Nightfall-It’s dark, it’s hot, it’s more than sex

leave me a comment and you might win the ebook of your choice from my backlist.

About a year ago the incredible author Joey Hill and I did a Twitter party together to promote our new releases. Our readers who swarmed us asked if we ever thought of writing a book together. I have collaborated before but Joey has always been a solitary writer so for her it was a big stretch. But we huddle din her room at a conference (disturbing everyone around us, of course!) and created the details outline for a story about a vampire and a cowboy. Can I say I was nervous every time I sent her my section to read? (Can you see I have no nails left?) because Joey’s prose is just so beautiful. But somehow she put up with me and the book we created is, well, some of the best work I’ve ever done. So thank you, Joey. Here’s your taste of Nightfall and we hope you enjoy it and will pick it up at your favorite online store.

Blurb:

Ranch owner Quinn Pedraza has to find someone to run the saloon he won in a bet, but more than that, he needs a woman who can handle his alpha personality…and closet submissive sexual cravings. When vampire Selene Torres arrives on the scene, he gets everything he wants—and learns what he really needs.

Excerpt:Nightfall_HiRes

When she stepped between the two men without hesitation, he bit back an oath. He was ten paces away, too far to keep her from getting mashed like Spam between two slapped-together pieces of Merita.

Instead, one slim hand landed on the barrel chest of Howie Gold, a regular, the other on the arm of a drugstore cowboy who’d probably said something stupid to set off Howie. They both had clenched fists and alcohol-induced stupid written all over their faces, but then she leveled that blue gaze on them. “You’re interfering with my getting a drink. And that pisses me off.”

She didn’t raise her voice, but she didn’t need to do so. The impact of her expression turned them into deer frozen in the headlights, waiting for a truck to hit. Those blue eyes held something… Well, he knew how crazy it sounded, given he could have picked her up under one arm, but the word that came to mind was dangerous.

Mesmerizing was a close second, and he meant it literally. Something about her quieted the crowd and held both men in place, those fists loosening into uncertain curls.

In contrast, that sense of danger made Quinn want to keep coming toward her. His cock had hardened, pressing against the denim of his fly and demanding release. No, demanding to be plunged into the tight wetness of her body.

There was no way she could sense his reaction. A handful of occupied tables were between him and her, plus a bunch of people on their feet to corral the fight. He was just one in the crowd. Yet when his cock stiffened, her gaze flicked away from the two men and lasered right to him.

He had a voracious sexual appetite and liked a dozen different kinds of kink. All the women he’d chosen in the past fifteen years—and the rodeo circuit had provided a lot of those–had seemed to enjoy sex with him. He tried to be a generous lover and, without ego, he knew he had the kind of alpha male personality women liked, strong and demanding in the right ways. Their willing compliance should have been enough for him.

Yet sometimes, lying awake in the hours before dawn, a sleeping woman next to him, he wondered if they were too obedient. Too acquiescing. And damn it all, that didn’t make any sense. It wasn’t as if they just lay there and waited for him to give them orders. Most of those relationships had had some substance to them, such that a couple became more than just casual sex. Annie had been the last of those, some time ago.

Since then, he’d had the occasional casual fuck, but it was half-hearted. He’d told himself it was because of how hard he was working, but he knew that was a lie. Every relationship had lacked some intangible thing he couldn’t put his finger on.

Something which he had the oddest feeling had just put its finger on him.

 AMAZON  ALL ROMANCE EBOOKS  KOBO ELLORA’S CAVE 

About desiree01holt

I'm an author of erotic romance, a lot of them with very hot cowboys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Nightfall-It’s dark, it’s hot, it’s more than sex

  1. Shirley Long says:

    I’m so excited to read this book. Two of my very favorite authors together and writing about two of my favorite things ~~ cowboys and vampires. With Joey’s incredible vampire stories and your amazingly hot cowboy stories, combining the two will have to be totally combustible. Thanks ladies!!!!!

  2. Vanessa N. says:

    Congrats! I already love Quinn and Selene sounds cool. Can’t wait to read what happens when they get together.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    I know what Spam is but I don’t know what Merita is. If it’s bread, maybe you could just say bread?

    • Joey W Hill says:

      Clare, Merita is in fact bread. Sometimes we’ll go more generic in our descriptions, but just like with JR Ward’s BDB and other series, sometimes it’s fun to throw in the specific brand names and let people figure out what they are by context (or Google!). Sorry for it snagging you, however. ;>

  4. Lori Meehan says:

    Sounds good. I love vamps and cowboys. Mix them together and I’m all in for it.

  5. Donya says:

    I left a comment under the other post but I’ll just repeat myself here – I love paranormal and I love cowboys – so the two combined and it’s much stronger than LOVE! This is my next purchase and read. I can’t wait!!!

  6. I also left a comment on the other posting. But I have to say this is one hot story line. I love cowboys and Vamps. Never really read one where female vamp finds her man. This book is smoking just by what I read. Y’all did a great job on it. Thank you both!!!! Congratulations to you both!!!!

  7. Donna says:

    Wow, that sounds great. I can’t wait to get it. Congrats on getting together.

  8. Cheryl Lemon says:

    Would love to win, and can’t wait to read the new book.

  9. would love to win one of your books

  10. Thank you for all the really great comments, guys. I will pick a winner late tonight and post it here and on my FB page tomorrow.

  11. Stephanie O. says:

    Wowsers!! This looks like quite the hot story…sure would love to win! Thanks!

  12. Joey W Hill says:

    As I noted on the other post, I just rolled in from a conference at 5:30am this morning, so am a bit of a zombie right now, but wanted to at least leave a comment and say how lovely it was to see all the enthusiasm on your comments. Desiree is far too modest. Working with her was a delight, and she stretched my boundaries and opened me up to different story directions, all in positive ways. As she noted, I was more than a bit nervous about collaborating. I value her friendship greatly, so MY nail biting was all about: “This is a great way to destroy a friendship”, because I know just how anal I am about preparing a story. But we worked fabulously together from beginning to end – I adore her even more! (and she’s apparently not sick of me yet – lol).l

    Hope you enjoy Quinn and Selene’s story!

  13. ajgreer1979 says:

    Can’t wait till Friday. That’s when I get to start it. Thank you for all your hard work in bring us great books.

  14. JanaL says:

    Enjoyed the excerpt. Thanks for the giveaway.

  15. Mr Random.Org has chosen the winner. Drum roll, please……..Lori Meehan, you have won the ebook of your choice from my backlist. Just visit my web site at http://www.desireeholt.com, let me know your choice and it will be sailing across cyberspace to you.

Leave a Reply

