Celebrating Texas Independence Day

On March 2, 1836, 59 people signed Texas Declaration of Independence, breaking from Mexico and forming the Republic of Texas. In Texas, this is an official holiday.

Texas is certainly an interesting state. Huge and varied from north to south and east to west. Sometimes I forgot how really big the state is when the hubby and I try to drive across in one day!

Those of us who write Texas-based books use the whole state for a varied stories. The different topographies add flavor to our settings. We, authors of Texas-based books, need to celebrate this day as I can’t imagine not have the state with it’s sexy southern men, cowboys, strong women, cattle, horses, oil, etc.

So let’s do it. Let’s celebrate Texas Independence Day, except like the state we honor, the holiday is just too big for a day! Let’s do a whole week! March 2-9, 2014 join me and 21 other authors to celebrate books and love, Texas style! Click on the banner below and you’ll be magically transported to the Facebook event page. Tons of prizes every day!

FB-Header-IISee  you there!

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.
This entry was posted in Happenings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Celebrating Texas Independence Day

  1. Porchia says:

    I have lived in Texas all my life and would not live anywhere else. 🙂 God Blessed Texas!!!

  2. Michelle Vasquez says:

    Since I live in Central TX, I think I would be in trouble if I didn’t join the fun! 🙂

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    I don’t do facebook but have a great time! I have read several of the authors and enjoyed a Christmas tale by Winnie Griggs.

Leave a Reply

