My Thanksgiving – Contest and Contest results – The Street Where I Live

THE STREET WHERE I LIVE

Before I begin, let me announce the Winner from the post on the 16th is Lauren LeFebvre ad she wins one of my keychains. Lauren, email me at sablehuntertx@gmail.com so I can get  your address.

Today I shall celebrate Thanksgiving in several ways. I cooked a bunch of food and we shall eat until we can’t. I have turkey, cornbread chicken and dressing, sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes and gravy, collard greens, broccoli and cheese, cranberry sauce, fruit salad, green beans and a trifle. Where is my pumpkin pie? I’ll tell you where! I delegated that one job to someone else and they dropped the ball! And I don’t eat trifle. Well, I shall pout.

I shall also pout because Texas doesn’t play Texas A&M on Thanksgiving Day anymore. A&M is playing LSU and while I love LSU it isn’t the same as watching my Longhorns!

I also miss the cows on Thanksgiving. I used to love to go feed them late in the afternoon and give them an extra bale of hay and some nuggets. They would be lined up behind the fence and their eyes would be full of trust, their breaths milk sweet. I have the dogs, and they did guard the cooler while I brined the turkey yesterday but I still miss the cows.

I plan on watching some movies today and I’m going to buy Jess a television – a 65 inch at a Black Friday Sale but my main activity is going to be decorating a Christmas tree.

Not at my house.

I’m going to be decorating a tree on the street where I live. I live in Austin now on Capital of Texas Highway. This is a gorgeous spot. Let me show you some photos.

This is the bridge next to my house – I mean next to my house, stone’s throw. It’s called the Pennybacker bridge. ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

There are cliffs on either side of the highway, limestone cliffs. it’s very pretty. That body of water is the Colorado River.

There is a tradition on Capital of Texas Highway, a tradition that i will participate in this year. Those cliffs and hills are covered with evergreens. And people pick one and they decorate them. There is already a great number decorated and its only Thanksgiving.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Some of the trees are decorated in memory of loved ones, some to make a statement, some just because it makes people happy. I will decorate one this year for all of these reasons. I will remember my mama, my daddy, my brother and my Nana. I will count my blessings. I will make a statement that we should be kind, that we should love one another, that we put another’s needs before our own.

I am thankful this year – I am thankful for my family, my friends, my fans, authors and people who work with me and – oh yeah, my dogs. I have my health – mostly – haha – I have a good imagination and books are still pouring from my soul and I have people who love to read what I write – what more could I ask for?

I hope you have a good day today, comment and tell me what the day means to you or what you’re doing today and I’ll choose a random commenter to receive any book of mine of their choice.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING – Go Decorate a TREE!!

The photographs were taken by an Austin photographer by the name of Reinout Van Wagtendonk and his website is Berkshots.com – check him out.

SABLE

About sablehunter

Sable Hunter writes erotic romance. She writes what she likes to read and enjoys putting her fantasies on paper. Her stories are emotional reads where the heroine is faced with challenges, like one of her favorite songs – she’s holding out for a hero – and boy, can she deliver a hero. Her aim is to write a story that will make you laugh, cry and sweat. If she can wring those emotions out of a reader, then she has done her job. She grew up in south Louisiana along the mysterious bayous where the Spanish moss hangs thickly over the dark waters. The culture of Louisiana has shaped her outlook on life and made its way into her novels where the supernatural is entirely normal. Presently, Sable lives in Texas and spends most of her time in wild and wonderful Austin. She is passionate about animals and has been known to charm creatures from a one ton bull to a family of racoons. For fun, Sable has been known to haunt cemeteries and battlefields armed with night-vision cameras and digital recorders hunting proof that love survives beyond the grave.She writes for Secret Cravings Publishing as well as publishes much of her own work. Join her in her world of magic, alpha heroes, sexy cowboys and hot, steamy, to-die-for sex. Step into the shoes of her heroines and escape to places where dreams can come true and orgasms only come in multiples.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My Thanksgiving – Contest and Contest results – The Street Where I Live

  1. Angela Lucas says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! I love the Christmas Tree decorating, many prayers……

  2. Shirley Long says:

    Hey Sable, Happy Thanksgiving to you and Jess.
    I will be in the kitchen most of the day. All the prep work is done so all I’ll have to do is put things together. And my husband will not eat lunch, we have to eat at night. Usually around 7:00. Makes for a long day for me.
    We will start our Christmas decorating on Friday. I collect Santa Clause figurines/dolls of all kinds, shapes, sizes, etc. so it takes me quite a while to get everything out and situated the way I want it.

  3. Terri Shortell says:

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Hope you have fun decorating the tree Sable. That is so cool and I bet it’s an amazing sight to see when you drive down the road. My kid and I will be decorating our Christmas tree this weekend. Unfortunately I’ll be spending Thanksgiving alone this year. My kid will be spending the day with my ex and his girlfriend. I was going to spend it with my oldest and her husband’s family but the car is acting up. Oh well, I have a great turkey tv dinner, pumpkin pie, and yeast rolls. I’ll make sweet potatoes to go with my meal. I think I’ll just enjoy the peace and quiet and read a good book. I think it will be a good and relaxing day this year. I wish everyone an early Merry Christmas.

  4. Clare O'Beara says:

    From Ireland, happy Thanksgiving to all you lovely ladies at Wild And Wicked. Thanks for bringing fun into our lives and giving us those fine cowboys and strong women.

  5. Deb Daniel says:

    Sable, being an Aussie we don’t do Thanksgiving. so my day today has been spent rushing doing washing, having a massage packing -after 3 days away- to go to our state capital Adelaide. this is a trip of 680 kilometres, just to get there!
    The massage was relaxing.
    Cheers
    Deb

  6. Cindi says:

    I am so thankful for my family and friends, that I have a roof over my head, a job that others depends on, the beauty of the earth that I see every day. And the joy of seeing something the first time can bring. Thank you to all those very talented authors who can write words to make me cry, and laugh, to teach and move me. Thank you Sable.

  7. Terri says:

    Happy Thanksgiving. I’ve got the turkey in the oven and the house is beginning to smell like a holiday. For us, Thanksgiving is all about family and friends. We gather together to celebrate another year and each other. Today, is a small dinner, only about 13. Sometimes we have close to 30. Our table is always open for one or two more and we have had people show up with extras. No big deal, there is always plenty of food.

  8. Lori Meehan says:

    I will be going to my SILs house today. This will be the beginning of a long and sad holiday season. My husband just passed away a couple of weeks ago.

  9. MaLissa Damron says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!….I’ll be spending a good part of my day the same way I spent yesterday…cooking !..It’s a lot of work and it takes me the weekend to recover *lol* …But, I wouldn’t have it any other way, because along with the food comes my family…Our kids and grand-kids will be spending the day with us, and noting gets better than that!

  10. JeanMP says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! The Christmas Tree decorating is a great idea.

  11. Michele Gray says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! First year I’m no cooking….going to relax and have someone wait on me for a change. Lol

  12. connie blair says:

    damm i sure wanted that prize. oh well istill love all of your books. keep them coming. happy thanksgiving.

  13. Nancy D says:

    Wishing you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  14. Hi Sable

    What a wonderful tradition. I have 2 brothers who would love to do that. Earlier I was at a family gathering where there was ~ 25 peeps. Not all of these were my family, included were family friends. It was a mad crazy place. But, we all had such fun and conversation along with great food. With all that madness it was still fun.

    Blessings to you and yours.
    G

  15. Judy Harder says:

    Wow Sable, sounds like you cooked up a storm! I would POUT about the pumpkin pie too!–My bday is tomorrow and sometimes I get Thanksgiving for my bday and I love all things pumpkin so the pumpkin pie is my birthday dessert every year! I can make my favorite, my paternal grandmother’s pumpkin chiffon pie which is DELICIOUS but never really sets up for me quite right. Coco’s restaurants have a Pumpkin Harvest Pie which is pumpkin chiffon on top of traditional pumpkin and it’s the closest to my favorite that I can find made by someone else. Today my mom and sister and I will have our turkey, etc. & watch a Christmas movie & nap (not necessarily in that order!). Then I’m hoping to read.
    I LOVE your plans to decorate a tree on the roadside. What a wonderful tradition. Be careful– no playing near traffic!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and Jess and all of your loved ones! xoxoxo

  16. Melissa Tillson says:

    Hi Sable,
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. We celebrate as a small clan with my hubby, dad, and our one year old son, along with our nine dogs as well. What I’m most thankful for this year is my precious baby boy, which took my hubby and I seven years and a total of three miscRriages before he arrived. I am thankful for him, but I keep my twins, whom I lost at five months gestation two years ago, Gabriel and Lilith, dear to my heart. Have a blessed day and be grateful for the little things in life.

  17. Leni says:

    I’m thankful for my health and that of all of my loved ones. I am happy to be here and thankful for all of the kind people that have touched my life. I’m catching up on things that have to get done and taking it easy at the same time.

  18. Shyanna says:

    My hubby is deployed and my family is over a thousand miles away so my son and I just hung out at home together

  19. Thanksgiving was spent with my granddaughter and husband. My son worked( he is a nurse and a dayum good one). He made it to the camp late and got to spend a little time with our girl but we had to take her Mom on Friday. Saturday is the day we cooked and ate till we couldn’t eat any more. We were at the hunting camp no internet there and my hot spot was acting crazy so I got a lot of reading done. Sable, my husband and I went to Austin in June we did some site seeing and I remember this bridge and the place where the trees are. Thank you for sharing this. It is beautiful country. Happy Thanksgiving and I am thankful for all my friends from Facebook, my family and our health!!!!

Leave a Reply

