Resolutions or goals by Beth Williamson

Happy New Year peeps! The year 2014 was full and frantic for me. Hard to believe it’s already past and here we are in a new year.

The idea of New Year’s Resolutions has been around since the Babylonians. That’s a long time y’all. Promises to deities, overlords or to ourselves allowed us to put behind the past mistakes and look forward to the possibility of the future.

It’s something everyone has done at one time or another including me. I did an informal poll on Facebook recently and almost everyone said no, they did not make resolutions. A few people commented they don’t make resolutions because they always break them. Instead, they made goals.

I looked up the definitions of both words. According to dictionary.reference.com, a goal is “the result or achievement toward which effort is directed“. A resolution is “the act of resolving or determining upon an action, course of action, method, procedure, etc.”

So a goal is something you work toward in your efforts. While a resolution is saying you’re going to do something. Resolution is talk, goal is action.

I think I’ll stick with goals because I don’t just want to say I’ll do something. I want to do it, y’know? I’ve got at least 4 books I have a goal to write in 2015, in addition to the WIP in progress now. I have other things I want to do including staying with my exercise routine, to reduce my blood pressure by reducing my weight and to take the time to enjoy life. Nothing earth shattering but action will be taken!

What about y’all? Do you have a goal or resolution for 2015?

*Don’t forget one lucky commenter wins a $25 gift card every month!

This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Resolutions or goals by Beth Williamson

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    To write more and write faster, starting as soon as it’s warmer.
    To read more of the teetering piles of TBR books here.
    Obviously to stay fit and well, which means getting out of the house for a walk each day and doing yoga each night.
    Good luck for your year!

  2. weezle379 says:

    Saving money! We both overspend and it’s stopping! We work for the same company and I always get laid off in winter. He’s not getting much this year making it extremely hard! So we vowed to put all or at least half of my checks for hard day’s! I know we can do it, we just gotta stay away from Wal-Mart! Haha Love getting your newsletters and seeing you on fb! Cheers for a great 2015! 🙂

  3. carol L says:

    My goals are to quit smoking once and for all this year.Also to get some exercise in to strengthen my back muscles. Thanks for the post.Happy Neww Year.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  4. Eileen says:

    I like the distinction between goals and resolution. I guess mine are no different than years before. Live well, exercise more, eat better, and read more from my TBR pile. Got to shrink that pile.

    Happy New year!

  5. My resolution is to be ME. Be Good to Me, Be Kind to Me. I don’t have to be the first to help others. I can say, ‘I’ll help after I do this for myself’ I have to learn to be Not Guilty when doing for me, taking time for me. I just had an epiphany, wow; If Husband, family, friend can’t understand that I need time for me, then they must be just using me.

  6. Shirley Long says:

    My resolution ~~ to be a better person and hopefully, do away with the stress in my life. Life is way too short to worry about things as I tend to do. If I can’t control it, I’m gonna do my best not to worry about it. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

  7. mjmgma says:

    My goal for 2015 is to not worry so much about people who don’t want me in their life. I have plenty of friends who do.

  8. Cheryl Lemon says:

    My resolution is not to fall in 2015. I fell one too many times in 2014. No broken bones, but lots of bruises.

  9. ronnie c says:

    my goal is not to over think things and lose weight!

  10. sasharenay says:

    Happy New Year! I tend to not follow through on resolutions but I’d like to focus on being a better mother, being more patient, and just being a better person.

  11. martha lawson says:

    Nope, don’t make them! I never ever follow through.

  12. Stephanie O. says:

    I make mental notes of things I need to do differently (not just at the new year) — but I still have a hard time keeping these in mind to make serious changes!! There is a sign in the gym at our high school that is right in line with your post: “A goal without a plan is just a wish.”

  13. Happy New Year!!!! I usually don’t keep the resolutions I make but I do have a goal and its to eat better. Improve my diet. Hopefully I will lose a little weight. We shall see. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I can do it!!!!! Wish me luck!!!

Leave a Reply

