Who Needs Cowboys for Christmas? Guest Liz Talley

Hey, everybody!

Thanks so much for inviting me to come blog about something really easy to blog about – cowboys!

So, I know there is ALWAYS someone who likes to burst the fantasy bubble about cowboys by saying things like “No cowboy really looks like that.” Um, well, he could. And I do get it – being a real cowboy means sweat, spit and cow…uh, poop. And so, yes, cowboys are a fantasy trope just like billionaires are. I mean, come on, have you seen pictures of billionaires? Yeah. Ross Perot ain’t the sexiest beast out there.  So cowboys are fantasy fodder and I’m really glad they are because they’re fun to write about.

Thing is, my stories to this point, haven’t featured cowboys. My very first book (Vegas Two Step) did feature a Vegas nightclub owner who wanted to try his hand at ranching in Texas, but that’s as close as I’ve gotten to writing a cowboy until this anthology.

And to be honest, I had NO CLUE how much readers love men who sit in the saddle.

I’m amazed by the devoted readers who have to have their cowboys. And, I totally get it. After writing Reed McCormick, I wanted to write more. And luckily so did Kim and Terri. We’re finishing up other projects so we can rope a few new cowboys in a new anthology.

So I’m excited to share my new passion with women (and men) who get it. So a bit about this unique anthology – Cowboys for Christmas was born out of Kim Law’s interest in doing something different. Kim writes sexy books for Montlake and she wanted to step outside her comfort zone and try an anthology. She talked to me about it and asked if I were interested. After we made some decisions about type of story and setting and what kind of book, we asked Terri Osburn to write the third story. And then we made a pretty important decision – we wanted the stories to overlap. When I was young, I loved novellas about three sisters or three brothers that were separate stories but bound in the same book, and we wanted that feel for this anthology. So they are separate stories, but they really work together to make a complete book.

Here’s the official blurb:

3 cowboys…2 weeks…1 wedding!
Three all-new stories by Kim Law, Terri Osburn, and Liz Talley
Claire, Georgia, and Mary Catherine couldn’t be more different, but they promised they would be there for one another no matter what. And when they all gather in Holly Hills, Texas, for Mary Catherine’s Christmas wedding, they’ll find they have one thing in common: hearts that are about to be branded—by unforgettable cowboys.

In “Love Me, Cowboy” by Terri Osburn, wallflower Claire would be more excited about the wedding if it didn’t mean running into Mary Catherine’s brother—the bull rider she once had a scorching one-night stand with…

Ivy League volleyball coach Georgia never wanted to see Holly Hills—or another cowboy—again. But a sexy veterinarian is making her rethink her vow to never marry a Texas man in “Kiss Me, Cowboy” by Liz Talley.

Claire and Georgia both think that Mary Catherine is getting hitched to the wrong man, despite how perfect he is. And in “Marry Me, Cowboy” by Kim Law, a local rancher with a wild reputation gives Mary Catherine a glimpse of what might have been—and what could still be…

And so I’m interested in what you think about crossover or connected stories done by three different authors. Do you like them? Are you willing to give them a try? Or do shared scenes and characters put you off?

Leave a comment and you can win a $10 Amazon gift card (for your next cowboy book!)

Thanks for inviting me!

LIZ

Excerpt from Kiss Me, Cowboy:

“Now we’re going to slice these apples for the pie,” Georgia said, picking up a paring knife and making short work of the cores. She slid in front of him, making sure she brushed the fly of his jeans.

“Jesus.”

She laughed, knowing she played with a new fire. “Now set the apple on the cutting board like this.”

She brought his hands around her, handing him the knife, and enclosing his hands with hers. “Nice thin slices. See?”

Reed’s lips found the sweet spot behind her ear, making Georgia glad she had short hair. “You slice, I’ll nibble.”

“Keep doing that and I’ll cut my finger off.”

“Then put down the damn knife. I’d rather have you for dessert anyway.”

Georgia pushed her rump back, trying to disengage him, but his arms stayed tight around her. “Reed, I really want to fix you dinner before I make you totally useless.”

“Oh, is that how it will be?”

“Damn straight. When I ride a cowboy, I ride a cowboy.”

Reed spun her to face him. “I’m not a cowboy. I’m a vet.”

Georgia looked up into his blue eyes. “Well then, I’ve only been waiting on you forever. All those cowboys were a total waste of time.”

He kissed her.

And Reed knew how to kiss—firm mouth, soft lips, hands cupping her face as if he drank from her. He tasted like cinnamon and a bit of apple. He tasted like home.

“Mmm . . . nice appetizer,” he murmured against her lips before dotting another hard kiss on her mouth and turning her back around. With a slap on her rump, he said, “Now cook me my dinner, woman.”

Georgia snorted. “I know you didn’t just say that.”

Reed snapped her with a towel. “It’s okay, I’ll get my own beer.”

“Ugh, Texas men.”

“I’m from California,” he called back.

“Well, you could have fooled me.”

Buy Links for Cowboys for Christmas:  Amazon /B&N / iBooks

All About Lizliztalley

From the time she learned to read to the present, Liz has always had a fascination with books.  As a child she remembers reading Little Golden Books instead of napping.  And, oh, the first time she read a romance – The Thornbirds – she was hooked.  She ate up the SuperRomances on the shelves of her aunt’s used bookstore, borrowed her grandmother’s Boons and Mills Medical Romances (loved those nurses’ caps) and snuck her dad’s westerns so she could read the “romantic parts” (which lasted about a page).  She inhales books, no doubt about it.

Of course, it never occurred to her to write one until her college roommate said, “You read so many of those things, why don’t you write one?”  The idea stuck and several years ago she did it! Instead of just reading those SuperRomances, she’s writing them.

Liz serves as President of NOLA Stars and also blogs on the 2009 Golden Heart blog –http://www.rubyslippersisterhood.com. She loves strawberries, fishing, retail therapy (especially at Target), and she’s a Virgo.  Liz married her high school sweetheart and has two smart, beautiful boys.  When not writing contemporary romances and still editing her historicals, she is usually found working in the flowerbeds or doing laundry.

Find Liz at:  Twitter / Website / Facebook 

 

 

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in cowboys, eBooks, Excerpts. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Who Needs Cowboys for Christmas? Guest Liz Talley

  1. Lori Meehan says:

    I love anthologys. I also enjoy when they are all connected by the characters.
    Merry Christmas!!

  2. Katie Browne says:

    I really enjoy the different styles and takes on the same characters.

  3. Love cowboys and Christmas stories especially in the same book! 🙂

  4. Clare O'Beara says:

    I’ve read a few linked series which are usually connected by a town or a family. The different authors each add a new flavour and the last story wraps them all up. I’ve enjoyed all the ones I’ve read. But they must be a pain to edit!

  5. suzey49 says:

    I love crossover books by different authors – adds a whole new dimension to the story when you have several different voices interpreting that common thread. Always impresses me how an author can just pick up where another author leaves off! And the final authors wraps it all up!

    • Liz Talley says:

      I was a little worried at first because each author has a different process and expectations for working with others, but we found it invigorating. I think that surprises all three of us. Thanks:)

  6. I love connecting stories. They are so fun to read. And having 3 different authors gives you a different feel for each character. I got my copy. Thanks.

  7. wow, Sounds like a great read.

  8. therese lopez says:

    This sounds like sounds an awesome book!!! It’s on my wish list, I hope I will get it!! I love cowboys!!!

  9. JeanMP says:

    This sounds like a fantastic book, enjoy reading connected stories.

  10. Rosemarie Andreano says:

    I love connected stories by different authors. Can’t wait to read this anthology.

  11. Shyanna says:

    I love them as long as they are in a set. I’ve seen some authors make a set together then get rid of the set and only sell them separately. That’s very frustrating to me, it can be difficult to find all the books and keep them in the right order when they are separated.

    • Liz Talley says:

      I see where you’re coming from. I like the way we did this. Though there are three different novellas, they really can’t be separated to get the big picture. So I know that won’t happen here. Thanks for popping in and responding.

  12. connie blair says:

    i just bought this book. and now i am going to lay down and go read it. i just love my cowboys. there the most sexy and most yummy men in the world.

  13. doveknoll says:

    This book sounds great. I love these types of anthologies. Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be enough of them written. It’s great seeing how everyone interacts and responds to the same situations. Doesn’t hurt that it’s in Texas with cowboys. Yummy. I so want this book. Hmmm, what can I put off in order to buy it? Hehehe. Thanks for the info and giveaway. Now I have to leave so I can go follow you on Facebook. Lol. 😉

    • Liz Talley says:

      Oh, please do follow me. Love having new friends 🙂 And I hope your wish comes true. And really if they were all seperate novellas, they’d be, hmmm, $1.99 each? So to get 3 stories for $4.27 is a bargain, right? There. I justified it for you 😉 Thanks!

  14. Kim Law says:

    Liz, you know how many times I’ve read this book, and you know how much I love it. But I swear, reading your excerpt has me *dying* to read it again! 🙂

  15. darholley1 says:

    this sounds like a really good book. Who wouldn’t want lots of cowboys for Christmas 🙂

  16. mjmgma says:

    This sounds like a good one, added it to my wish list, now if only everyone who buys me gifts picks from there.

  17. Jana B says:

    Enjoyed the excerpt. Sounds like a great read. Thanks.

  18. mathlady68 says:

    If it’s well done I enjoy the crossover. It’s interesting to see how the different writing styles mesh up.

    • Liz Talley says:

      Thanks so much for all the responses and the warm welcome. It was fun being here and getting insight into what readers like and dislike about crossover anthologies.

      I hope you all get a chance to try the book and I look forward to hopping by the blog every now and then for more wicked and wild Cowboys 🙂

      Thanks!

  19. Michele Gray says:

    Loved Cowboys for Christmas. Crossover stories were done perfectly.

  20. Angela Lucas says:

    Cowboys For Christmas sounds like a great book! It’s on my list to get! Love me a Cowboy! Lol Merry Christmas to you all!

  21. I like Anthologies as long as they are well written. I also love the fact that that they tie together. I don’t really care for the ones that have nothing to do with each other it’s quite a dissappointment.

  22. Jodi Knecht says:

    I love books that tie it all together to make the whole picture, but still each it’s own story!

  23. martha lawson says:

    I like them a lot! Thanks for the giveaway.

  24. Karen Hrdlicka says:

    I love interconnected/crossover stories. It give the reader more insight into characters when they appear in another storyline. If it’s cowboys, count me in. Thank you!

  25. Stephanie O. says:

    I love the idea of 3 interconnected stories, and would love to read this new anthology! 🙂 I’ve never read this kind of thing, but I have read the Brides Quartet: a series of 4 books about 4 friends (written by the same author), with interconnected stories, and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

