Another Lesson In Speakng Texan

Time for another lesson in Do You Speak Texan

Y’all know I’m a real down to hear Texan. My sign says I wasn’t born here but I got here as fast as I could. One of the things I like the most is the unique jargon that is truly Texan, so today I’m going to share a little more with you.

You might be a Texan if you use the phrase “Fixin to” daily.

You don’t want a Texan to say “You’re ugly as homemade soap.”cowboy on a horse

You do want a Texan to say “You’re cute as a possum…(A word of warning here: This is not to be used by a male addressing a male. Well, perhaps some of you could…

Real Texans do not use the word “summer” as a verb.

You don’t want a Texan to say “Youj’re dumber than dirt.”

You do want a Texan to say “You’re Wolverine mean.” (This is actually a compliment…Usually.)

And by the way, it goes double from me because I graduated from the Univerfsity of Michigan so I AM a Wolverine.
Alamo 1 Avoid doing bidness with people who are greasy as lard.

You don’t want a Texan to say “You don’t know whether to scratch your watcj or wibd yiur butt.”

You do want a Texan to say “You’re tough as an old boot.”

Most words are accented in the first syllable, as follows:

HAYulp (Help)Alamo 2

CAWwur (automobile)

CAYut (feline)

DAWug (canine)

FIEyure (blaze)

GEWyum a male person)Cowboy Candy

KAYuff (a baby bovine)

Rurnt (ruined)

SHEoot (to fire a gun)

WAYell (a hole dug for drilling)

That’s it for today’s lesson but stay tuned for more.

And here’s where you can find me when I’m not hanging out at Wild Wicked Cowboys:

(Oh and hop on over to preorder the latest Naked Cowboy: Naked FlameNakedFlame72lg

AMAZON

www.desireeholt.com

www.desiremeonly.com

www.facebook.com/desireeholtauthor

http://www.facebook.com/desireeholt

Twitter @desireeholt

Pinterest: desiree02holt

Google: http://www.desiree02holt

LinkedIn: http://www.LinkedIn.com/desiree01holt

About desiree01holt

I'm an author of erotic romance, a lot of them with very hot cowboys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Lesson In Speakng Texan

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    I didn’t know you had wolverines in Texas, I thought they lived in the far north!

  2. bookcrazy74 says:

    I have a sign on my porch that says: “Here in the South we don’t hide our crazy. We parade it around on the front porch while sippin on some sweet tea.” I say “fixin to” probably more than I should. I also make sure to say “Bless his heart” when I say something bad about someone., I learned so many new sayings when I moved to the South.

  3. Shirley Long says:

    Now Desiree, we don’t all sound like that. Do we? Maybe just a little? Awwwwwww hell, we do sound like that. We Texans love our state and our accents and dare anyone to make fun of us. If others don’t like it, well, they can just go “butt a stump”. (another little Texas saying) 🙂 🙂

  4. carol L says:

    Visiting Texas a few years back I actually had more fun listening.to those great sayings. I have the plaques ad teeshirts to prove it. 🙂 I love the one bookcrazy mentioned “bless his heart” after saying something bad. , lol
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

Leave a Reply

