SHIVERING IN MY BOOTS – CONTEST RESULTS and NEW GIVEAWAY – EXCERPT – RED HOT VALENTINE

frontsnow

It got cold in Texas this week! Oh, we have winter weather, but where I live near the Gulf Coast, it doesn’t often snow. When I was young, I can remember one hard freeze which killed the palm trees at the local mall, but I’ve never seen snow like we had this week. It was incredibly beautiful. My animals were not nearly as thrilled as I was. We had gone to Arkansas a few weeks ago, where I was inspired to write TRUE LOVE’S FIRE and Abby loved the white stuff. She scampered around. Mojo hated it. He is older and fat and he just sunk down in the snow. He was miserable. So, the other morning when we walked out to a winter wonderland – Abby smiled and Mojo said “Son-of-a-bitch!” Now, for those of you who do not know – Abby and Mojo are dachshunds.
I didn’t make a snow man or snow angels, and I had no one to chunk snow balls at, but I did have a good time with the cows. They were confused. Where in the hell did the grass go? I got help and we put out some hay for them, but they still wondered around and mooed their consternation. Which excited the dogs – it was a circus. I’ll show you a couple of pictures. They won’t be exciting to you who get snow all the time, but to this Southern girl, it was a treat.

coldcow

I’m ashamed to say, I don’t really have clothes to enjoy weather like this. I’m strange I know, but I don’t own a pair of socks. I hate socks. When I was little, my mother would dress me in frilly dresses with full puffy slips, ribbons in my hair, patent leather shoes and little socks with lace around the top. I look back at the pictures and think I resembled one of those big wind-up dolls. But I would cry and cry. And she would say, “What is wrong with you?” And I would sob, “Everything’s okay but the socksies.” I couldn’t stand the feel of that thin material on my feet. Now, I don’t go barefoot except on a clean floor, but I don’t wear anything on my feet – ever. I either get a tan to make my legs look smooth, or if I’m getting a little white, I have been known to use that spray on leg make-up – but no hose for me.
Oh, wait – let me clarify – I do own a couple of those little footsie types to wear with my boots – but that doesn’t really count. Why do I use this column to confess my strangeness to you good people? I don’t know, but I do.
Anyway, I ventured out into the snow, but my feet got cold. And my fingers did too, since I don’t own a pair of gloves. But I did play in the snow and if Mother Nature would give me more of this wonderful stuff, I would give in and buy a coat. But no socks.
Winners from the last TRUE LOVE FIRE’S GIVEAWAY are Suzanne Bischoff and Victoria Zumbrum. Email me at sablehunter@rocketmail.com and I’ll get you that book or any other of mine you’d rather have. Today I’ll give away two more if you’ll tell me your experiences during this last cold spell – anything funny or unusual – (I always need new material for my books).
Here’s an excerpt from TRUE LOVE’S FIRE.

truelovesfirefinal
They rarely got out of bed. Every topic either could think of, every childhood memory, every dream or hope which came to mind, they shared. Propped up on pillows, they worked on her Alamo song. He helped her with the bridge, coming up with a phrase that just fit. Now, she just lacked one more verse.

Against all odds, they stood as one; choosing not to go
A line drawn in the sand
Heroes of the Alamo

Scott told her of Renee, how she’d hurt him. He didn’t bring in his philandering past. There was no use to muddy the waters. But in his own way, he was trying to explain his decisions—be they good or bad. She also held him while he worried about his patients. “I hold their lives in my hands. Sometimes the pressure is almost more than I can bear.”
“Remember, someone else holds your hand.” She was speaking of divine guidance, but she placed her palm over his, letting him feel her support, her faith in him.
While they were pouring their hearts out, she buried her face in his neck and told him why she’d doubted herself, why she was so unsure of herself as a woman. “I was foolish and gullible. So lonely, I believed he wanted me, but all he wanted was my songs. After I gave in to him, I found out he was only paying me a fraction of what I was supposed to get.” Cheating her out of money was bad enough, but “when he told me how he felt about me, I wanted to hide.”
Scott hugged her close. “He was a crook. Nothing he said was true. You are beautiful and any man would be proud to be seen with you anywhere.”
“Promise?”
“On my honor as a member of the Sons of the Republic of Texas.” His retort made her giggle.
“I have a good time with you.” She molded herself to his side.
“I enjoy being with you, baby.”
“Wanna go play in the snow?” She paused. “I dare you.”
He realized she was avoiding a conversation again, but Scott was never one to turn down a dare. They bundled up, took the dog, and raced out into the morning air. His ride would be coming in an hour or so, and they were making the most of every moment. They walked, holding hands, telling every silly joke they could think of. “When does a doctor get mad?” she asked.
“When?”
“When he runs out of patients.”
“Awwww.” He grabbed her up and ran. “You need joke telling lessons.”
“Do not.” She wiggled down and ran off, him chasing her. When she got a few steps away, she scooped up some snow and pelted him one, right upside the shoulder. “Score!”
“Why you little…” He picked up some snow, balled it up, got ready to throw it at her and discovered she’d taken off like a wild deer, laughing all the way. Scott ran after her, only he couldn’t see her. Looking wildly around, he turned to the left, then to the…WHAP! She’d been hiding behind a tree.
“Houston!” he growled as he picked her up, slinging her over his shoulder. With the palm of his hand, he gave her rump a resounding slap.
“Why, I never!” She tried to put her hands over the place that was now deliciously warm.
“Oh yes, you have.” He let her slide down his body. “And you’re going to be doing it again and again—with me.” He framed her face and kissed her voraciously. “I can’t get enough of you. I don’t think I ever will.” She kissed him back, but the overwhelming emotions she was feeling made her break away.
“Let’s make snow angels.” Finding a fluffy patch of deep drift, she lay on the ground and moved her legs and arms, fanning them out to create the form of an angel. “See what I made?”
“That’s nothing.” He was bent to the ground, a stick in hand. “See what I made?”
She rose to look. He had written on the ground and what he’d written made her stop breathing.

I think I love you

Scott looked up at her, waiting for her to say something. Tears welled up in her eyes. He held out his arms, but she couldn’t trust her feelings or his. He was Dr. Scott Walker and she was…she was just Lia. “The snow will melt and the words will disappear, nothing lasts,” she whispered softly. Their eyes locked and she couldn’t stand to see the disappointment in his—so she ran. And this time she wasn’t playing, she ran hard, tears streaming down her face.
But she wasn’t fast enough. He caught her, pulling her up against him. “Whatever you’re thinking—stop. Everything will be okay.”
Lia didn’t answer.
“Let’s talk about it.”
But the roar of the helicopter engine drowned out their thoughts. “You have to go.”
He held her tight. “He can wait a few minutes.”
“Don’t feel anything for me, please. I’ll only mess it up.”
Scott felt helpless. “You still have some misguided notion that you’re less than perfect. You’ve got to stop. You have to trust your feelings. You have to trust me.”
“I’ve enjoyed you being here so much.” That was all she’d allow herself to say.
Was she trying to tell him goodbye? Not on your life. But he’d give her space, even if it killed him. “Think about it, Lia. Think about us. I’d like to show you my world. When you decide you want me, you know where to find me. This time, you come to me.”
For the second time, she watched him leave.

Thank you so much,

Sable

About sablehunter

Sable Hunter writes erotic romance. She writes what she likes to read and enjoys putting her fantasies on paper. Her stories are emotional reads where the heroine is faced with challenges, like one of her favorite songs – she’s holding out for a hero – and boy, can she deliver a hero. Her aim is to write a story that will make you laugh, cry and sweat. If she can wring those emotions out of a reader, then she has done her job. She grew up in south Louisiana along the mysterious bayous where the Spanish moss hangs thickly over the dark waters. The culture of Louisiana has shaped her outlook on life and made its way into her novels where the supernatural is entirely normal. Presently, Sable lives in Texas and spends most of her time in wild and wonderful Austin. She is passionate about animals and has been known to charm creatures from a one ton bull to a family of racoons. For fun, Sable has been known to haunt cemeteries and battlefields armed with night-vision cameras and digital recorders hunting proof that love survives beyond the grave.She writes for Secret Cravings Publishing as well as publishes much of her own work. Join her in her world of magic, alpha heroes, sexy cowboys and hot, steamy, to-die-for sex. Step into the shoes of her heroines and escape to places where dreams can come true and orgasms only come in multiples.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to SHIVERING IN MY BOOTS – CONTEST RESULTS and NEW GIVEAWAY – EXCERPT – RED HOT VALENTINE

  1. ELF says:

    Wow, I can’t imagine not wearing socks…I wear men’s tube crew socks during the winter because they come all the way up to my knees, lol. It is really rare for us to get snow so we haven’t gotten any this year but I vividly remember the disgusted look my dog gave me several years ago when it had snowed as I opened the door to let her go outside to the bathroom…it was a ‘are you kidding me, I don’t have to go that bad’ look as she turned around and went back to her bed. I loved the excerpt!

  2. It was to cold to go out, so I stayed inside and had a fire going. I read …my Chihuahua’s stayed close..in my lap as much as possible. I watched it sleet and the sleet accumulated on my deck it was almost like having snow!!!

  3. Patricia Ballard says:

    Loved True Loves Fire. Purchased and read it as soon as it came out. SSSSSSOOOOO GREAT. But all your books are great. Now patiently waiting on the next one. Gave it a five star rating.

  4. Clare O'Beara says:

    Interesting cover! I like your snow scenes. We don’t have dogs but cats, and when it snows the cats are fascinated that they can see the birds’ footprints! They also love playing in the snow, hiding and pouncing on each other. They come in to warm their paws and have water and a little food, then straight out again. After a time of a few days however, they get fed up with the cold and stay in more.

  5. DebraG says:

    I am not sure I have anything exciting about the last snowfall. I can tell you that my daughter took her cat and put her out and she sunk way down.

  6. Jean Patton says:

    Well I have an Akita and he has to be walked no matter the weather, so we goop up his feet with musher’s wax which he hates so it is a battle. I decided over the weekend to put socks on him, he tolerated those much better, but the front ones don’t stay up, so he ends up just wearing socks on his back feet. We are all tried of the cold weather right now.

  7. Jess Aldous says:

    Disappointingly we haven’t had any snow yet, but we’ve had bucket loads of rain. Except when that rain goes we’re left with fields full of mud, which makes for an exciting walk considering we have lots of hills. The other day I was walking my dog who loves playing with the biggest branch she can find, leaving her slightly off balance, then my un-coordinated self comes sliding in the mud, swearing as I try to keep my balance just to turn the corner and have a group of older men laughing their asses off at me. So yeah, it wasn’t quite snow because then I could have been having a duvet day, rather than mud covered embarrassment. 🙂 Enjoy the snow!!!

  8. Melissa Phippin says:

    In my area we got about five to seven inches of snow. I had to work so delayed going sledding until two or three days after it snowed. Just for kicks and giggles two male friends and I ventured to the local sledding spot which is the city park. It has amazing hills. In preparation I wore three layers and two pairs of socks. So did one of the guys the other one just wore one layer. For sleds we used a boogey board and a swiming tube. Needless to say we laughed more than sledding. The boogeyboard was no use. And when my male friend used the tube on the first time it popped. It was still fun.

  9. First I want to say…… LOVED TRUE LOVES FIRE ……. I reread the whole series again
    I want to admit that this is one if my favorites in the series ❤ Can not wait to see what you are writing next Now my snow story. My son who will be 26 only wear shorts and here it get way below zero and only then does he wear a hoody. Never a long sleeve shirt He was going out to use the new snowblower …… First he had no socks to wear with his boots and shorts he only wears no show socks So I gave him a pair He goes out and he out there foe awhile he cones back in and comes over to me and says " mommie I'm so cold feel". So I think I'm going to hug him to see how cold he is oh no he grabs my hand and puts on his nose then he says "see mommie I'm so cold". He just make me laugh ( he 6'6" and over 375 ). He's the baby of three Thanks again for a great series !!!!!!!

  10. Bertie Welck says:

    Nothing exciting here to old to play in snow, and we had a ton in Maryland. I had nothing to do but stay in read the Hell Yeah series AGAIN and drink coffee while someone else did all the snow removal.

  11. Socks Rock! Shoes stink. I hate wearing them. I love, love, love the way they look, but I hate wearing them.

  12. Annie says:

    Over the weekend, when I wasn’t working, I was watching PBR on my computer…in bed…under several covers. Also watched the James Bond marathon on BBC and read a little. Occasionally, an animal would plop with me for a while, take a nap and then go eat some kibble. Did some shopping during a sunny time on Sunday. The sun made the 15 degrees bearable. Got up this morning, put on many layers and went to work. Nothing very exciting but warm.

  13. cct082073 says:

    We are supposed to get our first accumulation of snow tomorrow. The kid part of me can’t wait, the adult part of me is already dreading the cold, the extra laundry, the mess and the way my bones are going to hurt. My preferred offering of snow is to see it in a picture.

  14. Karen says:

    The only time you will find socks on my feet is with my boots. And that’s everyday that I can get away with wearing them. I love my boots, $h!t kickers or hiking boots! At least till it warms up, then it’s flip flops!

  15. Tiss says:

    Wow, we are complete opposites! I wear socks all the time, even outside. I can’t go barefoot outside, but I can with socks on.! LOL.
    Loved the excerpt. Snow you say? LOL.
    We didn’t get the snow this time, oh there were squalls, but nothing stays, cause the dang WIND blew it all away. That’s ok though. LOL. It was in the minus degree’s all weekend here and still is, but I stayed at work, sleeping in a very hard bed and worked double shifts. Now I’m paying for it. Can hardly move. So nothing funny here. Just trying to keep the wolf from the door. Thanks for sharing your world with us.

  16. Kathy Lewis says:

    Sable, I used to enjoy the snow when I was younger but since my twenties, not so much. I moved from MD to FL and enjoy snowless winters. Now we had some cold days and I would curse at myself because I can’t find my gloves and I refuse to buy another pair because I know they are here somewhere. My son sees the snow on TV and asks when it’s going to snow here. I hate to break his heart but I tell him it doesn’t know in FL. He was sad but perked up and went outside and rode his bike.

  17. My Dad’s dog will go use the cats litter box if it’s too nasty outside. My Moms cat go mad at me cause I let her out with me when I went to shovel snow for them. That cat looked at me like I handsome nerve bringing more snow to his house.
    I hate going barefoot I’m always running around in socks. Love the fuzzy socks the best for that

  18. Stephanie says:

    I also hate wearing socks, but it’s a necessary evil in Denver when it’s cold! I live in an older apartment building that’s not well insulated. No socks=FROZEN feet!

    I don’t have any funny winter weather stories to share. I’ve been sick for about a week and really haven’t left my cave.

    I’d like to tell you that I have been LOVING the Hell Yeah! series. I love, love, love cowboys and hope to wrangle myself one soon. 😉 These books are hot, Hot, HOT!!!

  19. Cindy H says:

    Who would think that Alabama would be under a winter weather advisory!! Tomorrow (1/28) we could get snow!! I thought I got away from that when I moved from Wisconsin!! The last cold spell we had a CAT break one of our outdoor PVC water pipes, my husband was not happy. We don’t even have any cats of our own it was the neighbors!!

  20. cynthia pak says:

    You don’t wear socks!
    The snow in the latest snowstorm came down fluffy. By the AM however that snow was frozen as the forecast high temps were to be in the teens.
    As usual I took my dog out for his morning walk, within 5 mins of our walk he starts limping. The salt and the cold was getting to his paws. He hadn’t done his business yet and I needed to get to work. So I did what any loving dog owner would do I took off my knit gloves put it on his front paws and it became his socks. Though I lost a pair of gloves and I thought my hands were going to break off, my dog gained a pair of socks and did his business

  21. lmcisneros says:

    I live in the Boston area, and we expect to get short periods of very cold (under 20 degrees) weather, but this one hung around.
    Even though I normally wouldn’t spend too much time outside in under this type of weather, I had to stay home to recover from a torn & detached retina.
    If you don’t what that involves – imagine spending 24/7 with your head facing the ground. This was to keep the injected gas bubble against my retina to help it reattach. I had to do that for 11 days! Besides looking odd, it was also a literal pain in the neck.
    Thankfully it’s healed and I’ve been able to resume my life, but I had some major cabin fever during those 11 days.

  22. Jana Leah says:

    Is it mean for me to say that I live in Southern CA, so no cold spell here? 🙂

Leave a Reply

