Sneak Peek – Saddles and Soot by Cynthia D’Alba

D'Alba RT BooksigningMorning gang! Cynthia D’Alba here. I’m hard at work on SADDLES AND SOOT, my next novella. I thought you guys might like a little sneak peek of what I’m doing.

Remember…This is RAW and UNEDITED work you’re seeing!

The tall man who’d rudely shoved her out of the way stalked toward her with long strides and heavy footsteps.

“Lady,” he said, his face red with either heat exposure or anger. Georgie crossed her fingers for heat exposure. She was wrong. “Are you nuts or stupid? You don’t look crazy, so I’m going with stupid. There’s a fire ban right now. That means no fires. At all. For any reason.” He jerked the helmet off his head. Dark wavy hair fell over the forehead. “Well?” he demanded.

“Well, what?”

“Are you crazy or stupid?”

Georgie cocked her fists on her hips and widened her stance, hoping she looked intimidating. It worked sometimes with her patients. Not with this guy, however.

“I’m neither, thankyouverymuch. I just got into town. I didn’t know about the burn ban. Sorry. It wasn’t part of the orientation to my house.” She waved her hand toward the white clapperboard house, as if he wouldn’t know which house she was talking about. “Besides, no real harm done. I’m sure I could have put it out with a garden hose.”

The man was a good six inches taller than she and he took advantage of that stature to lean over her. “You know how a big fire gets started? With a small one. Yours would have spread fast if I hadn’t seen the smoke rising. And ignorance of the ban is no excuse. Any person with a modicum of intelligence would have noticed the parched grass and dying trees around them. Get some glasses, lady, if you can’t see that.”

Ire rumbled in her gut. Standing on her tiptoes, she poked her finger into his chest, which was akin to poking butcher block countertop in the kitchen. Dadgum near broke her finger. “I’m not stupid. And I’m not blind. And I’m sorry.” She dropped down off her toes. “Thank you for showing up. Am I going to get a fine?”

The corners of his mouth twitched as though he might smile, but the movement went no further. “That’ll be up to Sheriff Singer, but he’s a good guy. He might be easy on you if you explain.” His crystal-blue eyes squinted into a serious expression. “No matter where you live, always check with the fire department before you burn.”

She stepped back and saluted. “Yes, sir.”

Hope you enjoyed that! Until it’s release, please go snap up my Texas Montgomery Mavericks books! They are all available in digital and print.

back draft 2

Remember!! Leave a comment to be in the running for the $25 gift card we give away EVERY month!

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in Excerpts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Sneak Peek – Saddles and Soot by Cynthia D’Alba

  1. Eileen McCall says:

    Sounds great! Is this part of the next 12 pack? Cowboy firemen? Can’t wait!!

  2. Susan T says:

    That excerpt has me hooked.

  3. Christine LaCombe says:

    Wow, that was great. Sure had me giggling this morning, Thanks. Can’t wait to read this!! 🙂

  4. Terri says:

    The story sounds like it will have a lot of humor in it. I love romances that also make you laugh. I’m looking forward to reading it. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. Donna Bayar Repsher says:

    Cannot wait to read it!

  6. Can’t wait for this one! Georgie sounds like a real spitfire!

  7. Oh this one sounds like it is going to be very hot. Hee Hee. Looking forward to reading it.

  8. del227 says:

    Can’t wait to read this one Cynthia!!

  9. laineslite says:

    Sounds good and definitely need to check it out when ready.

  10. Pam says:

    I am sooo looking forward to this. I just read all about the Montgomery’s this week. Thanks for the awesome characters. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  11. Teresa Fordice says:

    Woohoo. Gonna be a great read!!

  12. Diane V says:

    Saddles and Soot is gonna be an up-all-night-til-I-finish books.

  13. Another sassy heroine! I love it and can’t wait 🙂

  14. Rosemarie Andreano says:

    SADDLES AND SOOT looks great. Can’t wait!

  15. Linda Chilson says:

    I can’t wait to read it all, those two are going the fun to read more about.

  16. Thank y’all. I’m writing and packing today, so I’ll not be making a comment on very comment BUT I’m reading them and you’re encouraging me to write on!

  17. Shirley Long says:

    O this one sounds good. These 2 are going to be combustible from the word “go”. Can’t wait to read it.

  18. connie blair says:

    can’t wait for another hot one. bring on the fire man, hot hot!!!!

  19. Clare O'Beara says:

    Saddles and soot is an engaging title!

  20. Saddles and Soot – Cowboy & Volunteer Firefighter

  21. Jane Nelson says:

    Love the cover and title! Looking forward to reading this!

  22. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. I loved it. I put it on my TBR list.

  23. laurellasky says:

    Wow. What an awesome excerpt. I’m putting it on my TBR list.

  24. Nancy Davidson says:

    Ooh! This sounds really good! Can’t wait to read it.

  25. Therese lopez says:

    Cynthia, this sounds like another great book I can’t wait to read it!!! Your books are always so good. I love books about firefighters so I can’t wait for it to come out.

  26. Charlene Whitehouse says:

    Looks great Cynthia. I can’t wait to read it all.

  27. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Can’t wait to read!!

Leave a Reply

