Shall We Dance?

Young handsome man on orange background.I love movies about dancing and stories about people coming alive again when they learn to dance. Probably because I love to dance! I grew up during the Disco era. I know, that dates me. I used to practice disco dancing in my mother’s basement and sneak into the bars in Hot Springs, AR when I was only 16-17 years old just to be able to dance. When I married a man who doesn’t dance, I really mourned the loss of that part of my life. Any time I get to dance,  I do it.

Several years back (20+) three of us ladies from the place where I worked decided we deserved a night out. We ditched our husbands and went to a county-western dance hall in San Antonio. We all tried to keep up with each other drinking and we hoped and prayed some fella would ask us to dance. We about gave up when the UGLIEST guy in the place asked me to dance. Personally, I didn’t care if he looked like the tail end of a horse’s butt, I wanted to dance. So I jumped out of my chair and dragged him to the floor.

And it was like magic! The man had the face only a mother could love, but he could dance like nobody’s business! The three of us ladies shared him, dancing to  our hearts’ delight. He had a sweet story too. His wife had walked out on him after five years of marriage. He sat around feeling sorry for himself and finally picked himself up by the bootstraps and took dance lessons. Now he never lacks a partner.

Goes to show, looks aren’t everything. I’d take dancing over looks any day! This was the basis for my story SHALL WE DANCE in the COWBOY HEAT anthology of short stories published by CLEIS Publishing. It’s a sweet, sexy short story, but came from my heart.  And it has characters from my series UGLY STICK SALOON.

The COWBOY HEAT anthology is a collection of short stories about cowboys and it was pulled together by my sister DELILAH DEVLIN. So you know they had to be good to get into the anthology. She almost didn’t choose mine saying it was too sweet. I’m really glad she did. The story needed to be told.

CowboyHeatNook
Amazon Kindle
Kobo

About Myla Jackson

Twenty years of livin' and lovin' on a South Texas ranch raising horses, cattle, goats, ostriches and emus left an indelible impression on Myla Jackson, one she likes to instill in her red-hot stories. Myla pens wildly sexy, fun adventures of all genres including historical westerns, medieval tales, romantic suspense, contemporary romance and paranormal beasties of all shapes and sexy sizes. When she's not wrangling words from her computer she's out snow-skiing, boating, riding her ATV or spending time with her family. She lives in the tree-covered hills of Northwest Arkansas with her husband of 20 years and her muses— the human-wanna-be canines—Chewy and Sweetpea. To learn more about Myla Jackson and her stories visit her website at www.mylajackson.com.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, cowboys, How it started, inspiration, my life, New Release, Westerns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shall We Dance?

  1. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Shall We Dance sounds great along with the anthology!

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Nothing wrong with dancing!

  3. Tiss says:

    I have never learned to dance, except the 2 step. My mother tried to teach me and I was embarrassed to be dancing with her, so I didn’ do more. My ex husband was supposed to be a good dancer, but he’d never take me and always had an excuse, so I don’t know if I’m going to jump at taking lessons or not. Thanks for sharing the story. I love the Cowboy Heat book.

  4. Pingback: Dancing With Aunt Mable | Retrorambling

Leave a Reply

