Cowboy Chivalry – by Cynthia D’Alba

Is chivalry dead? According to Merriam-Webster online dictionary, chivalry is:

  • the system of values (such as loyalty and honor) that knights in the Middle Ages were expected to follow
  •  an honorable and polite way of behaving especially toward women

Well, first…I hope not! But when most people think of the word chivalry, the mental picture that comes to mind is usually a knight. And for some odd reason (probably too many historical romances in my younger days!) I also picture a man throwing his cape over a puddle for the woman to walk on!

But alas, there just aren’t that many knights in shining armor these days…or are there? Does a knight have to be wearing armor or might he be wearing Wranglers, boots, and a cowboy hat? And does someone being chivalrous have to throw a cape over a puddle?

Western romance has been, and still is, one of the hottest genres for readers and I think it may be because today’s knight is the cowboy. Strong in body and spirit. Protective of people and animals that he cares for. Loyal to his family and friends. Trustworthy.

And, like the knight of old,  the cowboy can come riding in on a horse to save his lady (or in a beat-up truck, 4-wheeler, or limo as the case need be.)

So here’s my challenge to you today…Give me examples (from books or real life) of a chivalrous action you’ve seen or read from cowboys. Show me how today’s cowboy is today’s knight.

Be sure to leave a message to be in the monthly $25 gift card drawing!

ElleJames_Cowboy12Pack_2D_1400AND if you haven’t picked up Cowboy 12-pack for $0.99 (99 pennies!), then you might want to hustle on over and do that before the price goes up! (Shh..I’m letting you in on a secret.)

Grab a buy link below!

Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Nobles| Kobo

The sixth book in the Texas Montgomery Mavericks is available for pre-order NOW! It’s already be picked as a TOP PICK from Night Owl Reviews.

TEXAS BOSSA NOVA

He plans to take the wander right out of her wanderlust.

Texas Montgomery Mavericks, Book 5TexasBossaNova72web

Magda Hobbs’s job as ranch housekeeper—and its daily dose of cowboys—wreaked havoc on her libido. Especially one certain cowboy she couldn’t resist. Scared of going down the same path as her mother, Magda jumped on her motorcycle and hit the road.

Five months later, her father’s mild heart attack has forced her back to Whispering Springs. While she’s grateful for the cleaning job at one of the Montgomery ranch houses, she’s not so thrilled one of the cowboys she’s looking after is the one she fell for last spring.

Reno Montgomery’s parents hiring a housekeeper for him and his brother is a nice surprise, but he’s shocked to discover it’s Magda, the woman who up and left just when things were getting serious between them.

When a freak snowstorm cuts off the outside world, the isolation rekindles their desire. But when the weather and the roads clear, Reno has to work hard and fast to keep the woman of his dreams from accelerating right out of his life again.

Warning: Contains a woman born with a bad case of wanderlust, and a cowboy determined to show her that life’s a dance that doesn’t have to two-step her out of his life.

Grab a pre-order link below!

Amazon | Samhain | Barnes & Nobles | iTunes

So show me today’s cowboy being chivalrous!

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in cowboys, eBooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Cowboy Chivalry – by Cynthia D’Alba

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    I like the winter cover picture.

    Good luck for the book!

  2. Thanks Clare! Given the winter weather everyone is struggling with right now, they might go screaming off into the night when they see it! LOL

  3. carol L says:

    Texas Bossa Nova is my kind of read. I’m looking forward to reading it . Thanks Cynthia for sharing .
    My thought is Cowboys are there Knights of today. They are always helping neighbors, friends and strangers. Every book I’ve read about cowboys shows how it’s second nature to just do for anyone.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  4. I think my favorite of chivalry is having my doors opened for me. I also love the protectiveness of the heroes, the fact that their woman is first and foremost to them. Loved TEXAS BOSSA NOVA BTW………..love all the Montgomery men and their friends!! 🙂

  5. Well, lately while we’re out working on the ranch my husband has been walking me around to the door of the chore pickup and closing it for me. This is not, in fact, a case of delayed chivalry, though. It’s because the latch is sprung and you have to lift and slam simultaneously which can only be done from the outside. I’m not nagging him to fix it, though, because it also means he might as well just get out and open the gates himself if he’s gonna have to come around and shut my door anyway.

  6. Cheryl Lemon says:

    I’m in the process of reading Cowboy 12-Pack. Loving it so far. Will be checking out your new book.

  7. Millie Swank says:

    My Dad has Alzheimer’s, but.it has to be bred in because he still open my Mom car door for her and when the go out to eat, he hold her xhair out to her. The whole four days he was in the hospital after having a heart attack he held her hand. He still tells her she is still his best girl. A beautiful example of how it is suppose to be.

  8. cmucha319 says:

    Chivalry is not dead but I notice I am finding it more in the younger rural kids….10 and under.

  9. I’d have to say it’s when my son opens the door for me when we go to the store, or when he carries bags and such in and tries to help me despite his legs or ankles / feet hurting him. (he has ehlers danlos syndrome just as bad as I do)
    And I have always liked when the alpha hero was attentive, protective, and makes sure others know they are proud to call that woman theirs by holding hands, or otherwise touching.

  10. Chivalry is most definitely not dead….My hubby is proof and my son is another example. I can tell you Uncle Sam makes sure to ensure Chivalry is alive and well…My son went into the Air Force and he came out even more chivalrous. Thank you for sharing the excerpt!!!! Love it, I just ut it on my TBR list!!!!

  11. Teresa Hughes says:

    I am currently reading Already His by Sandy Raven. In it the heroine faints due to the clothing she is wearing to be accepted in polite society. Her hero fans her and fetches her water and is an all around “knight” for her. That is being pretty chivalrous.

  12. Deb Tindall says:

    My Dad was the best example of chivalry I could ever imagine…it was a pleasure to watch how he treated my Mom like a queen and always put her comfort and wishes before his own…he wasn’t a wimp or anything like that…he had just been raised in an earlier time when holding a door, pulling out a chair, and things like that were just a matter of course…..he had a quiet strength and wisdom that came as naturally to him as breathing in and out….I am very lucky in that I am married to a man who is also aware of my comfort and needs and does his best to take care of me in a way that doesn’t feel condescending or that he thinks I am unable or incapable of taking care of myself.

Leave a Reply

