Cooking and a Cover Reveal!

It’s September. Can you believe it? I can’t. I keep thinking there has got to be some mistake, but according to all the calendars I’ve been able to get my hands on, they all say the same thing. September 2014.

Fall is my favorite time of year. From football to the leaves changing colors to cooler temperatures (hopefully) to reflection.

I always reflect in the Fall and Winter. They are also my most motivated times of the year. I want to do the things I love. I want to write and create.

When I was growing up, we always gathered for football games and Thanksgiving and on into the ‘other’ holiday. My family and I don’t live close and don’t see each other a lot, but those memories are right there with me, making me smile. Especially when I am in the kitchen.

I spent a lot of time in my grandmother’s kitchens. She was always making something. Dinner was always at the same time every night, breakfast at the same time everyday, same thing with lunch and snacks. There was routine and organization and love that went into everything she did, but I got my love of food and cooking from her. She was forever telling me ‘try it. how will you know, if you don’t try it?’. I have a love of comfort and a love of familiarity when it comes to food, but I also have a love of ‘try it’.

If I wasn’t a writer, I’d probably go to cooking school. Maybe one day, I will.

What does all this have to do with a cover reveal, you ask? Well, the second book in my Lone Star Sweets series will be coming out in October and the heroine, Samantha, got her love of baking from her grandmother. They would settle in the kitchen and bake pastries and cook for the ranch workers where Samantha was raised. She bakes because she loves it and because of the warm memories it evokes in her.

Sticky Cowgirl_200x300

Do you cook/bake? If so, where did you learn and does it bring back good memories? If you don’t cook, why not?

~lissa

 

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in inspiration, Upcoming Releases and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cooking and a Cover Reveal!

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Good idea for a heroine!
    Autumn is a good time to make apple pie and my mother always made them with the beautiful scent of cloves rising from the oven.

  2. Irma Jurejevčič says:

    I do cook and I do bake 🙂 I learned from my parents mostly. My parents never asked if I could but told me that I must… My mother just told me what to do and I did it 🙂 How many times has my father laughed that I made something for the first time and it was better than my mom’s. He encouraged be maximum as you can see.

    • Once I learned to really cook, I was doing it a lot more. My mom never cooks anymore, especially when she comes to visit and she always says what I make is better than what she made. She did it because she had to. I do it because I love to.

  3. Shirley Long says:

    The Sticky Cowgirl is here!!! Yeah, can’t wait to read it.
    I didn’t cook much growing up, always too busy doing other things. When I got married at 19 I thought “oops” I now have to cook every night. I mean I didn’t even know how to make iced tea which is a staple in East Texas.
    Thankfully my new husband did know how to cook. I learned whatever cooking skills I have from him. And he still cooks today. He’s much better at so many things than I am. And his motto is kind of like your grandmothers ~~ you’ll never know until you try it. So, we try lots of new things but also stick to some of the tried and true foods we love like grilled pork chops, chicken fried steak, chicken stir fry and so on. I do make a mean coconut pie from scratch that was my mom’s recipe and an amazing fresh apple cake.

    • It’s not here yet! October! LOL… Iced tea is a staple from Texas over to the east coast of Florida. There were some things I didn’t know how to make, but learned after marriage. If I can say anything, it’s that I’ve learned more and more how much food creates memories and warmth and comfort and it’s the tried and true recipes that do it most of all.

  4. wrongwaymichelle says:

    I’m a decent cook as long as I have a recipe to follow. I like baking better…..cookies and bread are favorites to make. My grandmother gave me a set of cookie cutters when I was around 9 years old and I still use them now (I’m 60 ). Mom and dad taught me basics. I even have a Betty Crocker cookbook for boys and girls with recipes I love. It’s falling apart now. I bought new ones for me and my grandsons several years ago when it was rereleased by Betty Crocker.

    • I love cookbooks, and I’m a recipe collector. I have never been a great cookie baker. Cakes, cupcakes, muffins, and quick breads are my favorites to make but I’ve been baking more and more cookies, trying to get better at it. I’m not all about fancy desserts either, but I like trying new things. My kids have no interest in cooking or baking and that makes me a little sad, but maybe if I ever have grandkids, I can pass along my love of it.

  5. I cook and I also learned from my grandmother. My dad was the one to say try it you might like it. I love food and I like cooking for the most part I don’t do anything fancy but I love it when the family enjoys what I cook.

    • I’m with you here… I started cooking before I was 10. It was one of my chores and it was one of the things I liked doing. One day I’ll have to dish on my first baking disaster. laughs… I don’t do fancy either. I really LOVE comfort food and things that while aren’t all that healthy in some areas, feed the soul in others.

  6. Michelle says:

    I like to bake, every time is make pie crust I think of my Grandmother, “you can always add more liquid, but you can’t take it out if you put in too much”, it applies in many cases 🙂

    • There are many things I bake or cook that came from my grandmother. Cobbler is one of those things. I always think about her when I’m making blackberry cobbler. For us it was always blackberry everything…

  7. Chris Bails says:

    I learned to bake from my mom and then a lot on my own. Give me a recipe and I will make it. I also learned from my hubby some stuff, he is a chef and has taught me a few things over the years.

Leave a Reply

