SABLE’S A BLOOMIN’ IDIOT – or so they say…

I don’t lead a terribly exciting life. Yes, I write exciting, sexy stories – from my recliner! I was teasing a member of my family who’s about to fly to visit relatives in Nebraska. They are worried about safety and crashing and dying in some obscure Kansas wheat field, especially after witnessing the German/French alp crash on TV, sad sad situation. Anyway, I told him the regular stuff – everything from ‘oh, you’ll be fine’ to ‘well, don’t go’. Finally to console him, I told him that he would probably be safer in the plane than I would be writing in the recliner. I joked and said there were probably many horrific recliner-related accidents a year.

I was kidding.

Apparently – though – SHRIEK! – I was on to something.

http://www.hospital-data.com/accidents/lethal/670-chair-recliner/index.html

I couldn’t believe it! How shall I prepare? Should I wear a seat belt while reclining and writing or a helmet? There were an ASTOUNDING 88 recliner related deaths in 2010!

This just proves – NO WHERE IS SAFE – NOWHERE!!

Well, to protect myself from that scary damn chair, I’ve ventured out a bit this week. I researched online to get the best information, I gravitate to the Texas Wildflower report – yes, there is one. Here’s the link.

http://www.texaswildflowerpictures.com/update.htm

Consulting this source, I decided to drive down south of San Antonio to see a stretch of roadway from Somerset to Poteet.  I was excited. I haven’t been to San Antonio in a while. Truly, it is one of my favorite places on earth. Like, New Orleans – San Antonio is just different. They aren’t your typical Southern cities. San Antonio doesn’t just have the Alamo, it has the beautiful river walk and a collection of missions that are awe-inspiring. San Antonio is also a very military town with several active bases and forts – Lackland, Randolph Field and Fort Sam Houston. I remember visiting all of those places. But until yesterday, I’d forgotten about visiting the Quadrangle at Fort Sam Houston when I was a child. The Quadrangle is the original fort and the oldest building. It has served many purposes from a quartermaster’s depot to an arsenal, but in 1886 it housed infamous Native American chief Geronimo. My father used to tease me and tell me he and I were descended from Geronimo. I presume he was teasing, I’ve never found any evidence of it, but his words made me always aware and sympathetic to anything I found out about Geronimo.

My recollection of visiting the Quadrangle with my family is a neat memory. They were there to see the military aspects. I was bored…until I heard the tour director explain about Geronimo and that the soldiers there at the time brought animals into the fort to make Geronimo and his tribe feel more at home. Deer, turkey and rabbits. The soldier tour-guide director waved his hand and said…and they are still here!

You all know me. You can imagine my excitement when I saw the small herd of deer and the rabbits. They are so used to people that they don’t run, they will actually come to you to be petted.

Well, that was the end of the tour for me.

I laid down in the grass with the rabbits and refused to proceed. The tour went on without me and picked me up on the way back while I lounged in the spring green grass and stole as much rabbit sugar as I could possibly get. I remember one of the big burly soldiers asking me if I wanted to spend time with Thumper.

I did.

Here are some photos of San Antonio –

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Traveling on south of San Antonio, I want to show you the wildflowers I saw. In the early spring, Texas is like a natural canvas where a masterpiece is painted. Splashed across the countryside is an array of beauty. Bright splendiferous colors are meshed in the green grasses of the fields. No florist display can come close. It’s as if a grand designer has placed each stem in exactly the right place to assimilate the most amazing bouquet imaginable.  

aflowers1

While on the trip, I ran into other explores, all prospecting to find the exactly perfect shot. The colors span the spectrum, although the bluebonnet takes center stage. What really got me was that there were places where the bluebonnets were so thick and flowed so lushly between the trees and drifted back so that they took on the appearance of a lake that stretched as far as the eye could see.

aflowers7

 

As much as I’d like to imagine, not all of this is just happenstance. Some of it is. Some of these stretches are Mother Nature doing her best work, but the Texas Highway Department also gets in on the act. They scatter seed and many residents also do the same. I passed one sacrilegious moment when a man was out MOWING DOWN HIS BLUEBONNETS. I fully expected swat teams of Texas Rangers to swarm down on him, what he was doing surely must be against the law – in Texas.

aflowers5

And if one person in the world had to receive most of the credit for the wildflowers of Texas, no one would argue who that one person should be. Lady Bird Johnson, former First Lady, wife of LBJ worked tirelessly to preserve and restore the biological bounty of the US, especially her home state of Texas. I’ve traveled to her birth place in Karnak near the town of Uncertain, TX which featured in BURNING LOVE. Here is a photo –

Lady Bird Johnson's Childhood Home in Karnack, TX 002

 

In Washington, Lady Bird was instrumental in the planting of tens of thousands of tulips. She aided in the passing of the Highway Beautification Act and she also founded a research center for the study of wildflowers in Austin. All of that sounds small, but the result of her efforts is nothing one could argue with – just look. And this is just one small corner of the world.

aflowers8

 

I’m not going to harass you with an excerpt this week, but I will show you the cover – ONE MAN’S TREASURE will release before the first. Above are flowers and below is Jet – which form of ‘beauty’ do you prefer?

equalizersjettreasure

About sablehunter

Sable Hunter writes erotic romance. She writes what she likes to read and enjoys putting her fantasies on paper. Her stories are emotional reads where the heroine is faced with challenges, like one of her favorite songs – she’s holding out for a hero – and boy, can she deliver a hero. Her aim is to write a story that will make you laugh, cry and sweat. If she can wring those emotions out of a reader, then she has done her job. She grew up in south Louisiana along the mysterious bayous where the Spanish moss hangs thickly over the dark waters. The culture of Louisiana has shaped her outlook on life and made its way into her novels where the supernatural is entirely normal. Presently, Sable lives in Texas and spends most of her time in wild and wonderful Austin. She is passionate about animals and has been known to charm creatures from a one ton bull to a family of racoons. For fun, Sable has been known to haunt cemeteries and battlefields armed with night-vision cameras and digital recorders hunting proof that love survives beyond the grave.She writes for Secret Cravings Publishing as well as publishes much of her own work. Join her in her world of magic, alpha heroes, sexy cowboys and hot, steamy, to-die-for sex. Step into the shoes of her heroines and escape to places where dreams can come true and orgasms only come in multiples.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to SABLE’S A BLOOMIN’ IDIOT – or so they say…

  1. doveknoll says:

    I’m happy with either of the beautiful things, flowers or Jet. Lol. Be careful riding the recliner of doom. Bwaahaahaa!!!!!

  2. carol L says:

    I remember seeing a documentary on Lady Bird’s beautification program. The flowers are gorgeous. Thanks for sharng.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com.
    ,
    ,,

  3. Judy Harder says:

    I can just picture a little girl stopping and staying with the rabbits! Such a sweet tail – get it! Ha!
    I love wildflowers. Believe it or not we have them in Arizona’s desert too. They have to be tough to grow and blossom from the desert ground, from cracks and around rocks. I’ve seen several colors, but yellow is the most common. And, now that I have seen Jet, I’d like to put him on my dining table without any vase!! 😉 [Do you have any safety information on tangling with a hot guy like him on a dining table?? 😉 ] You be careful in that recliner!! xoxo
    Judyinazusa@yahoo.com

  4. Well I don’t know anything about the German thing but I can tell you …Y’all need to get a grip good, bad or other wise…….thank you for sharing this

  5. DonnaMichaels says:

    Both too beautiful to pick, Sable! Thank you for all the stunning photos! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Clare O'Beara says:

    Thanks for showing the beautiful flowers!
    And thanks for your book cover, which is also stunning!

  7. Eileen McCall says:

    You’ve taken some beautiful pictures of the wildflowers and the San Antonio area in general! Like Jet’s cover as well. Looking forward to another fabulous read!

  8. mjmgma says:

    Already have this in my wish list. Can’t wait.

  9. Karen Hrdlicka says:

    Bahahaha people don’t come to Nebraska by choice, lol. Thank you for the gorgeous pictures and brightening up another cold, gloomy Nebraska day. I see my daffodils peeking up which can only mean a snowstorm soon. I would love to visit San Antonio, hopefully a book event will be there and a friend and I can road trip. Be safe! Better add some safety devices for your recliner. Have a great weekend.

  10. Teresita M Reynolds says:

    Hi Sable!

    To answer your last question: How about Jet standing in a field of wild flowers? 😉

    I am blessed to say that I have been to San Antonio and Austin in Texas. San Antonio with it’s vibrant colors ~ even the browns take on an earth gold tone! To Austin where let’s face it, it’s an eclectic city whose friendly people are at the heartbeat of it’s vibrancy! I believe I could spend two weeks in Austin and still not even get halfway through visiting it’s many delightful sights and restaurants.

    However, the number one reason why I love these places so much are due to the lovely women there whom I call sister/friends. They make those two places sing in my heart! That’s why forever that part of the world is a treasure.

    Sable, thank you for your sense of humor, your fantastic books that enhance my world with vivid descriptions, sweeten my love life with your romantic and steamy love scenes (my DH will be forever grateful to you!) and for the feelings each one of your stories evoke and have jumping off the page.

    Teresita

  11. Ana Alvarez says:

    Hi:)

    I just want to say that besides your books, I also very much enjoy your posts and pictures. Thank you for sharing Texas with me.

    My very best wishes:)

    Sent from my iPad

  12. Michelle D says:

    Any form of beauty I can get! Great pictures, thanks for sharing them.

  13. Shirley Long says:

    Since I live here in East Texas and see the wildflowers ALL the time, think I’ll have Jet. I could take him over to Lady Bird’s house (about 20-30 minutes form me) and show him how beautiful it is. Think he’d like that?

  14. Please enjoy your brand of crazy. It’s the beautiful pictures that you draw in writing, from your imagination and experiences that makes your books so enthralling.

  15. Pingback: SABLE’S A BLOOMIN’ IDIOT – or so they say… | ky ellen

  16. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I’ll take him giving me the flowers!!!

  17. leaannphsurvivor98 says:

    Wow, I will have to be careful in a recliner. Apparently they cause heart attacks! Maybe we should have a defib machine next to it, and a seat belt. Love your pictures. I have never been to San Antonio. Jet looks pretty darn good to me too! 😉

Leave a Reply

