I Hear Texas Calling

For those of you who don’t know me that well, I’m a wife of a retired AF Major. iStock_000014374656SmallWe are newly minted in the retiree area. Les just officially retired December 1st. Many people were surprised that we didn’t head back to Texas. Well, none of my friends were surprised, but some of our family were. We had two problems with heading back to our home state. Number one: Hawaii made us soft. Three years in that climate made the return to Texas horrible. Number two: my youngest and I seem allergic to the state.

But, I still feel that pull every now and then. Most of our family lives there and I’m still sentimental for a lot of things. Namely, it’s where I met my husband and we got married. And, that family thing too. But, when I was thinking I wanted to do a new contemporary series about a family, I decided to return to the state where my first release (Grace Under Pressure) was set. Abandoned Farmhouse in Bluebonnets

There is an allure of Texas that many people cannot deny. It’s a contradiction in terms filled with cows, oil fields, beaches, bluebonnets, and modern technology. And, it is going to have my new family.

I have been thinking about doing a new family series and this one sprung to life. The first of the books will be coming out this fall. I am setting it on a ranch with tons of brothers, sisters, and cousins. Sort of my like my Santinis, but with a ranch and a bigger than life Texas family.  I can’t say much more than that, but it has me thinking about my old stomping ground. I decided to set it in South Texas, near San Antonio. And I get to relive our time there and make a bunch of Tex-Mex to get into the mood for writing. It also means that health permitting, I plan on hitting Texas up once or twice in 2015, woot! Although I don’t think I could ever live there again, I have a ton of friends who still live in the area.

And, who am I to complain about spending time with a family of cowboys???

About Melissa Schroeder

Melissa Schroeder is a USA Today Bestselling author with close to fifty novels, novellas and short stories published. She writes in erotic romance, romance, paranormal romance and historical romance. She is best known for her Harmless and Santinis Series. The wife of a retired AF major, she is happily settled back in Virginia, although she happily reminds her husband there is a 25 million dollar home or two on sale in Hawaii. You can get more info about her books at MelissaSchroeder.net
This entry was posted in cowboys, Creative Life, Upcoming Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Hear Texas Calling

  1. Sue Cox says:

    Having never travelled to Texas it looks beautiful from your pictures and I love Texas Cowboys ! I think it’s the drawl that lures me in every time. In my mind it’s always unhurried and warm with a bit of an edge. Good luck with the new series it sounds like a great time.

    • Well, there are pretty parts, then there are some icky parts, lol. I love the hill country, which is just northwest of San Antonio. The one place I have never been is Big Bend National Park and I would like to go there.
      Thanks!

  2. I’ve been here in Central TX for 23 years, most of my adult life. I grew up in the midwest. I still cannot get used to living on the surface of the sun in the summer! I get tired & cranky and don’t want to leave my house. Ever. I also suffer from horrible allergies that I never had before. I admit that it is nice in the winter when everyone is buried in snow and we have 70 degree days. 😉

    • I love cold weather though, so it doesn’t bother me. I love seasons, full ones. The only place I will live without regular seasons is Hawaii, but hubby refuses to buy me a five million dollar house there. He’s so rude.

  3. Kathy Heare Watts says:

    Enjoyed the article. My parents did the same thing, they chose not to go back “home” when Dad retired from the military. When he was first stationed at Ft. Bragg, NC in 1964, he moved us there and immediately he was sent to Dominica Republic. But in letters Mom told him she really liked it there and he told her to start looking for a house. They bought their home in Fayetteville in Feb. 1965, but Dad never really lived in it until 1972 after his second tour of Vietnam.
    I am looking forward to your new books and I’m sure they will be “hot” like the rest!

  4. Margie Hager says:

    I fell in love with San Antonio and the Texas Hill Country when my husband and I traveled there for the San Antonio Rodeo and Stock Show a few years ago. I will really enjoy reading your stories about this family living there.

  5. ronnie c says:

    Beautiful country!!!

  6. Clare O'Beara says:

    Gorgeous flowers!

  7. Tiss says:

    Love your books. I’ve never been to Texas. Maybe someday I’ll get there.

  8. Eileen says:

    good luck with the series. I love the pictures you have chosen for your post. Absolutely beautiful. I can understand staying put in Hawaii. One day I’m going to go there.

Leave a Reply

