Paying it Forward — Thank you, Desiree Holt!

me and Desiree HoltLast year I started a feature over on my personal blog called Pay it Forward Friday where I feature a different author each Friday. That author has no idea I’ve featured them until the post appears, but it’s my way of thanking them for offering some advice either personal or professional. Sometimes it’s been as simple a gesture as a Facebook IM asking if I’m all right.

I figured I’d continue it here — and thank the lovely and most generous Desiree Holt. I met her in person a few years ago at the Lori Foster Reader and Author Get Together. Desiree is true southern gentility. She is a lovely, warm, hopeful and helpful author who inspires me to keep plugging away.

Desiree’s CONTROLLED BURN came out today as a single — it had been part of the Five Alarm Alpha bundle that I was also in. So I thought to thank her, I’d give away a Kindle copy over on Facebook. But I’m going to give away a copy here too. Leave a comment and tell me about something nice someone has done for you that has stayed with you.  I’ll leave this contest open until Thursday April 2nd at noon Eastern time.  (I had originally said April 1st then realized someone might think if they got an email saying they’d won they might think it an April Fool’s joke, LOL.)  To enter use the Rafflecopter widget below — to be a valid entry, you need to leave a comment below sharing some way someone has helped you out, or how you’ve paid it forward…You can earn extra entries by visiting Desiree’s or my Facebook page, but you must leave a validcomment here.

CONTROLLED BURN

Controlled BurnMontana Wade was home after writing off the past ten years of her life, but she needed one more night of courage before she faced her family. Boone Crider, hotshot firefighter, was burned out from the rash of malicious fires. They thought one night as strangers would cure them both, but the fire they started between them soon became a barely controlled burn.

Read an Excerpt

Buy from Amazon

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This entry was posted in Contest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Paying it Forward — Thank you, Desiree Holt!

  1. cmucha319 says:

    I try to pay it forward on a weekly basis. If I know someone is low on food, I will go through cabinets and the freezer and take food to them.I will give friends rides to the doctor, work and the store if needed. When I had surgery on my ankle and couldn’t Get around, I had a couple of friends come over and they woulf clean the cat boxes for me or cat puke up off the carpet. I have some awesome friends.

    cmucha319 AT yahoo DOT com

  2. Wow, Leah! I am so honored! And answering any questions for you or doing whatever I can…that’s what friends do for each other, right? I am sending yoju a big hug, just as soon as I mop- up the tears I’m smiling through.

  3. jannashay says:

    One day, quite a few years ago, as I drove up to the toll booth at a bridge, I was told by the toll taker that the car in front of me had paid my toll. I was so amazed and wanted to thank them but wasn’t able to. Since that day, whenever I go through a toll booth, I pay the fee for the car behind me as a thank you for the kindness of that driver who was so thoughtful. That person’s generosity had made my day wonderful, and I like paying it forward to hopefully, brighten someone else’s day.

    • They often do that up here at Tim Horton’s drive-thru — the person in the car in front pays for a coffee for the car behind. It went on for several hours at a store in Winnipeg. I like how you pay it forward now, Janna

  4. Deb Diem says:

    First I want to say I love Desiree’s books. She’s just awesome! As for someone doing something nice, here’s the story. I went to a facebook book party because I saw Kelsey Browning and Jamie Farrell were both going to be there. Since going on disability cut into my book budget, I made a rule to not buy any books from authors I hadn’t read (after buying a couple I didn’t care for.) I had been wanting to read a Kelsey or Jamie book, so I thought maybe I’ll win one at the party. I was lucky enough to win one from Jamie Farrell. I wrote her a thank you and told her about my rule and that I had only gone to the party because she was going to be there and Kelsey was going to be there. What she did was not only send me the book I won, she also gifted me a Kelsey Browning book. I was so surprised, it brought the tears tricklin’ down my face. And to pay it forward, review, review, review. Plaster my wall with new books from my favorite writers, vote for their books in contests and anything else I can think of to promote the books that keep me sane. I have been very lucky winning books, and I think romance writers must own the corner of giving back to the readers. You are all a very generous group of authors. I look forward to meeting some of you in June at Lori’s event. lol If Desiree will come out from behind her table, I’d climb out of my wheelchair for a hug. 😉 I was also lucky enough to win a couple of Desiree’s books from a party. Now if I could only win the lottery.

  5. mjmgma says:

    When I was going through a divorce and had 2 small children to feed on a low income, I came home one day and found 2 boxes of groceries on my porch. No idea who put them there, but I have since paid it forward by doing the same for a couple of single mothers.

  6. Here is another pay it forward. The very first year I was published I went to RT in Houston. I was greener than grass and fumbling my way around. I bought a couple of Allison Brennan;s books for her to sing (I already loved her books) and she asked me abut myself. I told her I was new etc and she took time out of her day to chat with me and give me advise. It made me feel so very good. If I can make someone else feel the same way, my day is made.

  7. Pauline Frost says:

    I cannot think of a lot that I have paid it forward. I struggle getting by with what I do have but I was at work one night and a homeless lady came in to purchase some food. We talk always when she comes in and she seems nice, one evening she came in it was a cold night out and her hands were so cold I felt sorry for her. I went home and found a pair of gloves I no longer need or use and took them to work with me and since she was usually around I saw her and gave them to her. She seemed so happy and accepted them as I had found her lost gloves. I did not correct her that they were from me just told her to enjoy and be safe.

  8. I hate to drive in snow. When the weather is bad, my Gfs husband not only takes her to work and locks her up, they also give me a ride. I also make sure that if she needs a ride I return the favor.

  9. Thank you for sharing this. I am a fan of Desiree Holt. As for paying it forward, I try to do what I can. I give to the Food Banks. I have a friend who doesn’t have lots of extra money for books so when I finish with books I let her have them (or if I get free ones that I don’t read she gets them). I also donate to St. Jude’s Research Hospital for all the healthy children in my life(past, present and future).

  10. Thank you to all my wonderful fans. You are all such special people, not just because yiu are my fans but because you represent goodness and what is real in people.

  11. Clare O'Beara says:

    What wonderful and simple stories are posted above. I especially like the lady with the gloves, and the boxes of groceries for a mother in difficult times.
    When we’ve read books, they go to a college bookshelf for free reading or a charity shop, the ones we don’t want to keep that is. As well, I review everything I read nowadays.
    I generally give children books as presents, their parents would prefer that to chocolate and I know they will get a great deal more pleasure from books.
    A couple of days ago I was lucky to be able to help someone. I went to a cashpoint and saw that a man was walking away but I found there was money sticking out of the slot. I grabbed it and sprinted after him, he was several shops away. He realised he hadn’t taken it and was delighted to get it back. I feel good about something like that because it gives a lift to my day as well as the other person’s.

  12. Stephanie O says:

    There have been so many times someone has really helped me. I try to help others when I can as well, though I admit I’m lacking in that. I donate items to the local food pantry and Life Care center (when I think about it). I have also started watching for newspaper articles or pictures that mention the students I’ve had in class at the high school as a substitute teacher and bringing them to school for the students. So many people don’t take the newspaper, and this was done for me when I happened to be in the paper for some reason, so I’m trying to do the same. If it saves their family from having to buy an extra copy of the paper so they have one for a scrapbook or to share with family, then I’m glad to help.

  13. Sabine says:

    I try to just help whenever I can, wherever I can – I don’t remember specific occasions but being a teacher and helping students, there have been a few. Great thing is these young adults still connect with me! Thanks for the comp – makes me wish I lived in the US so I could get to the various cons and get togethers to meet authors and like minded readers!

  14. leahbraemel says:

    Congratulations to Jenna Shay who won a copy of Desiree’s Controlled Burn. And thank you so much to everyone who entered and left comments about ways they’ve paid it forward or had someone do a kind deed to them. It made this week that much more inspiring. And if you haven’t read any of Desiree’s books — try one. You’ll love ’em!

Leave a Reply

