Country Music and the Story

I often find inspiration for the books I write in songs and country music is a genre that never fails to spark my creative side and to get my writing juices flowing! I’ve been a fan of country and folk music most of my life and I almost always find a way to use music either in my books or songs trigger ideas that become books.

My latest release, One Daring Night, falls into that category. The book was actually inspired by an old Lorrie Morgan song. I’m a huge fan of her music and the idea for the story came to me as I listened to “Good as I Was to You” where the woman confronts her cheating boyfriend in a restaurant. I found myself considering what happened to the spurned woman after she told the guy off and left.

The result was One Daring Night. Sounds sort of heavy, but in truth, the story is a lot of fun…a romantic comedy.

One Daring Night-highres copyBlurb:

Joni’s had better birthdays. Catching her boyfriend at a fancy restaurant with some bimbo certainly wasn’t what she’d wished for when she blew out the candles. Newly unattached, she’s ready to embrace singlehood by going wild, being reckless, maybe even indulging in some meaningless sex.

Depressed with his shallow love life, Eric Bryant is commiserating with his friend, Alex Dare, over a meal at his favorite restaurant. He vows to marry the next woman he sleeps with—just before a firecracker confronts her cheating boyfriend at the next table. Intrigued, Eric offers to buy her a beer. Joni agrees on two conditions: She wants tequila, and complete honesty. Eric promises nothing but the truth.

After one daring night, what happens when two people with such similar hungers want such different futures?

Excerpt:

“I heard what happened back there in the restaurant.” He hastened to explain before she put the car in gear and pealed tires in her attempt to escape. “That guy—”

“My ex,” she interjected.

“The asshole,” he corrected. She nodded her head in a silent touché. “He did a really crappy thing. I admire the way you stood up to him. The way you walked into that place and called him out for it. That took guts. And I thought I’d like to buy you a beer.”

Her smile grew as he spoke before the tiniest bit of disbelief entered her pretty brown eyes. “You really thought that?”

“Yeah. I did.”

Joni turned, looking at the restaurant she’d just left, giving him the chance to study her profile. She was quite beautiful. And even more appealing was the fact she appeared to have no idea how attractive she was. He’d spent way too many days…and nights…with gorgeous women who used their looks to further their agendas—whether it involved getting into his bed or his bank account. Joni didn’t fit that mold, didn’t feel like someone whose motives he’d constantly have to question.

The silence grew uncomfortable and Eric feared he was losing her. That she was going to leave. “Come on,” he prodded. “Take a chance. For one night, be daring. You already started in the restaurant. Keep going.”

She sighed, then looked at him again, and he sensed she’d come to a decision. He was surprised to feel his chest tighten, his heart stutter a bit as he waited to see if she’d give him a chance.

“I’ll take you up on that drink invitation on two conditions.”

He heard himself say, “Anything,” before he could even think through his reply. Then he realized the response would be the same regardless. He’d do anything to spend the evening with her.

“First of all, I don’t want beer. I want tequila.”

He tried not to wince as he recalled what tequila had done to him last night. It didn’t matter. Alcohol wasn’t going to make any decisions for him tonight. He’d already made them. “You got it. And the second?”

“Honesty.”

He frowned. “What?”

She gestured to the restaurant. “I just spent the last three years of my life with a lying, cheating son of a bitch. I’ve been fed so much bullshit lately, I’m choking on it. If we go out for a drink, I want one night of no games, no deception, no playboy pick-up lines. Just you and me. No pretense and no attempts to impress each other with stuff that isn’t real. You up for that?”

He never missed a beat. “Absolutely.”

One Daring Night is a Kindle Worlds book. As Carly Phillips’ “Dare” world is licensed to Amazon, the books are available on Amazon only. If you aren’t a Kindle user, no worries! You can still read the stories on the FREE Kindle APP that you can download on your computer, smart phone or tablet. DOWNLOAD HERE.

Don’t live in the US, but want the books? There are 2 ways to do this, one if you have a U.S. kindle address and one if you don’t.

If you have a US Kindle address you should be able to buy from the US Kindle store.

If you don’t– you can manually switch your Kindle association from the country of registration to the U.S., buy the book you want and then switch back to the original country.
Go to settings. In the middle you can see what country you are associated with. Then just a bit above there is a section that tells you what country you can change associations –>> follow that link –>> change to the country of your choice) –>> choose the American site. You’ll be transferred, and able to buy the books in the Dare Kindle World! Then do the same process in reverse to get back to the original site for your country.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Country Music and the Story

  1. mjmgma says:

    Can’t wait to read this. added to my wish list.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Not the best way to get over a breakup with a lying cheat, but I can see why she might.

  3. Stephanie O says:

    I so want to read this!

  4. Romance Reader Enthusiast says:

    I love a book that inspires music. I used to love a book in a room that was quiet but now I love a book that inspires me to listen to music. Turning off the TV is a good thing especially when I’m enjoying a good/great book.

Leave a Reply

