It’s hard to say goodbye… again by Beth Williamson

Most people know I began my writing career with a series of books about the Malloy family with the release of The Bounty in 2004. They were conjured in my imagination in 1880s Wyoming and guided me through a total of 8 books. Then in 2009, I ended that series on the 8th book, Hell for Leather.

Fast forward to 2013 and I received so many emails about continuing the Malloy series, I took a step back and considered it. One idea from a reader was to write the parents’ story, John and Francesca. I’d been mulling it over for a bit when I saw a tv show about a pawn shop and the wonderful little object someone brought in, le petit protector, a tiny gun that was a ring.

That was the catalyst to write John and Francesca’s story, The Fortune. And of course, Francesca had 3 sisters, for 3 additional books.

Then last year I decided to publish the “missing” Ethan Malloy story, a novella, The Present, book 8.5.

Now here I come again to the end of the Malloy family series with what will be book 12, The Gem, in July. This month marked the print release of The Prospect, book 10.

It’s very hard to say goodbye again to the Malloys. Have I considered branching off and writing books about Francesca’s sister’s children? Of course I have! Will I? I don’t know… maybe. I’m a fan of some series that branch out to continue, but I also don’t want to overstay my welcome or make it so difficult readers can’t keep track of characters!

Regardless of how I decide to continue, the Malloys will always be my first family. I’ve felt a part of their clan, through their ups and downs, for the last 12 years since I first wrote The Bounty. The book that began a legacy that continues. For now, right?

If you’d like to read about the Malloy family series, I have a series page on my website. For now, I’m going to savor the last few months in anticipation of The Gem and hug my Malloys close to my heart.

**Don’t forget one lucky commenter from all posts wins a fabulous prize each month!**

This entry was posted in Creative Life, inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s hard to say goodbye… again by Beth Williamson

  1. carol L says:

    How is it I missed this series. Now I have to start from the beginning. 🙂 I love series like this. And truthfully, I’m glad I get to start with book 1 because I can go right to the next one. 🙂 No waiting in between books. I’m so happy I read this post. Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to start reading.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  2. Lori Meehan says:

    I love those Malloy’s. I can’t wait to read the others.

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    I’m trying to figure out how to wear that ring and make it work! Great spark for the imagination!

  4. Ronnie c says:

    I love the Malloy family series of books! I got away from reading historical romance but the Malloys brought me back! ❤

  5. Michelle D says:

    Amazing where inspiration comes from!

  6. Congratulations on a very successful and satisfying series run! That’s storytelling at it’s finest!

  7. alisab8 says:

    I love the Malloy stories.

  8. Caffey says:

    Hi Beth and all! I remember starting this series when you started them at your first pub then to Samhain, so I’ve been with the Malloy’s since the very beginning. Dearly love this series and it will be hard to say goodbye, for me they are real as I read them but I too know I can visit any time with re-reading. I would of course love more! I for one have OCD of reading books in order and know of other readers who only read books in order too, so with the extended family if you do, do their books, maybe have the series called another name?

    Thanks for this awesome series!!

    Cathie
    cathiecaffey @ gmail.com

  9. Hi Beth

    What a fascinating little gun! I could actually use one such as that.

    And, whatever you decide for The Malloys, know that your readers will continue to follow.

  10. Jackie Wisherd says:

    What an interesting little ring in the photo. Since it is so small I am wondering how much damage it did or if it was even deadly. Hmmm

  11. sasharenay says:

    I absolutely love The Malloy’s!! Well anything you write but Magpie was my introduction to you and I quickly read everything you had out at the time, roughly 4 or 5 years ago. You were my first dabble into historical romance and still my favorite! If you decide to branch out and give Francesca’s sisters children their own books I will most definitely read!

  12. Deb Diem says:

    You keep writing them, we’ll keep reading them!

Leave a Reply

