Sweat, muscles and dog tags. And a GIVEAWAY! Rhonda Lee Carver

banner_allcovers

I spent a week in Georgia, temps at 100 degrees, surrounded by military men showing off muscles. Feel sorry for me? Didn’t think so…

My writer mind was going at all times. Every which way I turned there was another buff, sweaty shirtless male. And no, it wasn’t me staring out of the window as the man across the street washed his truck. I wouldn’t have any idea what he was wearing…especially no shirt, blue shorts, blue bandanna…nope, wouldn’t have a clue. I also didn’t see the soap slick and wet on coiled muscle. I stick by it, I am innocent.

At the grocery I stood in front of the coffee aisle, perusing flavors, little did I know I would be approached by a more interesting “flavor”.  I turned and ran smack dab into ABU covered iron chest. He smiled, showing off an even row of white teeth and flexed his biceps.  My gaze  might have shifted south, but I was only checking out his shoes. That’s all, I swear!

When I was asked by a young airman, Brad Pitt’s long lost brother, if I was the writer from “out his way” I didn’t have to pick my jaw up off the floor. And I didn’t act like a schoolgirl, giggly and flushed. Of course not. His wife, who is also from Ohio, reads my books. I’ll admit, I was riding the clouds for a long time. Even later while I was cleaning up the dog puke and scrubbing the Gatorade from the white carpet, I still felt pretty special.

Now I’m back home, neck-deep in a new story, In Knots, of a military man who meets the woman he’s dreamed of for two years. Here’s an unedited excerpt…

Gunnar recognized her immediately as the woman from the photo.  He was caught off guard and she was much prettier than the picture, but he could see the dark circles rimming her eyes and the absent color from her pale cheeks. She looked tired. Her long, flowing red hair hung in soft ringlets over her bare shoulders exposed by the nice fitting tank top. She had big blue eyes, but he knew that from the picture, surrounded by thick dark lashes. A splattering of freckles on her nose was the only thing that marred her skin.

She looked about as surprised to see him as he was to see her. She acknowledged him with a narrowed expression and motioned for him to hang tight while she finished her call.

He nodded. He wasn’t in a hurry. He was here now, and from here he wasn’t sure where he’d go.

Not wanting to it to look like he was listening to her conversation, he turned and examined the small space that smelled strong of soil and greenery. It seemed more like a maze, boxes scattered across the floor, and the walls were bare, except for a bulletin board.  He started to turn back to the woman when a familiar face caught his attention. He recognized the man in the picture as Pastor Trace. The man who’d brought him here…Grace’s husband.

GIVEAWAY!!!! An ecopy of one of my books, your choice (excluding Secret Pressure).

Comment below and I’ll choose one random winner. 

Website

www.rhondaleecarver.com

Blog

http://rhondaleecarver-author.blogspot.com/

Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/7355117

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rhonda-Lee-Carver-Author/155568577811615?ref=hl

TSU

https://www.tsu.co/RhondaLeeCarver

Rhonda’s Rowdy Readers Street Team

https://www.facebook.com/groups/471259293018665/

Newsletter

http://rhondaleecarver.us7.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=90e1b85f9dc4475cf9cbd66b4&id=4e770eb50b

About rhondaleecarver

At an early age, Rhonda fell in love with romance novels, knowing one day she’d write her own love story. Life took a short detour, but when the story ideas would no longer be contained, she decided to dive in and write. Her first rough draft was on a dirty napkin she found buried in her car. Eventually, she ran out of napkins. With baby on one hip and laptop on the other, she made a dream into reality—one word at a time. Her specialty is men who love to get their hands dirty and women who are smart, strong and flawed. She loves writing about the everyday hero. When Rhonda isn't crafting sizzling manuscripts, you will find her busy editing novels, blogging, juggling kids and animals (too many to name), dreaming of a beach house and keeping romance alive. Oh, and drinking lots of coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Sweat, muscles and dog tags. And a GIVEAWAY! Rhonda Lee Carver

  1. Lori Meehan says:

    I lived in Georgia near Atlanta it was always hit as h*ll. the books sounds great.

  2. doveknoll says:

    I was born in Georgia and spent my early childhood moving between Georgia and Texas. My father was in the military and he kept asking to be returned to Georgia. I miss it and wish he wouldn’t have changed his mind about retiring there. 😦

  3. Lisa W says:

    Sounds awesome!!! Grew up outside a Marine base, so I know those run ins 🙂

  4. ELF says:

    Sounds like you had quite a fascinating time in Georgia. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Leah says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful day 🙂

  6. Shyanna says:

    Sounds great except the 100 degree weather

  7. Karn Jones says:

    As a former navy ombudsman I loved having to go into the Admiral s building. Lots of yummies inside.

  8. Charlotte Litton says:

    Thanks for the giveaway

  9. Clare O'Beara says:

    Fascinating trip, thanks for telling us!

  10. mjmgma says:

    This sounds real good. Adding to my wish list.

  11. Therese Lopez says:

    This new military book sounds very good. I love all your books!! I can tell you that I can’t wait to read it!!! Glad you had a great trip.

  12. Sounds like a great read 🙂

  13. debby236 says:

    Thanks for sharing your book. I am adding it to my list.

  14. Jodi Knecht says:

    adding this to my list….

  15. Wow! I found my new vacation destination! Enjoyed this RLC!

  16. Well, you could have taken us along for the ride! I am so glad you & I shared the exciting life of cleaning up dog puke. You’ve gotta love. Thanks for the chance to win! Have a great day! 🙂

  17. Shirley Long says:

    O no, she has a husband???? This could be very interesting. Can’t wait to read it. Please let us know when it’s up for preorder.
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  18. Rosemarie Andreano says:

    I’m envious of your recent stay in Georgia…..because of the weather, of course! Looking forward to the new book.

  19. Leanne says:

    You rock, thanks for the contest!!

  20. Deborah says:

    Love Georgia. My sister lives there, New to your site, but looking forward to it. Looks Great!

  21. Love all your books. I have never read one I didn’t like. I’m proud to own any of your books. Thanks for contest.

  22. Deb Diem says:

    Sounds like an awesome read, can’t wait!

  23. shyla says:

    Sounds like an amazing book

  24. I agree it has been HOT. I really enjoy your stories and have been trying to work my way thru them, if I was only rich!

  25. Tianna Croy says:

    This sounds intriguing!

  26. Diane Vice says:

    Wow, poor guy! Can hardly wait to see how he works this problem out.

  27. ekk52281 says:

    Love the excerpt! This is going to be awesome!

  28. Gail S says:

    I’m a little late to the party. But I made it. A little heat would be nice, The weather here is downright cold for June/July. 58 degrees right now! So a little Hotlanta would be good. 😀
    The excerpt is a tease…we need more.

  29. Thank you for sharing!! Loved it!!! With my son being 37, I just drool, and let me tell you it started when he was in the Air Force….but I decided to drool over those boys and adopt what I could…..then I went after those sexy senior citizens!!! LOL

  30. Nancy Davidson says:

    Oh, Can’t wait to read this one. It sounds yummy!!!

  31. Eileen McCall says:

    Looking forward to the new book!

  32. wyndwhisper says:

    Hi Rhonda lee,
    i am sorry to say that i have not read any of the books in this series but they are now sitting at the top of my TBBN list. 🙂 i love the excerpt and look forward to reading the rest of the book. are the books stand alone or do you need to read them in order?

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

