Sweet Success…

Hi everyone. I came into 2014 on a slippery slope with lots of rough patches along the way. But the earlier ordeals have smoothed out and been replaced by happier times.

The toxic chemical spill that polluted rivers in West Virginia is under control and the water declared safe to use. Hubs and I are still drinking and cooking with  bottled water, but we’re using the tap for bathing and washing clothes. (Trust me this is a BIG HAPPY).

Evoque 1I replaced my ailing SUV with a new Range Rover Evoque. Yeah, the picture sucks.  Hubs wanted to know why I  I ran outside last night to take pictures during the latest snow storm. Even in good weather and lighting I’m not a great photographer. But I wanted to share because so many of you were so sweet with your concern and best wishes and now I LUV my new ride.

Adding to my happy fest, I received notification that River’s Edge, Unlikely Gentlemen I, is a nominee for a RONE AWARD. 

Be sure and leave a comment below and tell me how your year is moving along. I’m giving away 3 prizes today: Reader’s choice of my backlist, 2 print copies of River’s Edge, and one set of Unlikely Gentlemen Books I and II–River’s Edge and Outrageous Pride

Here’s a snippet from River’s Edge:

As River peered down at the cowboy through the screen of the willow branches, he unbuckled his gunbelt and removed the chaps he wore over his denims. Piece by piece he shed the rest of his clothes, discarding them all before reaching into his saddlebag and pulling out a sliver of soap and a drying cloth.  

Grasping her pencil, River leaned forward, almost falling from her hiding spot as she prepared to draw her first live nude subject. She had studied Hellenic art, copying pictures of naked gods and men. Hermes of Atalante, the Roman statue by Lysippus, remained her favorite. But the sun-kissed figure below eclipsed the one-dimensional depictions in her books.

Standing thigh deep with his back turned toward her and his shoulder muscles rippling, the cowboy reached low, scooping water to wet his face and chest. The fiery red color of his shoulders and back contrasted with the pale skin on his rump and thighs. He bent to cup water and rinsed white soap from the dark tufts of hair sprouting from his armpits.

River stared at the taut muscles in his buttocks, a jagged scar ruining the contour of the left cheek. And then he turned around, displaying a form more magnificent than any pictures of sculpted perfections she’d studied. Her gaze roved across his body, greedily examining and cataloguing the earthy reality.

He rubbed soap over his chest, swirling white lather around his nubs, pausing to squeeze the tips between finger and thumb. Rough laughter escaped him as his manhood bobbled in response.

River’s left hand lifted of its own accord, cupping the material covering her bosom. Though only plump in wishful dreams, her breasts each sported a dusty areola, darkly ringing a sensitive tip. She imagined him caressing her flesh, pinching her nipples as he had his own and a surge of need clawed at her belly.

She bit her bottom lip, concentrating as she detailed the heavy shoulder muscles, the sprinkling of dark chest hair, and the sharp hipbones framing the flat belly. Feathering strokes lightly she mimicked the fine hairs circling his navel before arrowing toward his groin.

As she watched, a line of water trickled from shoulder to chest and glistening drops collected in the dark thatch surrounding his manhood. His penis appeared more robust than the hairless groins of the marble statues she’d studied in her books.

River swallowed, trying to quell her breathless fascination with his maleness. As though her scrutiny had caused the action, he fisted his hand around his shaft and stoked the flesh between his legs until it became engorged. 

She wasn’t prepared for the erotic motion and the pencil she gripped too tightly snapped into two parts. River stifled a moan and forced her gaze away from the intimate act and back to the harsh planes of the cowboy’s face.

 Almost casually, he rinsed, walked out of the water to his pile of clothes, picked up his gun, and pointed it at the approximate place where she crouched in the tree. 

“Come down from there now or I’ll start shooting.” His tone bore little resemblance to that of the easy-going cowboy she’d spied on all morning.

“Please go away,” she called to him, hastily cramming her sketchbook into her satchel. She had every reason to believe this stern-voiced stranger might actually carry out his threat. The sound of her voice identifying her gender seemed to jar him a bit.

He lowered the gun, pulling on his trousers and stepping into his boots before walking beneath the willow. 

“You coming down?” he growled. 

“No,” she answered, estimating the distance to the ground from the limb where she perched. She might have to jump and run. Cloaked behind a screen of leaves, she couldn’t see his actions or anticipate his intentions.

“Guess I’ll have to come up to meet you, then.” The tree swayed under his weight as he began to climb. 

“I’d rather you didn’t,” she called to him. 

“I’d rather peeping-toms didn’t watch me bathe. It appears we all get disappointed sometimes.” His voice held an unexpected edge of humor, as if he thought the situation funny. 

“In point of fact, you’re trespassing,” River protested, prepared to defend herself with the broken pencil stub.

He paused in his climb and the willow stopped swaying. “That I am. Beg pardon.” Instead of arguing or continuing up the tree, he began a retreat.

Both relieved and disappointed, she waited until he’d climbed down, retrieved his loose pile of belongings, pulled on his shirt, and mounted his horse. Then she shouted another message. “Bathe in green tea tonight. It will take the sting from your burn.”

From River’s Edge, Unlikely Gentlemen I

Available @ Amazon: http://amzn.to/X41UMr

Voting in the American Historical category takes place this week. Thanks in advance if you have time to show River and Edge some love. Here’s the link:

VOTE HERE:  http://indtale.com/2014-rone-awards-week-one

2014_rone_nominee_american_historical-vote-now-851x315

__________Gem Sivad________

Writing Erotic, Paranormal, and Historical Romance
Author of the series Eclipse Heat & Unlikely Gentlemen
Published by Ellora’s Cave, Siren BookStrand & Dark Mountain Books
______________________________
Web / Twitter / FB / Amazon / GR / 

About Gem

Author of contemporary, paranormal, and historical western romance always with a pinch of naughty, a dash of desire and sometimes with a touch of magic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Sweet Success…

  1. Rosheen says:

    Glad your year has started to smooth out. Yep clean safe drinking and bathing water is not to be under estimated 🙂 Really have been enjoying the unlikely gentlemen series. Happy writing

    • Gem says:

      I will never take water for granted again. But of course, I’ve thought of a way to use the disaster in a story. O:)

  2. flchen1 says:

    That IS one sweet ride, Gem! So happy the year’s taken an upswing for you! Our year’s started out pretty busy, and it’s running along just as busily now… 🙂 Gotta love all the fun that means! Thanks for the great excerpt!

    • Gem says:

      I had an awwww…moment the other day when a hot guy on tv pursued a woman to return her scarf.I unglued my eyes from Mr. Gorgeous and looked at his vehicle when hubs said, “He’s driving your Evoque,”

  3. Peni Anne says:

    Love the color of the Evoque, nice. Congrats on the nomination. It has been a fast 2014 so far, with a almost 15 year old in the house, there is a bit of everything, mostly drama, although I have heard I don’t have it as bad as some households. Migraines are almost constant and difficult to manage, basically same as usual.

    • Gem says:

      I like the Evoque color, too. It reminds me of the red dust in Texas. I hope your migraines get better and spring gets everyone out of the house soon. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sorry to hear there was a toxic spill, it seems the more things change the more they stay the same. Let’s hope you’re safe for the summer when it comes and can enjoy the water outdoors like your characters!

    • Gem says:

      I am a beach freak and my husband and I have already planned our week of nothing but sand, sun, and fun. It’s the one time of the year we don’t let anyone or anything interfere with us getting away. Thanks for stopping by, Clare.

  5. Terri says:

    Glad to hear you have an upswing in your year. Ours, while not horrible, isn’t fantastic either. Still, got our tax check yesterday so we’re going to splurge and eat out soon. Can’t wait. Can’t wait until winter is over so I can turn off the heat.

    • Gem says:

      I’m with you on the end of winter. It snowed here last night after reaching 70 degree (F) temperatures earlier in the week. I’m just hoping that our summer season is relatively normal this year. @_@

      Thanks for stopping by, Terri!

  6. cat says:

    congrats on the new ride and your nomination!! I have to car shop in the next couple weeks and dreading it-hate car shopping! When will spring ever get here? All we get is a tease for a day and then slammed right back into winter!!!

    • Gem says:

      Good luck in the car shopping, Cat. It took me six weeks to find what I wanted because there are so many gorgeous vehicles on the market. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. wrongwaymichelle says:

    Glad to hear things are better in your neck of the woods! We’ve gotten through several issues here, too. On the upside now, my niece is expecting and very happy. My other niece is engaged to her Marine and planning a wedding! Jenny’s job is more secure….if the weather would cooperate so they could work more. Lol! Only downside is my older son’s job. He works as a contractor fot AT&T and they are being very slow renewing contracts this year so he hasn’t had full-time work all year. Praying that changes soon as he is very discouraged right now. Enjoy that sweet ride, lady!

    • Gem says:

      I am out and about whenever I have an excuse to leave the house. Whether the weather cooperates or not, I’m ready for a ROAD TRIP! So glad to hear that love is in the air for your family. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. Donya says:

    Congrats on the nomination! You deserve it! This year has been wonderful. First and most important – my 22 year old prodigal son has finally come back home. He had to hit rock bottom but he is doing wonderful now. My 19 year old made Dean’s List and I’m doing great in school as well. But one BIG thing for me was on Valentine’s Day, my husband surprised me with a Yellow Jeep Wrangler! YUP, I’m a Jeep Girl! Great marriage, close family, good job, fun ride! Life is great in 2014!

    • Gem says:

      Wow, now that’s a Valentine’s gift that just keeps giving. Awesome news about your family, too. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  9. Miriam Smith says:

    Congrats on the nomination! And congrats on clean tap water! LOL It’s the little things, right?

    This year’s been interesting so far. Kid 2 turned one this past Monday. Kid 1 has decided to try on the attitude of a rebellious teenager. She’s six. A foreshadowing of things to come? Please say it ain’t so! Husband got an unexpected raise, which was awesome. We noticed after three paychecks, lol. Yeah… We’re slow on the uptake like that. 🙂 And hubby and I celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary on Valentine’s day. Took a trip to Reno, no kids, and had a blast. I got back edits for my book but have no desire to apply said edits. *sigh* It’s hard to find time to edit or write with my psycho daily schedule. But I’m pushing myself to start to by June, after I finish a short I’m working on.

    We’re three months in and I can’t believe how time’s flown already. If the year’s been this interesting so far, I can’t wait to find out how the rest of the year goes!

    • Gem says:

      Miriam, I know just what you mean. It’s hard balancing every thing and when one aspect gets out of kilter, the whole darn schedule tends to unravel. It sounds like you have your hands very full. Good luck with the edits!

  10. lisaguertin says:

    I’m glad things are smoothing out for you. I’ve had rough years too and at least they help you learn to appreciate the better times. That’s about all I can find positive with them.

    • Gem says:

      Hey, Lisa. We’re already laughing about our January and February trials. Human resilience, that’s what it’s all about. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  11. retta l says:

    So far my year has been going good, I’m glad you are doing ok and can somewhat use your water. Thanks for the many great reads, and enjoy the new car.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Retta, I am enjoying the new car and want the end of winter to come quickly so I can enjoy over a longer distance. 😀 Thanks for all your support!

  12. Donna Gott says:

    Gem, I’m so glad things are better for you! Love the car and yes it does look like the dusty roads in Texas. Things are looking up in my household and we are looking forward tho spring. Our only problem is no water in CA. The snow was light and our water table is so low we are going to have a very bad drought this year. Worse in History! So bad we are thinking of moving. Well, keep us in your prayers and I will pray you win. Yours is the best book on the list. You have my vote all the way!.

    • Gem says:

      Donna, the water situation is really scary. Scarier still is the lack of any kind of uniform planning for these disasters. The author in me sees plot bunnies hopping everywhere even as my sane, rational half knows water is not to be taken for granted. @_@ I will keep you in my prayers, too and hope you don’t have to move.

  13. I am so glad your year is getting better. Mine, well it’s doing ok. Still on the go but it has slowed down a little. My granddaughter is still the light of my life and she is the reason I am on the go so much. I am so glad you got a new ride. We are all healthy and that is what matters most. Thank you for the great books you write!!!

    • Gem says:

      Hi Elaine. Your granddaughter is lucky to have you. You can grow up together. *cheeky grin*. Thanks so much for all your support and for stopping by today!

  14. carolyn overholser says:

    Love your new ride, voted but didn’t comment on other site for you.

  15. Wanda says:

    Love your new ride!! Voted,but didn’t comment. Still waiting for this winter to end!! We had 70 degrees Tuesday and now it’s in the 30’s. Hope you have a wonderful year!!!

    • Gem says:

      Enough with the roller coaster weather changes. Same here with the 70-18 in a matter of a day. Thanks for your support and I ❤ my new ride, too!

  16. Tiss says:

    Congrats on the new Ride! Sweet!. Congrats on the nomination too. Always AWESOME to have a book do well.
    My divorce was final in Jan and so now the healing and new adventures begin. Looking for bigger and better things to happen in 2014.

  17. Shannon says:

    Hi from Northeast Texas. So glad things are getting better for you now! Rough starts to the year suck but everything will be rolling smoothly from now on.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Shannon. Rough or smooth, it’s a great life and I’m glad to be part of it. Thanks so much for your support!

  18. Michelle says:

    So glad things are getting better! Loved the excerpt ;).

  19. bn100 says:

    Nice snippet; it’s okay

    • Gem says:

      Hi bn. I’m glad 2014 is developing well for you. Thanks for stopping by to say hello. I appreciate your support.

  20. Andrea says:

    Would love a copy of any of your book’s. Keep writing. So happy things are looking up for you.

Leave a Reply

