is!) but trust me…ain’t nobody wantin’ to see that!

Tonight, there are LOADS of parties…I’m not going to any of them. 🙂 BUT there is a cover model shoot at 7. I think that sounds MUCH more interesting, don’t you?

So, NYC…Your kind of town?

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New York! New York! by Cynthia D’Alba!

  1. Mary M. says:

    Nope, been there twice and may never go back. Too many people, too little space.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sounds like fun for a visit!

  3. del227 says:

    I grew up 1 hour from NYC, we went by train at Christmas to see all the wonder of Christmas at Rockefeller Center. Other that I love my small town life in CT growing up.and the slowness of now living in the South

  4. Shirley Long says:

    I have to admit I’d like to visit New York just once to see all the sights that I’ve read about and seen on TV and in movies. However, there is not enough money in the world to pay me to live there permanently. Way too many people for this country girl.
    I was born and raised in the country and now, my husband and I live on a dirt road in the middle of 10 ac. I was, am and will always be a country girl. When I go outside at night I can see the stars, hear the crickets and the frogs at the pond. And during the day I can sit on my back patio, under the ceiling fan because after all, this is East Texas and it’s 101 deg today, and watch the bluebird family in the bluebird box my husband made, watch the deer drink from the pond and see the rabbits hopping around the yard.
    So no, NYC is not for me. Give me the country, the cowboys in boots and Wranglers and I’m a very happy girl.

  5. Deb D says:

    It’s ok to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there. I was thinking of going to the book signing. But between parking and managing crowds with the little pink wheelchair, decided to stay home. A shame, being only a 2 hr drive from NYC and so many writers. I’m more than happy out of the city. No way could I live in one. I just started going to book events this year, made it to 3. lol They really aren’t handicap friendly. But I will see you in Nashville anyway.

  6. I’ll keep my small rural life with a population of 500 thank you 🙂

  7. DonnaMichaels says:

    I love to visit NYC, Cynthia! Especially in December!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

