Merry and Bright

Happy December, y’all!

I don’t have anything cowboy or cowgirl related to talk about this month. I’m not going to talk about food either. You’re surprised, aren’t you? I am. Even though I have been doing my fair share of playing in the kitchen, I promise, I won’t talk about food.

Despite all that is going on in December, namely Christmas and college football bowl season, I always find myself looking forward, beyond December. I didn’t used to think this way, but with the nature of the writing business, how far in advance we must plan projects and publishing, it’s hard sometimes to simply exist in the moment or plan for other things until the business plans are set in fluid stone.

Maybe I’m the only one who feels that way, maybe not.

2014-11-28 21.47.19

The tree is up and only lit with the angel on top, so far. The sights and sounds, and yes smells of the Christmas holidays always make me smile, but it’s also for me, the beginning of the decluttering, the beginning of the organization that will take full effect in January and February, the beginning of the thought process of streamlining, eliminating, recharging.

I read a lot of books and articles on time management, despite the fact most of it rarely sticks with me for long periods of time. I read a lot of stuff about organization and living with kids and a husband and 6 cats, that’s hard to keep going for long periods of time, too, if I’m the only one that participates in keeping up with it.

I feel the most creative between August through about mid-February. I began months ago looking for a planner for 2015. I have searched high and low. Found many that were cheap and didn’t quite have the ‘IT’ factor I wanted. I found many that were very expensive that had too much ‘IT’ factor that I’d have spent more time planning than actually doing. And yesterday, I found one through a shared post on Facebook. It’s called Passion Planner. I ordered one immediately. One of the reasons being is that she’s a small business and I LOVE small business, she’s looking to help people find balance and creativity and action between personal and business time, and it appears to have just enough ‘IT’ factor that feels right. It’ll come in January and I can’t wait.

I love this time of year for the rush of ‘Do’ that I feel. I don’t mind the hustle and bustle, whether it be shopping or working or baking. We don’t have family here and we don’t entertain, so there isn’t much outside influence on our time and I can devote more to writing, creating, planning, organizing, etc… I have been using Pinterest more and more for these things too and I have to say I’ve been enjoying it. I take inspiration from others and how creative they are, where they find their inspirations and their projects outside work, whatever that work may be.

Two of my biggest influences of inspiration lately have been our own Leah Braemel and Delilah Devlin. I love their full blown engagement and enthusiasm into crafts and making things and creation beyond books. Those things are important and they are things I have sadly gotten away from this year. One of my goals this month and through the new year is to find that again.

So, as I’m goal setting, creating, planning, organizing, decluttering, baking, and writing… What are you going to be doing?

And while you’re considering it, I have a couple of things you can try…

One… My website has been completely redone. It’s beautiful. Looks nothing like it had before. And it’s just…WOW! I can’t stop looking at it and it is very definitely an inspiration to me. It was designed by Blackraven’s Designs to be pretty and functional and informative and engaging. Give it a look!

lissamatthewscapture2Two… My holiday book, Arresting Holli, is free until December 5th. It’s part of a MEGA sale with over 50 deeply discounted or free books from some awesome authors… For a list of all the authors and books, you can visit http://romancebookdeals.com/hot-for-holiday/

And you can download Arresting Holli from Amazon…

ArrestingHolli_200x300Holiday ‘Holli’ James looks forward to the week between Christmas and New Year’s. This is her one chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of her successful decorating business. The plan this year: a trip to New York City to see all the sights and lights.

What the plan didn’t include was a side trip to a small town jail in the middle of Pennsylvania. Nor did it include Officer Hunky.

However…

Single police officer, Michael, is working the holidays — again. With no local family and no interest in accepting the pity invitations to Christmas dinner from his married friends, he’s content to work and earn extra cash. Besides, this year looks to be as uneventful as every other year. Until he pulls a curvaceous spitfire over for speeding and discovers she’s wanted on charges of fraud.

As Michael begins to investigate and learns that Holli isn’t who her file says she is, sexual tension spikes between them. Answers are slow in coming due to the holidays, but Michael is soon granted permission to remove Holli from the jail cell and place her under supervised house arrest.

Only, his idea of house arrest is much more personal than the law ever intended.

Warning: Gourmet food, melting marshmallows, snowball fights, and handcuffs. What more could a girl on vacation ask for?

Have a wonderful December.

~lissa

Sign up for my Newsletter

 

 

 

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in Creative Life, inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry and Bright

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Great snowy cover!
    God luck for all your decluttering and organising. It really helps to start the year with that done.

  2. mjmgma says:

    This book is sitting in my Kindle, next in line to be read. I try to read books in the order I bought them, otherwise I would start reading each one immediately and would have to give up eating and sleeping to get them read. Regardless, I am looking forward to this one. Love you column and you’re tree is beautiful.

  3. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Arresting Holly sounds great

Leave a Reply

