HOT AND SPICY – Local Flavor, Contest and an Excerpt of ONE MAN’S TREASURE

HOT and SPICY

We all have our preferences – in everything from fashion to cars – from the books we read to the food we eat. In my closet you’ll find mostly dresses, nothing really expensive and all designed for comfort. My garage has held everything from pickups to sports cars. I’ve driven a black S type Jag (my all-time favorite), a silver Lexus GSF sport and soon you’ll find a black Corvette Stingray – yes, cars are my weakness. In my library, you’ll find romance almost exclusively. While I do enjoy horror and suspense, I mainly read what I write and that’s romance – the spicier the better. My kitchen is equally prejudice. I eat salads, cheese, muffins – – AND CHIPS AND HOT SAUCE – – lots of chips and hot sauce. And while variety is the spice of life – as in all things – I have my favorites.

Now, in tune with my previous rant, I have my druthers and if I have my way I like my stuff HOT. Men. Cars. Books. Sex scenes. My publishing company received a submission the other day from a budding author and it was introduced as contemporary romance/erotica and I opened it eagerly because that’s what I write, that’s what I’d rather publish – BECAUSE IT SELLS. So, I was happy to receive an opportunity to publish another romance/erotica author. But when I began reading, I realized her definition of erotic wasn’t mine. Her sex scenes were a few paragraphs at about 2 flames while mine are 8 to 12 pages of delicious blow by blow emotionally charged tender sweat producing sex – haha! Not the same thing. So, we have different definitions of what HOT is. Same with Hot Sauce – living in Texas and Louisiana, I burned my heat sensing taste buds off a long time ago. So something has to be intensely hot for the fire to register or the flavor has to be really intense. So, to say I’m picky about chips and hot sauce is putting it MILDLY!

This is my favorite kind of chip by the way – none compare!

elmilagro

Now, I have some pepper horror stories for sure. When I was a little girl, my family raised vegetables and fruit in abundance. And there were days when I feasted al fresco. In other words, I wouldn’t go in and eat what Mama fixed for me, I just wanted to graze on what I could find outside. And there was plenty to find. I could have tomatoes and cucumbers – fresh off the vine. Raw green beans, turnips pulled out of the ground – be sure to shake the dirt off) – figs off the tree, grapes from the orchard, apples, pomegranates, pears, persimmons – – now not all of these were ripe at the same time, but every season brought its rewards.  Now, near the house Mother raised peppers. Bell peppers, banana peppers, longhorn, etc – – Now, I wasn’t dumb – I knew the difference between sweet peppers and hot and NORMALLY I could recognize them….

But one day, as I was nibbling my way through the yard like a chubby little caterpillar, I came to the pepper plants and there was a new one – – it was BEAUTIFUL and red and round and looked like a cherry. I popped it in my mouth and began to chew and BAM! I was on fire! I ran around in circles…SOMEBODY MOVED THE DAMN WATERHOSE and I ran up the stairs and into the kitchen – slammed open the refrigerator door and all I could find quickly were some peach halves in a bowl floating in their syrupy juice and I began feeding them into my mouth as quickly as I could – slurp – slurp – cry – cry – slurp – slurp – –

And thus was how my mother found me and she just took one look at me and knew exactly what had happened. She said – – “I told you to be careful of those peppers.” She knew me well.

Later, when I was dating, it was a source of pride for me that I could stand hotter foods than most of the guys I dated. Nothing turns me off quicker than a guy who can’t handle his heat, so I did my damndest to weed out the wusses by challenging them to eat what I could or HOTTER. Now, this usually worked until I happened upon a sadistic bastard who knew his peppers as well as I did. Somehow or the other we got into a pepper eating contest – a jalapeno pepper eating contest. And for those of you who know – the heat is in the seeds and we were eating them WHOLE. Now as with anything else, there are variations – some jalapenos are even hotter than others and so for a while, the peppers I put in my mouth were tolerable. But then the rat fink handed me one that once i put it between my lips I realized i was cooked – literally. This pepper wasn’t just hot – it was paralyzing – like scorpions were stinking my tongue. Honestly, i have never felt such an agonizing pain, it was debilitating, horrific – – beyond words. And you know what – – – I did not react, I did not blink, I did not spit it out, I did not cry – – I ATE THAT DAMNED PEPPER and didn’t eat bread or run around screaming. After I had swallowed, I calmly took a sip of coke BUT INSIDE I WAS DYING! MY mouth felt like a dragon had burned off the surface – it was literally the hottest damn thing I’ve ever had in my life.

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

But I survived.

Like the TV commercial, for most of my life, I have preferred PACE hot sauce. Made in San Antonio, at my back door, it’s not made in NEW YORK CITY. But since I moved to Austin, I’ve been introduced to many more brands that are locally made and delicious. One variety I’m very fond of combines peppers with peaches grown nearby in Fredericksburg – YUM.

But…a recent book research trip landed me in a whole new world. I am working on two books –hell, I’m working on four – but who’s counting. And I tend to work in local flavor and real places into my books, I think it gives them a depth and a believability that I can’t replicate if I don’t weave in some of me and what I see and feel into what I imagine. ROGUE which will release in May as part of THE SONS OF DUSTY WALKER is an Austin boy who rode rodeo when he was in college but now wildcats in the oil industry. He ends up moving to Kansas when he inherits his father’s business and falls in love there. But I wanted the Texas boy to take some of himself with him when he went. So, I set out to immerse myself in things that I thought he would enjoy. I visited a custom boot shop and a ranch that raised longhorns AND I found JARDINE’S.

JARDINE’S is a local Austin producer of WONDERFUL Hot Sauce. Their ranch is about 15 miles from downtown Austin and when I drove up I felt at home. My family accompanied me and I have pictures of Michael and the dogs to show you in a bit.

The spirit of Jardine’s sauces are derived from their ancestor’s D. L. Jardine’s cooking. D. L. was a chuck wagon cook on the original Chisolm trail. The Chisolm Trail is the route that cattle drives took when they crossed Texas from the ranches to the railroads where the cattle were transported across the nation. I’ve heard and read about the Chisolm Trail all of my life and now I can actually walk part of the route as it crossed the Colorado River near my house! While I was studying this I found out that the cook on a trail ride was the second highest paid hand after the trail boss himself – – shows you how important food is on the trail!

The ‘cookie’ was challenged to feed the cowboys well with foods that he could either transport or kill on the trail. Staples were pinto beans, coffee, bacon, cornmeal and molasses. So, the cookie had to be creative or he’d have a mutiny on his hands. D. L. was one of the first to start incorporating chilies and other papers into his repertoire In fact, this is one of the venues where a form of Texas Chili was born. The first recorded sale of chili was in the Republic of Texas in San Antonio in 1880 by women in stands on the street called ‘Chili Queens’. The varieties are endless, I have my favorite, but D. L. Jardine’s is certainly part of the historical mix.

jardine'scookie

So, Jardine’s offers lots of stuff – I bought 80.00 worth the other day when I visited. And they offer everything from Chili Mix to Hot Sauce to Queso to Marinating Sauces.

Now for some pictures. Here is the inside of the Jardine’s store

jardinesstore

And outside is a replica chuck wagon

jardineswagone

And their version of a research lab – ha – I liked that – campfire and BBQ as research, I could get behind that.

researchjardine

And here is Michael and the dogs petting the longhorns right outside the Jarine’s store. – there is a funny story here – as you can see he wasn’t taking the photo. There was this other man who came up, a Spanish individual and he was eating soft tacos. He proceeded to feed the cows tacos and he and Mike took turns taking one another’s photos. As Mike was taking the man’s picture, he was feeding the cows and they were eating some, he turned to Mike and he said, “They don’t like it too much.” Mike asked. “What kind of tacos are they?” He said “Beef.” Mike laughed and said, “Well, they’e not cannibals.” This is Michael and Abby and Fergus.

jardinesmike

And here is a fine looking Longhorn – which I am partial to.

jardinescow

And now for a different kind of heat.

An excerpt from ONE MAN’S TREASURE

Shaking a finger back and forth, Jet fussed, a smile coming to his lips that was part challenge and part invitation. “You’re trying to distract me.” Who was he kidding, her curves were wrecking his concentration. “Let me say this before I totally lose my mind and do naughty things specifically designed to make your heart pound and your throat sore from begging.”

“Say what?” She was ready for him to put her into an orgasm induced stupor.

Sampling her sweetness was his ultimate goal, but he needed to make this point. “You will not be returning to Veracruz.” He said the words slowly so she couldn’t possibly misunderstand.

Sami couldn’t stand it, she laughed. “Oh, I love you when you’re dominant.” She rose and went to him, climbing into his lap, straddling his legs. “Not that I’m going to listen to a word you say, but I do like to hear you say it.” She ground herself on him until his massive erection was notched into the tender vee between her legs.

“I’m gonna fuck you now, Sami but if you think this discussion is over, you’re wrong.” He framed her face with his hands and began kissing her hard, long and deep.

Sami was through arguing, she had other, more important things on her mind Rolling her butt, she scrubbed her pussy against him, dragging her sweet spot over his hardness again and again – till she was panting, her fingers clutching his hair.

“Damn, you’re hot, you’re so hot,” he whispered.

Hot? She was a firecracker and about to blast off. His cock was rubbing right against her core, her whole body was melting.

“I just want to eat you up,” Jet’s words whispered over her cheek. “You taste so damn good. So sweet.”

“You’re talking too much,” Sami murmured as she let her hands move over his neck and shoulders, feeling his heat, storing up memories and sensations for when she was alone again.

Jet couldn’t help himself, he laughed against her lips. “What would you rather I do?”

She felt his big hand move up her bare thigh to tease at the edge of her panties. Lifting her hips, she gave him room to work and soon he was rubbing the folds of her pussy. Reaching between them, she found his zipper and tugged. With his other hand, he helped, until she found exactly what she needed. “Less talk, more action,” she gasped as he guided himself into her.

“You want me.” He said the words with wonder, as if this was a new thing.

Spreading her legs, she held onto his shoulders and worked her pussy down on his cock, impaling herself inch by inch. Pure raw pleasure flooded her body. “Of course I want you, I’ve always wanted you.”

Jet growled, “Put your arms around my neck.” When she did, he cupped her ass and stood up, carrying her to the counter by the controls, sweeping charts and papers out of the way. Gently, he laid her back, they were still joined. Clasping Sami behind the knees, he indicated for her to wrap her legs around his waist. When she did, he joined his hands with hers and began to move – flexing his hips – thrusting and pumping. “Is this enough action for you?”

“God, no.” Never enough. “More.” Jet was powerful, and she wanted to feel that power. Pushing her hips against him, she tried to get closer, urging him to take her harder. “I’m close,” she confessed. Sami could feel the climax building, shimmering, a sweet heat radiating from deep within. Sami strained, locking her ankles behind his hips, watching his beloved face as he fucked her. “Harder, Jet. I want to feel your power. I want the real you. Don’t hold back.”

How had she known? He’d always held back. He didn’t want them to see, didn’t want them to know the real Jet. To let a person see the real you is to give them power over you and he never wanted to relinquish power – until now. “Hold on to me, tight,” he commanded as he began to pound into her, dragging his cock almost all the way out, then slamming it back in. God, he was in heaven. Jet felt her tighten around him, his dick getting squeezed from all sides, this woman was literally milking him dry.

Sami whimpered, she purred, she moaned for him – now she was the one who couldn’t be quiet. “Good, Jet, it’s so good.” Closer and closer it came, until she sparked and the bliss swamped her, huge waves crashed over and over again. “Jet!” She screamed, pulling him down on top of her, his weight crushing her deliciously.

Burying his face in her neck, Jet rubbed his body over her satin skin, his chest mating with the most perfect set of breasts he’d ever seen – not huge, just perfect. Sami quivered as she continued to pulse around him and he held on, giving her every last bit of pleasure she could stand. And even then he didn’t stop, keeping up the pace until he erupted inside of her giving her everything he had, his body lighting up like a flare illuminating the blackness of night.

Now, there’s some heat! To enter a contest for an ebook copy of ONE MAN’S TREASURE when it comes out — tell me your favorite brand of HOT SAUCE! and how much heat can you stand?

Don’t forget to visit me at sablehunter.com

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sablehunter

Sable Hunter writes erotic romance. She writes what she likes to read and enjoys putting her fantasies on paper. Her stories are emotional reads where the heroine is faced with challenges, like one of her favorite songs – she’s holding out for a hero – and boy, can she deliver a hero. Her aim is to write a story that will make you laugh, cry and sweat. If she can wring those emotions out of a reader, then she has done her job. She grew up in south Louisiana along the mysterious bayous where the Spanish moss hangs thickly over the dark waters. The culture of Louisiana has shaped her outlook on life and made its way into her novels where the supernatural is entirely normal. Presently, Sable lives in Texas and spends most of her time in wild and wonderful Austin. She is passionate about animals and has been known to charm creatures from a one ton bull to a family of racoons. For fun, Sable has been known to haunt cemeteries and battlefields armed with night-vision cameras and digital recorders hunting proof that love survives beyond the grave.She writes for Secret Cravings Publishing as well as publishes much of her own work. Join her in her world of magic, alpha heroes, sexy cowboys and hot, steamy, to-die-for sex. Step into the shoes of her heroines and escape to places where dreams can come true and orgasms only come in multiples.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to HOT AND SPICY – Local Flavor, Contest and an Excerpt of ONE MAN’S TREASURE

  1. Shyla says:

    Wow this sounds so good.

  2. Barbi Davis says:

    I can’t take it hot, my in laws laugh at me. But my favorite is my mother in laws homemafe. Expecially in the Summer when everythibg is fresh. But we use Tony on everything…thanks for sharing Sable..hugs

  3. Shyanna says:

    I can’t handle spicy food. The closest I get is taco bells mild sauce.

  4. Kathy Lewis says:

    Oh my, I can’t handle spicy. The only spicy I like is in my books. I’m a mild girl all the way with sauce.

  5. carol L says:

    Wow Sable, hats off to you (if I wore one) because I can do light spicy but there it ends. My mom used to eat the hottest chili peppers . Even if she grabbed a loaf of Italian bread to eat after. lol. I don’t know how you ate that pepper during your pepper eating contest with that guy. 🙂 that’s somthing my sister would have done. She’d never give him the satisfaction .:) I’m grateful your love of Hot carried over to your books. Thanks for the post.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  6. Susan T says:

    Well that was HOT. Thanks for the excerpt.

  7. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sounds like fun! I like medium hot foods but we don’t get many on sale here, also my husband likes less heat than I do so I don’t buy much beyond El Paso and piri-piri.

  8. Loren Brake says:

    Hi, Sable – I don’t have a favorite hot sauce, though I tried quite a few when I was in New Orleans last year. I do love jalapenos though, and my brother-in-law makes delicious jalapenos wrapped in bacon that are to die for. You never know which will be the hottest, which makes them even more fun to eat. 😂 Like yoy, I also love hot romance — the hotter, the better.

    Loren Brake

    On Mar 16, 2015 12:14 AM, “Wild and Wicked Cowboys” wrote: > > sablehunter posted: “HOT and SPICY We all have our preferences – in everything from fashion to cars – from the books we read to the food we eat. In my closet you’ll find mostly dresses, nothing really expensive and all designed for comfort. My garage has held everything fr” >

  9. debby236 says:

    I cannot handle spicy either but my husband loves Cholula and Texas Pete

  10. tiss81 says:

    Don’t have a favorite brand. Sorry, I’m a Mild girl. I LOVE my books HOT. My sauce NOT. LOL. Loved the excerpt though. Thanks Sable.

  11. connie blair says:

    sorry sable i can’t do hot of any kind of sauce that is. but my husband is the hot that i can do, and after reading one of your books . boy do i get hot!!!!! and he gets it really hot. so who needs the sauce when they read your books when they make your own(know what i mean). thanks for the hot sauce,

  12. Jana B says:

    I’m a wimp & can’t handle any hot sauce. Thanks.

  13. Shirley Long says:

    My favorite hot sauce is the one I make, Yes, it is canned ingredients, but it’s so good and I can make it as hot as I want……..which is hot. One can tomato sauce, 1 can Rotel tomatoes (the hottest kind) and as many sliced jalapeno peppers as i want. I usually put at least 3 large serving spoons (not tablespoons, but the ones you serve food with) and if that’s not hot enough, I add more. Put it all into a food processor, mix it all together and there you have it. As hot as you want and as much as you want.
    I can’t get those kinds of chips here but they do look good. Must be a local brand. Have you ever tired habanero (sp) peppers? We accidentally grew some one year and even my Michael couldn’t eat them. They are like fire in your mouth. I don’t see how anybody eats them but I;m sure they do.
    Loved the excerpt!!! It’s not out is it? Cause if it is, I’ve totally missed it.
    Thanks for sharing your stories, Nothing like growing up in the country.

  14. Eileen McCall says:

    The guys where I work make their own hot sauces from the various peppers they grow in their gardens. Sorry, no brand names here and every year the mixes and heats vary. I still have taste buds, so I only like the middling heat ratings, but oh so good!

  15. cct082073 says:

    Texas Pete- I love hot foods, but the older I get, the milder the sauce is.

  16. Deb Diem says:

    I love Jardine’s. We have a store at the beach in DE called Peppers (yes, mostly hot sauces) that use to carry Jardine’s Queso that I loved. Last time I was at the beach I stopped in. They didn’t have any. Grrr. Hopefully they were just out or didn’t have all their stock out after moving their store, and they have it next time I stop. I love spice…in my food and my books.

  17. Rosemarie Andreano says:

    I am a sissy when it comes to hot food. Just can’t handle it. The book sounds great!

  18. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I like spicy, hot food and Texas Pete

  19. Michelle D says:

    Mild on the tongue but nuclear blast steam in my reads

  20. Stephanie O says:

    Love the spiciness of the snippet of your story, would love to read more! As for hot sauce, I don’t care for any hotter than medium Pace or Old El Paso salsa or picante sauce.

Leave a Reply

