2015, and Already Behind

I almost forgot my blog day. I’m a couple of thousand words behind on my 2015 writing goals. I haven’t even begun to look at my taxes, though I need to have a pretty good idea what I’m going to owe before I make that January 15 estimated payment. We’re only 2 days into the new year I’m already playing catch up. Sheesh! Is this how 2015 is going to go?

Have you ever wanted to just chuck it all and start over? Sell the house and buy an RV? Move to Costa Rica or Belize, and just spend your days combing the beach for sea shells? Buy a little cabin in the mountains and never come down? That’s me right now. I want to do all of those things.

DSC_9365    SONY DSC

Things like taxes, learning how to deal with the new VAT taxes for foreign sales, figuring out the new rules for authors on Facebook…I don’t like those things. I’m a right-brained, creative type who can’t sit still long enough to read all that crap, much less understand it.

I just want to write!

I’d love to live the “glamorous” life of a successful writer. You know, the ones who have personal assistants to do the mundane stuff, chefs to cook their meals, housekeepers to keep everything neat and tidy, personal shoppers to go get whatever’s needed. I’d sit by the pool with a drink in one hand and dictate my stories to a secretary who has to scramble to keep up with my brilliant prose–the kind that pours out so fluently I barely even have to worry about overworking my editor, and comes so quickly that I could easily do ten thousand words in just an hour or two.

What? You mean that doesn’t happen? That real authors have to deal with real life? Please, tell me it isn’t so. I’d rather believe the fantasy. I’d rather be Castle, who darts off to play cop day and night, yet releases mega best sellers right and left, raking in the dough as effortlessly as I forget appointments. But no, for this writer it’s dealing with the realities of life, like laundry and dishes, wet pets and muddy floors, taxes and legalspeak, and trying to get those words on the page.

Right now I’m working on a sequel to Lone Star Justice. It’s a tough one for me, taking far longer than I’d planned. But I will release it sometime this month, God willing and the creek don’t rise.

Here’s a snippet from the work in progress…

 

True to her word, Charlie was sound asleep when Cody came out of the bathroom. He climbed into his own bed, sure he would lay awake for hours. But the long week and even longer day, combined with the reassuring sound of Charlie’s even breathing, took its toll quicker than he could have imagined.

His dreams took a turn for the worse, from dreams of Charlie modeling wet t-shirts to a nightmare where blood streamed from her chest and a blood-curdling scream filled the room. It took him a moment to realize the scream was real.

Cody jumped from the bed, reaching for his gun on the bedside table. It wasn’t there. Then he remembered where he was. He flipped on the light. Charlie was fighting someone in her sleep. The covers were wrapped around her legs, pinning her. Her arms flailed as she tossed back and forth.

Cody sat on the edge of Charlie’s bed and put his hands on her shoulders. “Charlie. Charlie! Wake up.”

When her eyes opened, they were glazed and filled with panic. She kicked out, but Cody was too quick for her. He gripped her shoulders so tightly he was sure she’d have bruises. “Charlie, it’s me. Cody. You’re okay. It was just a dream.”

She finally came fully awake and the panic subsided. “Oh God, I’m sorry Cody. I hoped it wouldn’t happen tonight.”

And then she burst into tears.

Cody gathered her into his arms and held her against his chest, rocking her like he might a small child. He had so many questions, but he let her cry it out until she quieted and went limp in his arms.

He looked down and saw that her eyes were closed, so he laid her gently back on the bed. Though she whimpered, she didn’t wake up. Instead of returning to his own bed, he slid in beside her and cradled her head against his chest.

Charlie sighed quietly and snuggled closer. Cody held his breath, but she didn’t move again.

He lay there, wide-awake, for what seemed like hours, just listening to her breathe. What had she been through that could inspire that kind of panic? He wondered if she suffered from PTSD, if she’d ever received any counseling, if Rand knew about this.

With no answers forthcoming, he finally fell asleep with Charlie still sleeping peacefully against his chest.

***

Charlie woke slowly, not wanting to shake the dream she’d had. For once, not a nightmare, but a sweet one where she felt loved and protected. She’d been back home, on the mountain, where Spring was in full bloom. New life was everywhere, from the flowers to the wildlife. Her mother and father were with her, searching for edible plants and shoots among the trees. Charlie was content to sit on a tree stump, watching the antics of a pair of young squirrels as they darted up the trees.

Cody shifted beneath her, bringing her fully awake and to her knees. “What are you doing in my bed?” Charlie grabbed a pillow and held it tightly in front of her. When had he…what had he…?

And then she remembered the nightmare. Cody waking her up. Holding her.

“Hey, it’s okay. Nothing happened. You were so exhausted, you fell asleep in my arms and I thought maybe you’d sleep better if I stayed. I didn’t mean to cross the line, honest.” Cody reached out and took her hand. “You’re going to have to talk to someone, you know. If not me, then a counselor. You can’t live like this.”

###

Now it’s time for me to get back to the real world–back to writing. I hope everyone’s dreams come true in 2015. May you get that cabin in the mountains or the house by the beach, the assistant and housekeeper, the personal shopper. Or at least that you have a year of peace, contentment, and success.

If you have a minute, go grab a copy of Blame it on Texas (Book one in the Lone Star Cowboys series)–it’s free on Amazon and Smashwords right now. And then pick up Lone Star Justice so you can meet the characters before the new one comes out.

blameitontexas2    “Now this is how you do a Texas romance right. I loved Blame It on Texas from beginning to end and can’t wait to start on the rest of the series! Megan was the perfect combination of independent and vulnerable, while Logan was in denial and stubborn. And the supporting characters — Jean, Nancy, Katie, Carol and Jake — were perfectly suited and well developed. The entire story was, for that matter, well developed. One of the things I respected most was Tori Scott’s brilliant pacing and flow. Their story we a delicately woven tale that lasted over the span of several months. It was realistic and believable, as was their dialogue and thought process. I couldn’t get enough of the emotions and tenderness that matched well with the family/friend dynamics, and the picturesque glimpse into southern life. Like I said, I can’t wait to check out the rest of the series and read more about Jake and Carol!”

IRI sizejpeg  “LONE STAR JUSTICE by prolific western/romance writer, Tori Scott is one of my favorite stories. I only recently stumbled across this author and I find her writing is along the same caliber as the amazing Allison Brennan. I recently read and reviewed Tori’s Blame it on Texas and Blue Moon Over Texas (Lone Star Cowboys) and really enjoyed them. I like this author so much that I after just finishing this book, today I started Superstition (Team Indigo).

Madelyn Cooper and Rand McCade were friends and lovers in their teens. At 18, Madelyn got pregnant and before she had a chance to tell Rand, she was blackmailed by the local doctor to get out of town and to never return.

Her daughter Brandy, is now 14, and Madelyn has excelled in her career and is now a Judge. She also has a stalker who is threatening her and Brandy. Maddie and Brandy leaves the city and returns to her old hometown to get away from the threat. Rand is now Sheriff of Greendale and upon finding out that he is a dad, he vows to keep his family safe.

The author created three of the most lovable characters in Maddie, Rand and Brandy and an excellent story as well. This book has romance, suspense, mystery and a heart-warming ending…what more could you ask for in a novel.”

 

 

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, Excerpts, my life, Uncategorized, Upcoming Releases, Westerns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2015, and Already Behind

  1. mjmgma says:

    Loved Blame It On Texas. Can’t wait till I can get the next one.

  2. Thank you for bring both Blame It On Texas and Lone Star Justice by Tori. I enjoyed reading both excerpts.

    G

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    You sound very busy – like us all – so we’re glad you still have time to write!

Leave a Reply

