Inspired Time of Year…

I know I have said before that I love this time of year, that I love Fall. The leaves change from green to gold and red and orange. Football is in full swing. The temperatures start to dip here in the South (though some areas down here are still a little too warm for my taste). And I start thinking of blankets and fuzzy socks and hot chocolate with marshmallows, and chili, and cinnamon spiced everything.

October thru December I usually spend a lot of time baking. Cookies and cakes, mostly. I start making homemade food gifts too. (Homemade vanilla extract, homemade Irish Cream, homemade Kahlua) Food has always been something I have felt comfortable doing and I know that I’m good at making it (as well as eating it). I know I talk a lot about food on my blogs and it’s because it serves as inspiration for me as well as a source of good memories. Many of my fondest memories from growing up happened around food. Special occasions were always handled around food. Holidays, food. Times of celebration or mourning, food. It draws many people together.

Last month, DH and I celebrated our 22nd anniversary. We spent an evening out in Greenville, South Carolina. Had a great meal and then drove downtown to take in the vibrancy of the area. Restaurant upon cafe upon coffee shop upon bar upon shopping. And seeing the beauty of the city streets, the togetherness of the people, the connection over food, a new book series idea came to me. When people gather over food, I see memories being made, friendships being shared, or relationships connecting. Food ignites our senses and and for some of us, it ignites our imagination.

The first story in this new series is titled Up In Smoke and will be part of the Five Alarm Alphas box set releasing on November 7th. (You’ll definitely recognize some, if not all, the names of contributing authors) It is up for pre-order now! Amazon | Barnes and Noble | All Romance eBooks

FFA200X300

Up In Smoke blurb:

Half-brothers, Josh and Jay, share everything from a house, to a love of curvy, older women. So when their dream woman accidentally sets her kitchen on fire, they ride to her rescue, sirens blaring, promising to kindle flames that may never be extinguished.

So, now you know one of the things that inspires me, what inspires you?

Have a great weekend, y’all!

~lissa

 

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspired Time of Year…

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sounds like a great box set with some fabulous authors. I like the theme for your story!

  2. Caffey says:

    I am so much not a cook but for some reason my daughter loves it and now takes care of that part through the holidays. As for many of us readers probably will see a book and want to read as well as recalling other books waiting to be read. It inspires me too just like reading this post that I look forward to Five Alarm Alphas being released as well as going back to a fireman book I have to read here! Off to find that book I want to read! Have a great weekend!

    Cathie
    P. S. I couldn’t get the Amazon U. S. Link to work. Maybe problem is on my side but in case not I thought I’d let you know.

  3. Cheryl Lemon says:

    Thank you just pre-ordered it.

Leave a Reply

