Baby, It’s Cold Outside

And there isn’t much else to do but stay inside with a cup of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate and read 🙂  So as I looked over my TBR pile trying to pick which book to start with, I started thinking about that ever-important first line of a book. What makes me pick that book over all the others??

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I have ADHD. Or maybe it’s just the “give-it-to-me-now” world we live in. Whatever the reason, I have the attention span of a hummingbird jacked-up on Mtn. Dew. If something doesn’t grab my interest immediately, chances are I’m moving on to something that does. This applies to First Lines/First Pages too.

I will spend hours, days, coming up with a first line, then the first page, trying to find the perfect combination of words to “set” the entire story. That’s how important I feel they are. First lines or pages should draw a reader into the world, into a problem or make us need to answer a question.

Think of first lines like a first meeting, a first date. You’re looking for a promise of something great. So for now I’m going to leave you with a few first lines that I think are great.

“I should warn you about my cousin.”  From ROMEO by Gail Faulkner

“Oh, my God, what have I done?” From BOUNTY HUNTER’S BRIDE by Carol Finch

“Unhand her this instant!” From A REPUTABLE RAKE by Diane Gaston

“Father must protect me or I am dead.” From HER ONE DESIRE by Kimberly Killion

“On Tuesday, I was in a band with Elvis.” From DIRTY LITTLE SECRET by Jennifer Echols

“When they got back to St. Louis, she was going to kill him.” From RAFE’S REDEMPTION by Jennifer Jakes (Had to throw mine in there. LOL)

“I’m going to have to shorten his willie.” From DISTRACTING THE DUCHESS by Emily Bryan

Love that last one! What reader doesn’t want to know why the hero’s “willie” has to shortened?

OK, so please share some of your favorite First Lines! What made you want to read that book??

Stay warm! ~ Jennifer

 

About jenniferjakes

Multi-award winning author telling the naughty side of the Old West ;)
This entry was posted in Creative Life, eBooks, How I Work, my life, totally off topic. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baby, It’s Cold Outside

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    One first line I like is “It was a bright cold day in April and the clocks were striking thirteen.”

  2. Chris DB says:

    “Let me s**k your c**k” -Scanguard Vampires series by Tina Folsom

  3. Eileen says:

    one of the best first lines is from Lorelei James’ Cowboy Casanova – The sound of leather hitting flesh was music to his ears.

Leave a Reply

