Cowboy Overload in the Briscoe Western Art Museum in San Antonio, TX

In February, I attended the most fun reader/author convention ever put together – the Wild Wicked Weekend. After the wildness ended (and it was truly wild!) I got the chance to have a family vacation in San Antonio. We love to visit museums, and the Briscoe was my absolute favorite.

20150224_141520

Here are some of my favorites from the museum. I enjoy Remington’s artwork, and the Briscoe has two of his sketches.

An Argument with the Town Marshall by Frederick Remington 1905

An Argument with the Town Marshall by Frederick Remington 1905

An Equine Freight Car and Point of View by Frederick Remington 1889

An Equine Freight Car and Point of View by Frederick Remington 1889

This one caught my attention because you can just imagine what the cowboys are thinking.

This painting is aptly named.

And Stay Off by Oleg Stravrowsky n.d.

And Stay Off by Oleg Stravrowsky n.d.

My heart fluttered when I sae this painting. It’s so beautiful, and captures everything I love about cowboys in one slice of life.

Spirit of the West by Tom Browning 2013

Spirit of the West by Tom Browning 2013

I plan to attend 2016’s Wild Wicked Weekend, and I want to set aside a day to visit the Briscoe Museum to view all the pieces I missed, and those I want to see again. Besides paintings, there are many other forms of artwork: sculptures, basketry, dioramas, a spur collection, Pancho Villa’s saddle, Santa Anna’s sword, and so much more. I posted pictures of some of these on my blog, so jump over and take a look if you have a minute.

I hope you’re able to visit the museum some day. It made my trip to San Antonio very memorable.

Have a great weekend!
Randi
“Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
Newsletter
Facebook
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter
Goodreads
Pinterest
YouTube
Authorgraph
My Books – read the first chapters and find buy links:
Legend Awakening
All Hat No Cattle: A Red Hot and BOOM! Story only $.99
All Cash No Flash: A Red Hot Treat Story only $.99
All Smoke No Fire: A Red Hot Cajun Nights Story only $.99
Redneck Romeo: A Red Hot Valentine Story only $.99
Chase and Seduction
Heart of Steele
Rough Ryder
Double Her Fantasy
Double Her Pleasure
Double Her Temptation
Double Her Destiny only $.99
Cowboy Jackpot: Christmas
Cowboy Jackpot: Valentine’s Day
Cowboy Jackpot: St. Patrick’s Day
Her Cowboy Stud
Turn Up the Heat
Cowboy Bad Boys
Cowboy Lust
Cowboy Heat
Cowboy 12 Pack: Twelve Smokin’ Hot Stories for only $2.99
-Free Read! A Gentleman and a Cowboy is available at Amazon, Smashwords, All Romance Ebooks, Barnes and Noble

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cowboy Overload in the Briscoe Western Art Museum in San Antonio, TX

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    What gorgeous paintings! Thanks!

  2. mjmgma says:

    Thanks so much for posting the pictures. I also love to visit museums, I had a wonderful time at the one in Harrisburg, PA with my grandchildren last year and hope to go back this summer. Unfortunately I very rarely travel these days so have to be content with local places.

  3. As many times as I have been to San Antonio I have never been here. Thank you for sharing and I have it on my things to do the next time I am in San Antonio. I am hoping I get to go there in April. We are supposed to have our girl and she has asked her grandfather to take her to San Antonio and Memie is all for that!!!!! Randi your the bomb!!!! LOL

  4. carol L says:

    Beautiful paintings. Thanks for sharing with us. I love musuems also.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

Leave a Reply

