May Brought Me…

…A whole heap of trouble. Oh, there were a few smiles too. My son turned 15 and we took in an afternoon triple A ballgame in downtown Charlotte. My daughter turned 20 and we took in a whole day at the North Carolina Zoo. Both days were gorgeous and we couldn’t have asked for more perfect weather.

But then, May turned on me and I was ready to dropkick her to the moon.

The water heater went out on Memorial Day. It took two days to get it replaced. Two days later, the A/C went out. Heat is one thing. I’ve lived in the South all my life and I have no qualms with heat. My problem is with humidity and even having lived in the South all my life, humidity is a bitch and she knows it. The heat in the house I could handle. The humidity drove me up the freakin’ wall. And in the middle of the day when it’s cooler outside than inside… We’re being evaluated for a new A/C system tomorrow.

If y’all have the winning lotto numbers, I could sure use them.

Add in an abundance of hot flashes and night sweats, thanks to Ms. Menopause and my happy pills were pushed to their limits of what even they could tolerate.

I need a vacation. A few days away. No kids. No husband. No animals. No cooking dinner, washing clothes, cleaning toilets, mopping floors. Nothing but me, my laptop, a notebook, coffee, and room service.

Anyone own a hotel? A resort? A cabin in the woods? A shack with cross-ventilation?

A couple of months ago, I had to cancel attending my favorite con… Lori Foster’s Readers/Authors Get Together. It’s happening next week in Cincinnati and if you’ve never been, you should be on the look out for it next year. You’d have a blast. I always do. But I had some things going on when I had to cancel and even if I hadn’t then, I would certainly have had to now.

May is not my friend. She poses as my friend, but she’s not. She’s a wicked girl and disguises her deception in pretty flowers and green grass and wonderful temperatures that beckon one to dismiss all work and play outside. She tempts with sweet tea filled mason jars, lemon and berry tarts, sexy men in jeans without shirts, and long days lit with fireflies.

But, I am not say to see May go. Truth be told, I’ll be glad when summer is over and I have the beauty and wonder of autumn to play in, to work in, to recoup in…

Crazy question… What is your favorite season? What is your best month?

~lissa

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in totally off topic. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May Brought Me…

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sorry that the appliances are packing up. I expect they only last so long.
    I like spring and summer, though any season is a good one.

    • Jodi Knecht says:

      Although all the seasons have there special points, I think spring & summer are my favorites. I love to gather with friends in the evenings around a fire & just enjoy the outdoors, conversation, & the company! A few drinks, a little music & maybe some line dancing if the mood strikes. Nothing better than good times with good friends! Favorite month, I’ll go with June. Warm enough outside to enjoy all the above but early enough in the year that the bulk of farm/ranch work hasn’t hit yet leaving a bit more time to enjoy it all!

  2. PJ says:

    I have to say fall. Not to hot an not to cold. I love to watch the leaves change.

  3. Eileen says:

    man you totally bypassed my favorite season of summer. LOL I can understand certain times can be trying and the need to get away. I’m counting down my time away now because I am going to Lori Foster’s RAGT. I was there last year and had a fun time. Looking forward to getting away from the workplace, cooking dinners and family.
    I wish it was a bit warmer so I can go out and enjoy the summer pool. Soon!

  4. Ashley says:

    Fall is my favorite. Love the mountains in the fall. I live in the South as well. I totally get where you are coming from concerning humidity. Total Bitch!

  5. Fall is my favorite season…November my favorite month and Thanksgiving my favorite holiday. The weather is nice and you can go places see the leaves change. Thanksgiving you can get together no presents are exchanged but you can get family and friends together and have a good time!!!!

Leave a Reply

