Cowboys and wine-who’d a thunk it

Leave me a comment. Someone will get a $10 GC to Amazon

I live in a very unique area of Texas called the Hill Country. Probably because we have a lot of hill. (Pause for loud laughter). The landscape is dotted with wildflowers and linking the small towns are ranches of every size and type. Everything from huge cattle ranches to ranches that breed ad train horses to some great dude ranches. About 50 miles south of Fredericksburg, in Bandera, dude ranches have been operating since 1920. The self-proclaimed “Cowboy Capital of the World” is home to seven dude ranches, where guests can take trail rides and eat cowboyfare. And a lot of people who don’t own ranches still have horses and it’s very common to see them riding along the side of a two-lane highway or even down the road the runs past my little rural community. So yeah, Stetson and boots are pretty much the common dress.

Longmire

Note: Who wouldn’t like to drink wine with Longmire?

But the Hill Country offers another unique industry–­wineries. There are twenty-two wineries in the Hill Country, seven around Fredericksburg alone, with two more slated to open soon. Texas is now the nation’s fifth largest wine-producing state.A hard morning on horseback can be followed by an afternoon of wine and cheese. And nobody minds a bit.

The Hill Country doesn’t just sit culturally at the intersection of cowboy and urbane; it sits there geographically, too. Most of the region’s attractions are within an hour’s drive of Austin, the state’s hipster capital, and San Antonio, home of the Alamo. And in a state where a drive between cities can be derriere-numbingly long, the Hill Country provides easy stops in a short distance.

PS. Sam Elliott’s voice makes me horny but don’t tell anyone. Sam and a bottle of wine make my night.

 

Sam Elliott

So don’t be entirely surprised if that cowboy you saw riding herd this morning decides to wet his whistle late in the day with a glass of chardonnay or sauvignon blanc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About desiree01holt

I'm an author of erotic romance, a lot of them with very hot cowboys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Cowboys and wine-who’d a thunk it

  1. Stephanie O. says:

    I never would’ve guessed there are so many wineries in TX, though I shouldn’t be surprised! I’m from Kansas, and we have several wineries here as well, so a big state like Texas would too. I’ve been to Houston, San Antonio, and Corpus Christi as a kid, but not since then. (I’d love to visit San Antonio again — I’d like to take our girls to the Alamo!) My inlaws live in a Dallas suburb, so I have been to that area several times in 12 years of marriage. Sure would love to get the Amazon card!

  2. wyndwhisper says:

    Hi Desiree,
    i knew that about the Texas Hill Country. it is a wonderful place and home to several of my favorite authors. 🙂 i am not able to drink because of my medication but i did belong to a wine club for awhile and they sent me wine from all over the world. i recieved several bottles from that area. i liked the club because i could give the wine as gifts. 🙂

    as far as sexy Sam Elliott goes, i am lucky enough to live in the same town as he does, Eugene Oregon. i have not had the pleasure of meeting him but i keep hoping i will meet up with him someday just so i can listen to him talk to me. LOL! (Loved him in the Sacketts and the Skyliners both!) *sighs repeatedly*

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  3. Cindi says:

    I wanna visit the Hll Country and drink some wine

  4. Shirley Long says:

    Holy hell Desiree!!!! Sam Elliott and wine. Doesn’t get any better. And to have that in the Texas hill country ~~ HEAVEN ON EARTH~~~

  5. laineslite says:

    Whatever Sam says works for me. I hate beer anyway so bring on a wine drinking cowboy I can enjoy now in multiple ways. Lainey

  6. Clare O'Beara says:

    Yes, I’ve known someone involved in Texas wine for some years. He says almost all of the wine Texas produces in drunk in Texas, so it’s unlikely I’ll ever see it on sale in my local shops. That is probably why people don’t mostly associate Texas with wine, unlike California which exports wine everywhere.

  7. Vanessa N. says:

    I didn’t know there were wineries in TX. I’d love to visit them and drink wine with some cowboys.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  8. Lori Meehan says:

    Wow. Who would of known that Texas could make wine along with hot cowboys?

  9. Tracie says:

    I wanna drink some wine.

  10. del227 says:

    I love all things Texas! Lived on the OK/TX line for a few years Texas wines are some of the best wines I’ve tried. I’d love to visit the Hill Country and see the Bluebonnets!

  11. Susan T. says:

    Sounds like you live in best of both worlds…hot cowboys and yummy wine.

  12. mjmgma says:

    Wish I could live in Texas like you with all the Sexy cowboys. And you are not the only one that loves to listen to Sam.

  13. Isn’t he just the best? I still remember that old series, The Yellow Rose. I watched it just to listen to him!

  14. Hubby and I spent a week in the area. Loved it. Enjoyed the wineries a great deal. Was there during the lavender festival. Now THAT was fun! Amazing what can be done with Lavender. .

  15. suzlyne says:

    I think touring Texas wine country would make a great vacation trip. If only hubby liked wine more than beer! LOL! I could listen to Sam Elliot’s voice any time of the day.

  16. Michelle says:

    Wine or beer, either way I love cowboys! Though the area certainly does sound beautiful, even if trips around might put my bum to sleep 😉

  17. Jodi Knecht says:

    I have got to visit this part of the country some day, it sounds so beautiful and it has all my favorite things; horses, wine & cowboys!! …( NOT necessarily in that order!)

  18. Wanda Miller says:

    Love Sam Elliot!!! I love cowboys and wine! It’s on my bucket list to visit this part of Texas. It sounds like an awesome place to live and to visit!

  19. cmucha319 says:

    As I have gotten older, my tastes have changed in a lot of things. Beer and whiskey had always been my choice for a drink, now it’s wine! One thing that has never changed though would be my adoration of the cowboy. No matter where I go or what I do that is a constant. Sam Elliot……..just his name makes me twitter!

  20. Deb says:

    I’ve been putting off visiting a TX friend for a while. It’s not that I hate to fly to get there, I just hate being without my own car with my HP tag. After reading this I really want to visit. Maybe I’ll just take the time and drive.

  21. ronnie c says:

    I’ve always loved Sam Elliot!!! And his deep voice with that fabulous drawl…..HOT!!!

  22. A woman after my own heart. Love the Hill Country especially Fredericksburg and San Antonio. They are my go to places if I need to recharge my batteries. My hubby did our own wine adventure and it was great. We just had the best time. The wine is fabulous every time I go I bring at least a case home with me, that’s not counting what I drink while I am there….LOL I do have to s ample it. I encourage anyone who hasn’t been to the Hill Country go it is so great. Sam Elliot, Tom Sellick and John Wayne yummy……I do love cowboys.

  23. Oh, Elaine, a woman after my own heart.

  24. mary says:

    OMG…I LOVE Longmire, Justified, Hell on Wheels

  25. Eileen says:

    one day I’m going to go there for a vacation. I would love to visit the hill country. Sam Elliott is so swoon worthy.my oh my.

  26. Annette says:

    What an interesting part of the country! As long as there are boots, Stetsons and Wranglers on those men, they can rope, ride or ferment the grape..don’t matter. And I so agree about Sam Elliot…a Silver Fox.

  27. Lea says:

    I live in Washington (the state not the city) and I’ve noticed in the last 15 years or so many of the orchards on the east side of the state have been replaced by vineyards and wineries. I’d love to visit some in Texas and compare. 🙂

  28. Armenia says:

    I’ve had my share of Texas wine and its wonderful. Fully surprised, as I lived in northern California and went wine tasting often in Napa and Sonoma Valley, and now am living in Texas. I live so close to the Hill Country but had no idea of the dude ranches. My family and I are fully immersed in the Texas culture, even insisted we learn 2-step, triple and country waltz.

    Thanks, Desiree, for all that information. It may be our next vacation spot.

  29. Okay, I’m letting this run until 10 PM tonight and then I’ll announce the GC winner here and on my FB page.

  30. Janet Rodman says:

    I would love wine country in Texas. Sounds like fun.

  31. mathlady68 says:

    While I don’t drink wine I have to say that I agree about Sam Elliot. He is THE man!

  32. Okay!. Sorry. Feel asleep last night. So this morning Mr. Random.Org and I selected the winner.
    Drum roll, please……
    The winner is….
    Susan T!
    Please contact me at desireeholt@desireeholt.com so I can send you your GC. And HUGE thanks to everyone who joined me in celebrating wine and Sam Elliott.

Leave a Reply

