Cowboys and Heroes

I recently went to see American Sniper, and through the movie I learned Chris Kyle started out as a cowboy. Kyle is a local hero and his loss hit everyone hard here in Texas. But for some reason, the news media never mentioned his early days in the rodeo.

It shouldn’t come as any surprise that he was a cowboy. Military ranks are filled, and always have been, by men who left the fields and farms behind to take up arms in defense of God and Country. My father and most of his brothers did, much to my grandfather’s dismay. My father-in-law and his brothers did the same. Those farm boys already knew how to shoot, they were in good physical condition, and they were used to hardship. They were ideal soldier material.

They also had that code of ethics unique to cowboys. Honor your parents, love your country, defend your women and your property. They knew how to take orders, knew how to work sixteen hours a day and more when necessary. They could sleep anywhere, anytime, they were used to being outside in all kinds of weather, and they could do most anything, from fixing a tractor to birthing a calf.

I’m usually hard to impress when it comes to movies. But American Sniper really drove home to me just what our men go through to protect us, and why. And it gave a little insight into the problems they face coming home, even when they make it home in one piece.

If you haven’t seen it, it’s worth taking the time to do so. A hero is a hero, whether on the page or on the screen, and Chris Kyle was one hero we can all be proud of. I’d wanted to see it anyway, but I mainly went to get a feel for what a sniper goes through because the book I’m working on (still!) has a former sniper in it. But I think it would be good inspiration for anyone who writes romance. It let you see the darker side of a good man, showed that even the best struggle with problems at times.

Have you seen it? If so, what did you think?

Tori

2 0001-48814190 A home-grown killer blows a small town's

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cowboys and Heroes

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    I haven’t seen the film, but it sounds like a good portrait.

  2. laineslite says:

    I haven’t seen it yet but I personally am acquainted with a sniper, NAVY SEAL, of course and a family friend. He is gone now having been retired from that but was then working in Baghdad for Black…you know who I mean and heading to the airport in Baghdad he and his men were ambushed. Being who and what he was as a sniper he took out the insur, saving hiss men but unfortunately not himself, he bled out due to his injuries. But get this he was headed home just minutes from there to head home but instead was the unsung hero saving all his men, doing his job and going out the way he lived with his boots on and a rifle in his hands. It will always be a sad time someone so young but altogether fitting and this just a few years ago. Leaving family and friends in the US. Irony has never been so absolute, fitting, and too much in this situation. J was something else, he lived his life to the fullest and played as hard as he worked. He is still missed and anyone who knew him already knows who I mean just by reading this purposely vague description to save face for the family. He accomplished what most can’t and as I said the irony of it is he was getting out, his last mission so apropos that he left with a Blaze of Glory as he would have wanted to since how many Cowboys, former SEAL and Sniper can go out in a way like with his boots on, gun blazing, saving his men and only minutes from it all forever. Semper Fi J and we will never forget. I believe it is now 5 years this last week. So cowboys make good soldiers all right.

    • Tori Scott says:

      I’m so sorry about your friend. There are many unsung heroes, and he sounds like a great one. Hopefully someone will write his story one day so we can all get to know him as well.

  3. appyt0914 says:

    I had to reply as it seemed more than a coincidence that I read this a day after seeing “American Sniper”… I knew it would be a good film and I was not disappointed. The day Chris Kyle died was a very sad day. God Bless him and the men like him for all they do to keep all of us safe.

  4. carol L says:

    I still haven’t seen it but I’m am definitely going to. I think everyone should see it. Anyone who has seen it said they didn’t expect it to be as good as it was. Hopefully I’ll get to see it in the next few days.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

Leave a Reply

