My name is Donna Michaels…and I’m addicted to cowboys

donna_michaels (212 x 335)

Hello, everyone!

I am so very happy and honored to join such wonderful authors on this blog. For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Donna Michaels, author of Romaginative Fiction. Although I write short to epic, and sweet to very hot, across several romance genres, I’m most known for my cowboys and military heroes. And whenever I can combine the two, you better believe I do!

I’ve been writing for The Wild Rose Press since they opened their doors in 2006, and have a hot and humorous paranormal with Whimsical Publications, but most of my success has been with my self-published titles. Every one of my full length novels are hot, humorous and heartwarming. The books in my Harland County Series—Unruly cowboys and the women who tame them—have been in Amazon’s Top 100 since I released the first book in April 2013, and I’m shocked to say all four are currently in the Top 100 as I type this post. Yeehaaw! A big thank you to all for making that happen!

BESTCOWBOYlrcWINheruniformcowboy2013pxEarlier this year, my hero from HER UNIFORM COWBOY/ Book 3/Kade was voted BEST COWBOY IN A BOOK/Reader’s Choice-LRC. Yes, this is one of those novels I mentioned where I combined cowboy and military to create a yummy hero. I’m so glad the readers enjoyed reading Kade as much as I enjoyed writing him. Kade has also garnered a Reviewer Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews and was recently awarded the Crown Jewel of Excellence from InD’tale Magazine.

Here’s the blurb:

HerUniformCowboy 200x300

Desperate for change after a verbally abusive relationship, Brandi Wyne leaves a symphony career, her family, and the Poconos to fall back on a designing degree and a chance to renovate a restaurant/pub in Texas. Even though part of a National Guard family, she’d sworn off military men when the last one proved less than supportive of her thyroid condition and subsequent weight gain. Too bad her body seems to forget that fact whenever she’s near the very hot, very military local sheriff.

Texas Army National Guard First Sergeant Kade Dalton never planned on becoming Harland County Sheriff or the attraction to a curvy, military-hating designer from Pennsylvania. Heavy with guilt from the death of a soldier under his command during a recent deployment, and dealing with his co-owned horse ranch and a bungling young deputy, it’s hard most days just to keep his sanity. But it’s the Yankee bombshell who threatens not only his sanity, but tempts his body…and his heart.

Fighting their attraction becomes a losing battle, and Kade soon finds sanctuary in the arms of the beautiful designer.  Does he really have the right to saddle Brandi with his stress issues? And if so, can he take a chance on the town’s newest resident not abandoning him like others in his past?

 Amazon link:    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HBWQCAC

~~♥~~♥~~♥~~

My latest, HER FOREVER COWBOY/Book 4 in the series, is currently sitting at #9 on Amazon’s Best Selling Western’s list and #5 in Highest Rated Westerns on Amazon. Here’s the blurb and a hot excerpt so you can sample the scrumptious Kevin Dalton.

HerForeverCowboy200x300

Single mother, Shayla Ryan, longs to put down roots to create a stable environment for her baby girl and her younger sister, but the threat of her abusive, ex-con father finding them has made that almost impossible. Her newest residence in Harland County, however, holds a lot of appeal, especially in the form of a Casanova cowboy with eye-catching good looks and easy charm. Those two qualities took her down the wrong road before, and though the sexy cowboy interferes with her pulse, she can’t let her heart get in the way of the safety of her family, or give it to someone who doesn’t believe in forever.

If there’s one thing software company vice president, Kevin Dalton, loves more than puzzles, it’s women. Size, shape, race doesn’t matter as long as they don’t want a relationship—he’s not looking to repeat the past, and more than happy to remain single. Until two beautiful redheads drop him to his knees—one with her cutie-pie smile, the other with her elbow. Too bad the elbow-toting beauty is both hot and puzzling. A killer combination too strong to resist. And without realizing it, the redheads slowly rewrite the code around his heart.

But when the danger from Shayla’s past shows up, can he rise to the challenge to keep them safe…and really be what they need? A forever cowboy?

************

He was addicted to Shayla.

Kevin could deny it all he wanted to Cole, but the honest truth was evident as the gorgeous redhead in his bed. Sure, he could talk a good game. Convince just about anyone to do anything, but at the end of the day, trying to convince himself he’d rather lay on the couch with Amelia asleep in his arms than join her naked…wet momma in the shower, he had some hard truths to face.

He loved his time with Amelia, coloring, watching TV, holding the little pumpkin while she slept in his arms. She’d ridden her horsie right into his heart. He was going to miss her once they were back in Harland County. So, the fact he’d eagerly tucked the little angel in her crib so he could race to be with her momma when he knew their time together was quickly coming to an end, only proved how strong a pull the attraction was between him and Shayla.

The single mother gripped his attention, captivated his thoughts and tantalized his body. Yeah, he was addicted to Shayla.

Addicted to her mouth-watering curves, wicked lips, decadent taste, sinful touch, uninhibited and insatiable hunger. He stifled a groan and tried to talk his heating body out of needing the woman again. They’d just had incredible against the wall shower sex. His legs were still trying to find their bones, and yet he was quickly recovering for another round.

So? What the hell was wrong with that?

He should take whatever the woman wanted to give. And, oh hell yeah, she was very, very giving. And demanding. Heaven help him, the combination rocked his world.

As if of its own accord, his hand snaked under the covers to gently glide down her bare back, drawing circle after circle across her supple flesh. God, she was silky smooth and so damn soft.

“Mmm…” she uttered into the mattress before scooting close to toss a leg over him and burrow into his side.

The feel of her generous breasts mashed against him and wet heat between her legs curving around his hip had his dick twitching to life. He curled a palm around her sweet ass and forced his other to remain on the hand she used to stroke his chest. Keep it simple. Keep it safe.

“You’re nice and warm.” She snuggled closer, causing his eyes to cross.

Safe. Keeping it safe.

He lifted her wrist and kissed her tattoo. She stared up at him, mass of emotions fluttering through her eyes.

Don’t do it. Don’t ask.

“For your mom?”

Damn mouth wasn’t good at following orders.

“Yes.”

A one word answer. Good. The woman didn’t want to answer any more than he wanted to know. And he didn’t want to know, because knowing made sex personal. Which would be a mistake. A stupid one. Why ruin a good thing? They had four days of raw, passionate, crazy sex without hardly any words involved.

Don’t mess it the fuck up.

It was still walk-away-able.

“Your mom liked dragonflies?”

Duct tape. Where the hell was the duct tape? He needed a big ass piece for his big mouth. Or maybe he could put it over hers should she feel inclined to answer. But this was Shayla. Surely, she’d tell him to mind his own damn business. Yeah, any second now. Any second now she was going to shut him down hard.

He held his breath, partly in anticipation, but mostly so he didn’t ask another damn question.

“Yes. My mom used to say they were resilient and represented hope.”

A bubble of some sort rippled through Kevin’s chest, causing his heart to catch. Lack of oxygen, no doubt. He released his breath, kissed her palm, then set her hand back on his pecs.

“Smart woman.”

Now she nodded. “Yep. The best. My hero.”

Sweet. And informative. Leave it at that. No need to ask anything else.

Don’t ask anything else.

Jesus, he was going to ask more. The hazards of mind-blowing sex. He was brainless. No cells left to form enough thought to keep his damn mouth shut.

“What do you mean?”

Yep, brainless.

“My mom saved my life.”

__________________________________

Amazon US:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KFRWNWQ

Amazon UK:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00KFRWNWQ

Amazon CA: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00KFRWNWQ

~~♥~~♥~~♥~~

August 14-17, I’ll be at ARC New Orleans at the Marriott. If you’re in the area, please stop in. I’m giving two workshops with my screenwriting partner JT Schultz and sponsoring a carriage ride through the French Quarter Friday night, hopefully we won’t melt. I’m also doing a cowboy panel with Sylvia McDaniel and would love your help. Why do you love to read cowboys? Tell me in the comments, and I’ll draw a random winner to receive an eBook of their choice from my Harland County Series. Please be sure to leave your email and eBook choice in the comments, too. Good luck!

Thanks for reading,

~Donna

Find me on the web here:

Website:  www.donnamichaelsauthor.com
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/DonnaMichaelsAuthor
Twitter: @donna_michaels

About DonnaMichaels

I'm an award winning, NYT & USA Today bestselling author of Romaginative fiction. I write Romance through the H's-Hot, Humorous & Heartwarming.
This entry was posted in cowboys, Cowgirls, eBooks, Excerpts, Westerns and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My name is Donna Michaels…and I’m addicted to cowboys

  1. Lisa B. says:

    I love reading cowboys because they are loyal to family and friends.
    I don’t need to be entered in the giveaway. I already have all of the books. I just wanted to say congrats to whoever wins. This is an incredible series.

  2. DonnaMichaels says:

    Thanks, Lisa. I appreciate your support! ❤

  3. Sheila says:

    I love reading about cowboys because of the strength they show in caring for the people they love. And I have to admit the description that an author gives about a cowboy in wranglers makes my heart skip a beat. lol

    • DonnaMichaels says:

      Thanks, Sheila. It’s important to me that my characters, no matter their inner struggle, show some spark of caring. And I, too, love descriptions of heroes in wranglers! 😉

  4. Kathy Frantz says:

    I enjoy all your books. I grew up around cowboys. My role models for life start with my grandparents, grandpa’s 95 and grandma is 91. They still live and work the ranch together with one hired hand. They raised three great kids, one of which is my mother, and passed their knowledge down to anyone that wanted to learn.

    • DonnaMichaels says:

      Thank you, Kathy! Your grandparents sound wonderful. It’s great to hear there are such wonderful role models in reality. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Frances says:

    Donna I am so glad and happy for you I love all your books you are wonderful

  6. Ashley says:

    I love to read cowboys because their loyal, strong-willed, hard working, loving, overprotective, and so on. I could go on and on. Lol. Books sound wonderful.

  7. And the winner is…ASHLEY! Please email me at donna_michaels@msn.com Thank you everyone for commenting.

Leave a Reply

