Influences

Hi all,

I wanted to post this month about influencing the cowboy romance as a writer.

For me, it’s horse, country music, country music stars, the everyday cowboy on horseback, and those cover models who are real cowboys like Don Allen.

I got to meet Don this past weekend at Authors After Dark. Yes, we paid for him to be there as a muse for myself and Becky McGraw. He is the real deal, folks. He rides horses and everything.

Does riding horse make the cowboy? No, but it sure helps with the persona, right? I love to see guys on horseback with the cowboy hat, boots, jeans, and preferably no shirt. Just me, I guess.

Most of the time I can tell if a guy in a picture is the real deal. It’s just something about the way they were a cowboy hat. Real cowboys have them pulled down low over the brow, riding right on their forehead and ears. Guys who aren’t comfortable in a cowboy hat usually have the hat back on their heads a bit or it doesn’t fit right on their head. Drives me nuts!

What’s with the wife beater t-shirt? That’s so not cowboy! I have a Studs and Spurs cowboy calendar and I’m staring at the August cowboy. He’s in a wife beater t-shirt! Yeah, no, not in my world.

So anyway, what do you look for in a real cowboy on the cover of your romance novels?

I have a couple of pictures on my wall for inspiration and boy, let me tell you, they inspire! Jeremiah Young from Forever Kind of Cowboy is my favorite. I can’t post his picture here because it’s not mine to post, but boy howdy! And then there is my current work in progress inspiration, Joshua Young. He’s got that cocky little grin, gorgeous eyes and that hat pulled down low on his brow. YUMMY!!!

For those fans of the Young brothers, Joshua’s book should be out at the end of September. I’m shooting for that anyway and I’m about 34k into it right now. Title will be Kiss Me, Cowboy so watch for it everywhere!

Until next month

~ Sandy

P.S. Leave me a comment on your favorite cowboy look and I’ll pick a winner tomorrow for a signed ebook copy of Make Mine a Cowboy, my Amazon Best Seller and the start of the Cowboy Dreamin’ series.

Portrait of confident young man shirtless against grey backgroun

This entry was posted in Book Cover Art, bulls, Contest, cowboys, Cowboys - Media Inspired, Cowboys for a Cause. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Influences

  1. Shirley Long says:

    Favorite type of cowboy??? Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm let me think. Definitely has to wear Wranglers, preferably with just the right fit to show off his behind. Also love a cowboy in a tight t-shirt that shows off those muscles. But I prefer those western shirts with the snaps. Not the gaudy, citified ones, but the simple denim work shirts made by Wrangler. The snaps come in real handy when you just want to rip the shirt open quickly. One jerk on the bottom snap and they all come open. Convenient, huh?? And he absolutely mush have the right hat ~~ felt for winter, straw for summer. I personally prefer a black hat pulled down low over the eyes. And you know Sandy, an honest to God cowboy only takes his hat off for one thing. And we all know what that is.

  2. mjmgma says:

    My favorite type of cowboy is George Strait. He is the real deal, rides horses, ropes and sings. He also looks dangerous good on his Wranglers.

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    I grew up watching the Magnificent Seven films so even though no cows were involved, those would set a standard for me as far as cowboys were concerned.

    Now, I don’t know what a wife beater t-shirt is, comes of living in Ireland I suppose. If something got that bad a name, why would any man wear it?
    Not sure about the cover above – nice picture but it looks as though the man has those words carved along his hand and arm. I’m sure that’s not the case.

  4. laineslite says:

    Let’s say he has to wear a Stetson, Boots and chaps, with a horse nearby too.

  5. suzey49 says:

    When I think of favorite cowboy look – my first thought was John Wayne – Favorite cowboy of all time!!! But with age I morphed to a more sexy, tight Wranglers, black cowboy hat, lead rope in hand and the horse following closely behind!!!

  6. Irma Jurejevčič says:

    Hm, lets see: he has to wear Boots with spurs. He must wear his cowboy hat over his eyes so he looks more misterious and with a cigarette hanging from his mouth. He has to wear a cowboy shirt with rolled up sleeves. And he has to say yes ma’am and no ma’am. He wouldn’t be a right cowboy if he didin’t own a horse 🙂 Oh, yeah and his yeans has to make his behind look yummy!

  7. Jodi Knecht says:

    He’s gotta have that real cowboy look & charm. Faded tight jeans, t-shirt stretched across muscles built from real work not just body building in the gym, Cowboy hat and Boots…and not those brand new out-of-the box-never-seen-a-real-days-work kinda boots – REAL boots with some scuffs on ’em! That’s the “LOOK”…….. but if you could top that off with a great personality, beautiful eyes & dimpled smile…well then, I guess I’d just melt!

  8. My idea of a real cowboy is a younger John Wayne. Yes, I grew up on John Wayne movies. Big hat that’s been worn a lot. Faded jeans and a belt with big belt buckle. Boots that have seen better days they have been worn to do work. They have long legs, kind eyes, a killer smile (when he smiles), and a kind heart. They don’t have to be pretty boy handsome, but when he smiles he is gorgeous. Loves children and animals. He is kind to children, older people and women. Like John Wayne he takes no BS off anyone!!!!

  9. Joye says:

    I like my cowboys in Wrangler jeans, a yoked Western shirt, a well worn hat and boots. No big belt buckles or fancy bling. just the look of a hard-working man.

  10. I like my cowboy to be a nice, considerate, confident man

  11. JanaB says:

    Fitted jeans & shirt, worn hat & boots. Thanks for the giveaway.

  12. Stephanie O. says:

    Boots & jeans with a cowboy hat!! Simple shirt –those really fancy ones are only worn by the wannabe cowboys. Would love to win the e-book!

Leave a Reply

