Coming January 22nd…

cowboys-mine1m

COWBOYS MINE by Stacey Espino

Western Menage (MFM) Romance

 Releasing January 22nd from Evernight Publishing

 *CONTEST*

How do you feel about friends to lovers romance stories? Let me know your take for a chance to win a $10.00 Evernight Publishing Gift Certificate!

 Blurb

Eva Ford lives a sheltered life on her small rural farm. At twenty-two, she feels the need to spread her wings and start her own life, planning a trip to the city to show her prized cows. Colton and North McReed from the next ranch over are determined to make sure she stays out of trouble.

Twin brothers, Colton and North, have always loved little Eva. She’s their rock in life, the one pure thing in their otherwise dark existence. Their abusive father ran out on the family years ago and their mother suffers from a serious addiction. They never look at Eva with desire…until they spend a week alone with her in the city.

Everything changes when Eva and the cowboys realize just how deep their love for each other runs. Once their passion is unleashed, it’s impossible to contain. But can their unorthodox relationship last? Will sex ruin the friendship of a lifetime?

Excerpt

North was ready to brawl. In fact, he craved it like never before. Pain would be preferable to the ache in his heart. Somewhere along the line he began to see Eva as more than the sweet girl next door. Somewhere along the line he’d fallen in love.

What he didn’t understand was Colton’s sudden disinterest. Their feelings for Eva always mirrored each other’s. Half the time when he’d escape to the Ford house, Colton was already there. They’d come on the trip specifically to keep Eva out of trouble, but instead, his twin was turning a blind eye.

They ate dinner in silence. North watched the sky turn from blue to black, every darkening shade bringing his anxiety to a new level. She still wasn’t back. God knows what that cowboy was doing with little Eva. The thought of his filthy hands on her made his blood boil. He wasn’t sure how much longer he could sit still with his imagination running wild.

He was just about to bolt from his seat when the door to the trailer opened. Cool air flooded the interior and the sound of Eva clearing her throat made every live wire inside him suddenly lose power. He exhaled a nervous breath, glad she was at least home safely.

“Told you I’d be back in one piece,” she said as she hung up her cardigan. “There’s no need to go hunting me down. Seriously.”

She started to climb up into the loft.

“Where’s lover boy?” asked North, no humor in his tone.

“His name is Wade, and he just dropped me off, like a perfect gentleman.”

“That why he had his lips all over you?” asked Colton. His brother was just as unimpressed, even though he’d condoned the behavior.

“Hush you!” Eva slipped under the covers.

“You haven’t eaten,” said North.

“Wade bought me dinner.”

He ground his teeth together, stifling a growl. The sound of that man’s name on Eva’s lips made him see red. If he never heard the name again it would be too soon.

They secured the trailer and turned out the lights before joining Eva in the bed. He tossed his shirt and lay down on his back, staring up at the low ceiling. She was already comfortable, obviously not feeling the volatile energy keeping him awake. He kept as far to his side as possible, the cold wall of the trailer chilling his arm. Every time she shifted in the bed, he tensed.

“I’m cold,” she murmured, cuddling closer to him. The heat of her body scorched his bare skin. In a matter of days, everything changed for him. He wasn’t sure when it happened, but he wished he could go back to the way things were. Uncomplicated.

He tried to get away from her but he was trapped in the tight confines of the sleeping area. He held his breath as she ran her palm over his chest, over and over in small circles. Her touch had always been soothing—not so much anymore.

“What’s wrong with you?” she whispered against his neck. His eyes lolled back in his head. Even her fucking breath was sweet.

“Nothing. Go to sleep, Eva.”

“You’re acting weird, North. Is this because of Wade?”

He decided the cowboy was a safer topic than his changing feelings for her. “I don’t trust him.”

“Why not?”

“Just don’t is all.” He rolled to his side and away from her. It didn’t feel right going to sleep on a sour note, but he couldn’t have this discussion now. Mrs. Ford was the one to teach him and Colton not to speak out of passion. It was always best to confront a person with a level head, after cooling off and replaying the events over in your head. He usually didn’t take the advice, but tonight felt like a good time to start.

“Will you two quiet down,” said Colton.

Eva pressed her body against his back. Why had he taken off his shirt? He needed layers between them—many, many layers.

“I know what I’m doing,” she said in a whisper. “You don’t have to worry about me.”

“I’d worry less if you spent more time with Bessie and Ruby than that drifter.”

“He’s not a drifter.”

“Why you defending him?” he asked. “You act like you’re already an item.”

She kissed his shoulder. “I just want you to be happy for me, North.”

“It doesn’t matter what I think.”

“It does. You’re the one who taught me how to rope a calf, and even though it took me weeks to learn, you never got impatient. You protected me when Jameson’s dogs got loose.” She ran her hand delicately down his arm, her fingers lingering over the raised scars on his forearm. “You bought me a corsage when no boy asked me to prom. Remember when the three of us danced in the rain that night? My dress was covered in mud.”

“I remember.”

“Well those are just examples of why I love you so much. It doesn’t feel right doing anything without your blessing.”

He wasn’t sure he could ever give her what she wanted.

 

Stacey Espino xo

Espino Banner_LG

http://www.staceyespino.com

http://www.staceyespino.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/staceyespino

https://www.twitter.com/staceyespino

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Coming January 22nd…

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    Love the cover!

    I think anything is possible. If you are friends then there is already a connection that could turn into so much more!

  2. I like some of the stories. Anything is possible. I love the HEA stories. I would rather have them not go through that angry stage when they realize there is more than just being friends. I love to read and these stories are good reads.

  3. Kim Smith says:

    I think friends to lovers romances are good because they already have the awkward getting to know you stuff out of the way. If they can stay sane through all that and not smack each other silly, it’s all good!

  4. latinatwix28 says:

    I believe that all relationships should start as friends and if it progress to lovers then it will be a long lasting relationship.

  5. Laura Le Capelain says:

    I am so looking forward to this new release I love the idea of friends to lovers I had few friends I became lovers with

  6. Kimberley Nash says:

    I love friends-to-lovers stories. I think it’s the excitement of finding something new & special with people who are already familiar with each other- they make great reads.

  7. I love this theme in real life as well as in novels…I had it happen a couple of times when I was at Uni. I also believe that men and women can have platonic friendships.

  8. merriedth says:

    I like the friends to lovers angle, because in that situation you already know the type of person you are falling for.

  9. roch3373 says:

    I think if you have the connection and chemistry anything is possible. But you need to be sure before crossing that line as it’s almost impossible to go back!!!

  10. I love the cover and I love friends to lovers stories. I think friends make the best lovers. Thanks for the awesome giveaway.

  11. I think being friends with the person(s) you love helps lay a good foundation for a lasting relationship. Love at first sight happens and can last but building from friendship to love adds layers to strengthen that relationship for the long haul.

  12. Lori Meehan says:

    I like friends to lovers stories. The cover is very nice and I liked the excerpt it was very intriguing. Now I need more.

  13. ajgreer1979 says:

    I think being friends is a great way to start.

  14. Romance Reader Enthusiast says:

    I don’t see why men and women can’t be friends. The next progression, for those that are really good friends, is the friends with benefits. And then why not love. I think it’s the perfect start to a lasting relationship.

    Lynn
    lareynolds0316@gmail.com

  15. I love friends to lovers stories, friendship is the base for the best relationships hands down! The hotness factor is soooo increased with a solid background of shared experiences!

  16. Vanessa N. says:

    I love the friends to lovers stories because they already have a great foundation to start.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  17. angel90249 says:

    I love friends to lovers romanes they have connection from the start so they build on it as lovers.

  18. wyndwhisper says:

    i think you have to be friends to a certain extent if you want your relationship to last at all. i always love books that have this story line, especially love your books and can’t wait to read this one.

    Tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  19. Tammy Faris says:

    Friends to lovers romance just have that “little extra something”! I think readers become more emotionally involved with these story lines. LOVE your cover too!

    tammyfaris1966@gmail.com

  20. Sara McDaniel says:

    I like when friends become lovers when it’s done right. What I don’t like is when one if them keeps constantly pulling back because they are worried it won’t work. It just frustrates me when I’m reading because I find myself yelling at a book. Then again…..maybe it’s the sign of a really good book!

  21. amy bowens says:

    I think when friends become more, they already have a strong bond which makes for a longer lasting relationship! My husband and I had been for years before I finally made the move to the next step and here we are now & years later. Although there are times (having been friends first) that we know how to get on each others nerves! Congrats on your upcoming release I look forward to reading this . I really enjoyed Forbidden Mate and I am happy that you have another book coming out so soon!

  22. angieia says:

    I enjoy the friends to lovers stories. This one looks like it has a bit of a twist with two brothers. I am looking forward to reading this book.

  23. Sheri Vidal says:

    I love friends to lovers stories. They’re one of my favorite.

  24. lisagk says:

    Thank you for the contest, I usually enjoy a friends to lovers story.

  25. flchen1 says:

    Friends-to-lovers stories is one of my favorite themes! This one sounds great, Stacey! Better mark my calendar!

  26. Clare O'Beara says:

    Gorgeous cover!
    You need to be friends if the relationship is going to last. You will have a lot in common and an idea of the other’s strengths – and their failings, but you’ll love them anyway.

  27. Pingback: Coming January 22nd… | ashandrick

  28. Ashley says:

    I love reading friends to lover stories. I love the fact that this one is about a young female who wants to explore what life has to offer but yet she has these 2 very dominant, possessive men who want to protect her and love her. Having grown up together they know everything there probably is to know about each other which makes the relationship all the more sweeter. It’s probably hard to hide their feelings for one another once they realize just how they feel about each other. This story reminds me of my relationship with my husband (minus the 2nd man, lol). I went to school with my husband, we used to write notes back and forth to each other in English and even though we liked one another we never acted out on it we were always friends though. He ended up joining the military and I went off to college (we spread our wings). My first year of college I ended up having a terrible car accident which I was very lucky to walk away from. I knew who I could depend on to help me get through that tough time and even though he was in basic training he came home to see me. That was the start of our love story and within a year of my accident we were engaged and a year later married. We now have 2 beautiful children and I couldn’t be happier. I know once I start reading this story it’s going to remind me of how my love story started and still continues to this day.

  29. Jana Leah says:

    I like friends to lovers stories. The characters already have a connection. Thanks for the giveaway!

  30. Aww, loved the excerpt! Most definitely love friends-to-lovers stories cause there is always that one thing that makes the guy look at her differently and it’s usually in the most romantic way

  31. Tracie says:

    I am a huge believer in friends to lovers stories because they usually know you warts and all and still love you. The romance between friends usually burns longer and brighter too!
    Looking forward to reading Cowboys Mine to see how things turn out.

  32. staceyespino says:

    The random winner is: Michelle Gallegos

    Please contact me at staceyespino (@) gmail.com so I can send you your Gift Certificate!

    Thanks for replying everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

