Casting Call!! And a PRIZE! by Cynthia D’Alba

EDITED:  Prize Winner – therese lopez

Therese – Contact me for your prize!

Hi all! Cynthia D’Alba here. Whew! Since I’ve last been here, I’ve finished physical therapy for my knee replacement AND turned in my second round of edits for Texas Bossa Nova. I was hoping to share the cover (which is AWESOME) but so far I don’t have permission from my publisher. 😦   Maybe next month!

But I WILL share the blurb!

Texas Montgomery Mavericks, Book 5, TEXAS BOSSA NOVA

Magda Hobbs’s job as ranch housekeeper—and its daily dose of cowboys—wreaked havoc on her libido. Especially one certain cowboy she couldn’t resist. Scared of going down the same path as her mother, Magda jumped on her motorcycle and hit the road.

Five months later, her father’s mild heart attack has forced her back to Whispering Springs. While she’s grateful for the cleaning job at one of the Montgomery ranch houses, she’s not so thrilled one of the cowboys she’s looking after is the one she fell for last spring.

Reno Montgomery’s parents hiring a housekeeper for him and his brother is a nice surprise, but he’s shocked to discover it’s Magda, the woman who up and left just when things were getting serious between them.

When a freak snowstorm cuts off the outside world, the isolation rekindles their desire. But when the weather and the roads clear, Reno has to work hard and fast to keep the woman of his dreams from accelerating right out of his life again.

Texas Bossa Nova is coming March 2015, so be sure to put it on your TBR list!

Now, the casting call…If YOU were writing a western romance, what actor (or model) would be your hero inspiration and what actor (or model) would be your heroine inspiration?

I’ll pick one winner from the comments. Winner can chose the prize! Options are…digital copy of any Texas Montgomery Maverick book, a quilted mug rug/coaster or a pair of Christmas Coasters.

Since Halloween is almost upon us, I’ll share my latest ear worm!

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in Contest, Cowboys - Media Inspired and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Casting Call!! And a PRIZE! by Cynthia D’Alba

  1. Lori Meehan says:

    Oh I’m not good at this I don’t watch TV or go to that many movies. The actor I think is hot right now is Jason Momoa and no idea for a heroine.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    How about giving Taylor Lautner (the werewolf in the Twilight films) a chance as a grown cowboy. Heroine, I don’t know if Dakota Blue Fanning is working now but she was really good as a young horse owner in Dreamer and would be a grown young lady by this time.

    I hope your knee condition is much improved.

    • Taylor is an interesting choice. He is an attractive man! I remember Dakota as a child actress. I looked at her “grown-up” pictures and she’s lovely!

      Thanks for the wishes on the knee. Better but not well.

  3. DebraG says:

    I have no clue. Val Kilmer.
    My knee is bothering me as well. Bummer

  4. Eileen says:

    Dennis Quaid and Olivia Wilde. I can see both of them in a western romance.

    • Like Val Kilmer (above), we’d have to use “young” Dennis Quaid, but I love his face. It’s so interesting. And his smile is unique. But at 60, he’s double Olivia’s age! I don’t know Olivia’s work but she’s quite pretty!

  5. therese lopez says:

    Dakota Fanning would be good as the girl she’s really grown up and she’s real pretty and sweet. For the hero how about Ryan Gosling, I don’t follow younger actors so I don’t know many today. I don’t watch much TV, sorry!!

    • I’ve never “mooned” over Ryan Gosling BUT I have to say that he’s not only great looking but a great actor as well I’m “casting” my hero for my WIP and you know what? Ryan MIGHT fit the bill for me too!

  6. Nancy Davidson says:

    My hero would be a guy by the name of Angel Macho. He is on Facebook and is a dream!!
    The heroine would be the girl who plays lead on “Castle”.

  7. minitreviews says:

    I’d say Mark Harmon for my hero and Ginger Rogers as my heroine

  8. Wow Nancy! Angel has a pair of lateral obliques that make me drool!

    Kate Beckett is played by Stana Katic and she is hot! I agree she would make a terrific heroine

  9. Shyanna says:

    I feel like a copy cat but these were the names in my head when I read the question. I’d go with Jason Momoa and Oliva Wilde. Although I’m not sure that they would be a good set.

  10. katrina Hall says:

    I am not how much you know about Jackson Rathbone. He played Jasper in Twight also Cowgirls and Angels. Well he was born and raised in Texas and he already has that sexy Texan draw to his voice. Leslie-Anne Huff for the girl. She played in Cowgirls and Angels and she was great

  11. JeanMP says:

    Zac Efron and Hayden Panettiere would be my choice.

  12. Jana B says:

    Jeremy Renner & Lea Michelle. Thanks!

    • What I like about Jeremy Renner is that he has such an interesting face. Not, IMHO, classically handsome but I do like how he looks! Since I was never a Glee watcher, I don’t think I have seen Lea Michelle in anything. But she is quite attractive

  13. I am going to give away my age but I would use John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara. I grew up with these two and when they were younger they had that chemistry that made good movies!! And he was very sexy and she gave him a run for his money. Or I would go with Sam Elliott and Katherine Ross they had the same chemistry as the other two!!!!

  14. Ginger Robertson says:

    Glad to know you are recovering well from your knee replacement surgery.

    And I would like to have Kate Mara and Mark Wahlberg. I loved both in Shooter.

    • I had to look up Kate Mara. WOW! She’s quite a looker, isn’t she? All the Wahlberg boys look a lot alike for me. Mark as come a LONG way in his career, hasn’t he? Good choices

  15. Paula F says:

    As an inspiration for my hero …. (no one throw tomatoes) I’d have to go with Gary Leo Taylor ….. and because its my damn fantasy …. me for the heroine! 🙂 Honestly …. I’m too tired to be more creative …. which is why I don’t write! LOL

  16. Not a darn thing wrong with Gary Leo Taylor that I can see! Whew! Hotness.

    And writing IS exhausting. Truly.

  17. Caffey says:

    I wished Michael Landon was still with us. I love watching Bonanza still! I only watch oldies but do know of Matthew McConaughey and he’d make a good cowboy like he did as a stripper in Magic Mike 🙂

    Cathie
    CathieCaffey@gmail.com

  18. Stephanie O. says:

    I was thinking Mathew McConaghey for the cowboy – I’d love to see him play a cowboy, with his voice saying “Yes, Ma’am”…oooooh boy!! But someone else mentioned Taylor Lautner, and I love that idea too – he could play a GORGEOUS cowboy!!! For the heroine, I can only think of Jennifer Garner…but Jessica Alba would be good too. I’m thinking Jennifer Garner to pair with Mathew, and Jessica to pair with Taylor…their ages seem to be more similar.

  19. cct082073 says:

    Josh Duhamel & Kiera Knightly or Reese Witherspoon

  20. Terri says:

    Like the first poster stated, I don’t watch much TV or movies. In fact, I don’t even know any actors who I would consider to play a cowboy. Sorry….

  21. WINNER – therese lopez Please contact me Therese for your prize

  22. JackieW says:

    John Wayne and Grace Kelley would be great inspirations for a super western romance.

Leave a Reply

