Contest and Give Away

I read somewhere that the first five days of  a new year set the stage for how the rest of the year will go. Gah!!  During the first days of 2014…

  • my car broke (still in shop)
  • my Kindle stopped working
  • a chemical leak in the local water system polluted nine counties including mine leaving us with bottled water only (no showers, laundry, washing hands, not to mention drinking).

But worst of all…

I’ve been suffering from Writer’s Block!!!  

And then… interrupting my internal angst, I received a 5 (cocktails?) review for my Eclipse Heat title, Trouble in Disguise, from reviewer, Michelle, at Cocktails and Books. Her words broke through my mental melt down.

” Miri and Deacon were characters that were so well written that I immediately wanted the best for them. Both were survivors so it was sort of like cheering on the underdog. I loved the storyline…”

 photo 5_zps02469485.png

So… celebrating the 5 Martini (?) Review  from Cocktails and Books, I’m giving away Eclipse Heat stuff today 🙂

Welcome-Contest

One print copy of Five Card Stud 

One Trouble in Disguise mug

One digital set of the McCallister Bounty Hunter trilogy

One 2014 magnetic Wild and Wicked Cowboys Calendar

One digital copy  Breed True

Leave a note and tell me how your 2014 is developing so far and I’ll collect comments from now until the end of the month and announce winners on Feb 2nd when I’ll be here again.

PS–Hope your year started out better than mine. @_@

gem-sig-blue

Gem Sivad

Gem-Eclipse-Banner-animated

Writing Erotic, Paranormal and Historical Romance
Author of the series Eclipse Heat & Unlikely Gentlemen
Published by Ellora’s Cave; Siren BookStrand & Dark Mountain Books
______________________________
Web Twitter / FB / Amazon / GR / 

About Gem

Author of contemporary, paranormal, and historical western romance always with a pinch of naughty, a dash of desire and sometimes with a touch of magic.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, Eclipse Heat, my life. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Contest and Give Away

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    I really hope your month picks up!
    Our January has been cold and rainy and stormy so far, my van has developed a minor exhaust issue which I need to get seen to before it becomes a major issue.
    I’ve read some great books already and I always review them so that is fun.
    Good luck with your writing more for us!

  2. Lori Meehan says:

    I think life is what you make it. Don’t put bad thought out in the world and they won’t come back and find you.
    I started my own business at the start of this new year and other then a small bump caused by the weather it’s going great!
    Your year is already on the up swing with that glowing review and I’m sure there will be more coming your way. The book looks really good. Putting it on my TBR pile.

  3. sherry1969 says:

    I hope your year gets to going better. So far my year has been going pretty good. We had some really bad weather the first of last week but I was off work so I didn’t have to go out in it. By the time I went back to work it was a lot warmer.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  4. nancyg5997 says:

    This year so far…
    -two major winter storms in St. Louis, with sub zero temps, closing my job and giving me lots of reading time (yay)
    -one fall in the snow, causing my knee to go out
    -best news ever, though…reconnected with my eldest grandson, who had been lost to us for eleven years (long and nasty story)

  5. Leni says:

    Things seem to have started off with a struggle, but I’m staying positive and going through it.

  6. Patricia Ballard says:

    I am so sorry that you have had so much trouble. Is the water trouble in West Virginia. I am from there. So glad that the writers block is gone love your books. I give a five on all your books. Can’t wait till the next one comes out. I check every day at least 4 times to see if a new one is out.

  7. Nancy M says:

    I hope your year gets better soon! My year hasn’t started out so great, but it’s not going to keep me down. We’ve lost power a couple of times due to ice storms. We found out we have to replace the sewer line, which will cost in excess of $2,000. Also, our car needs work done.
    Now for the good news. My whole family is healthy, and those of age are employed. My daughter, who is has bi-polar disorder, has improved remarkably over the last 6 months and is going to regular high school. She’s getting good grades and is on the track team. I’m thankful every day.
    Thanks for the chance to win.

  8. Eileen says:

    wow things did not start off for you for sure. I heard about WV on the national news and couldn’t figure out how a plant could be built so close to a water treatment place.
    2014 has been quiet for me so far. I’ll take it considering it wasn’t so quiet last year at this time. Family drama took center stage in 2013. I would like a quieter 2014 please.

  9. angel90249 says:

    So far this year is good and family is healthy. I have completed some new reads so even better. Hopefully husband will find job soon. To make this year even better. And my granddaughter calls me by name “G” god I love her.
    Thank you for chance

  10. Karen j says:

    I didn’t know you were from WV! So am I! Hoping they get it cleaned up for you guys soon!

  11. Jessica A Sheehan says:

    My year isn’t exactly starting out how I planned, but I’m doing the best I can to deal with it. 🙂

  12. amanda m says:

    Oh no!!! I hope it gets better. Mine has been okay. First 2 weeks on vacation and then back to reality. My son who is 3 had allergy testing and is allergic to everything of course. But hopefully things will look up for us and you:))))

  13. Raeline Peterson says:

    Hope your year starts getting better ! Mines been pretty uneventful and boring so far with is kinda good sense last year i went to way to many friends and families funerals.So heres to both of us having a great New Year .

  14. Lisa says:

    Other than the blizzard the first week of the year, then getting a lingering cold (I still have it) it has been a fairly uneventful new year.

  15. Armenia says:

    I really don’t put a lot of stock on trying too hard in changing the beginning of the year, but this year I resolved to sleep more….HAH…..that ended on the 1st since I stayed up all night reading. I can’t help myself, I love to read, I’m an avid reader of steamy romance, ok, slutty, kinky romance. But with so many books out there, and my unending TBR list, there is just not enough time for reading.

    Hope your year brings more starred reviews and great motivation, and kick that MO JO into gear. Just like Austin Powers:
    “Shag now, or Shag later, baby?” Oh well, eventually we all get to the shagging, right?!!!

  16. ronnie c says:

    Wow…hope your year gets better!! Besides on the coldest day so far (9 degrees) my heat stopped…I was lucky to get a guy to come fix it that afternoon…the battery on my car died. But aside from that I can’t complain…LOL.

  17. Hope your year gets better. Mine hasn’t been bad. I only made one resolution…read more so far I haven’t read more but haven’t read any less( I broke even). I wished we would have a colder winter so the flea’s would die off…be careful what you wish for …. I am about to freeze. LOL….. Stay warm and safe.

  18. flchen1 says:

    Hugs, Gem! Sorry for the troubles you’ve had so far–glad you’re getting all that out of the way so the rest of your year can rock its awesome self 😉 Things have gotten off to a quick start for our family–we’re thankful for the decent weather and are enjoying all the new activities the kids have gotten into. Thanks for the youngest, we’re learning what it means to be a sporting family 🙂 On the go, go, GO! Take care, and hope to hear in February how much everything is looking up, Gem! And huge congrats on the excellent review! Write on!!

  19. Teresa Hughes says:

    So sorry to hear your year has started out so bad. I hope things get better quick.

    I spent the first 5 days of the year working overtime. So if that continues I will enjoy the money but everything else I need to do will be sitting waiting for me to find the time to do it. Lol! At least I’m working!

  20. Kirsten says:

    I hope your year takes a turn for the better, Gem! I must admit I’d like a do-over for the first few days of 2014 myself. 🙂 Congrats on the great reviews though, each one is well-deserved.

    –Kirsten

  21. wrongwaymichelle says:

    My mother, my sister and my best friends mother-in-law have all been in the hospital since Christmas. Mom and my sister went home last week. Sis has copd and will be on oxygen probably for the rest of her life…..she’s only 56. Now a friend’s mother is in the icu, hoping and praying for a full recovery. Everyone else better behave! lol!

  22. Nancy Davidson says:

    Sorry your year has started out crappy! I sure hope it gets much better as the days go on. Mine hasn’t been too bad. Love your books.

  23. DebraG says:

    So far not too bad. Could be better though.

  24. JackieW says:

    So far my year has started out good..not as bad as yours…so sorry…hope things get better soon for you.

  25. Rosheen says:

    So much better start that yours so far. I’m just trying (still) to work out what to do with my life and my purpose (this has been v.frustrating but I’m in an ok financial position so I have a bit of time up my sleeve). You are a great writer and well deserve the 5 stars/martinis. Have a great day and hope rest of year goes (mainly) with the 5 star version. 🙂 cheers rosheen

  26. Linda Lou says:

    I’m so sorry your new year has been pretty awful so far.
    So far we’ve had several days of -19 degrees, and of course, while I was washing dishes, I started thinking to myself that I’d sure hate to be someone whose furnace would quit on them. Yes, lo and behold that very evening my furnace quit heating up. It would quit at 67 degrees. We were cold, so kept turning the switch off and on, on the furnace itself to get it to warm up 1 degree at a time. I had to get a repairman out the next day. All he could find was batteries needed replacement in the thermostat (and, why didn’t I ever think of that…since, I hadn’t put any in since last winter)! Then, we got a huge ice storm, so couldn’t drive anywhere (it was 3 inches thick and dangerous). Now, my toilet isn’t flushing properly and overflows (guess, the rotor-rooter man is next)! I guess, when it rains….or rains ice, it pours. I’m holding my breath that nothing else goes haywire. Hoping the rest of your year gets a little more uplifting!

    • My year is off to a bad start first the washer died now have to wash clothes in the kitchen sink then car is in the car heaven so have to find rides to get grandkids to school and back home had so much snow I now hate winter and gee it’s only the thirteenth of the month. Thank you

  27. Terri says:

    So far, so good. Christmas tree still up on the 13th of Jan….. Work is driving me nuts…… weather is hit or miss….. Yeah, everything is pretty much normal at my house.

  28. Got sick, got bills in the mail (but no money), and (worst of the worst) had to have my cat put down… My goal for the year is to focus on one step at a time and keeping positive thoughts (chakra visualization seems to be helping). Good luck!

  29. Ashley says:

    Sorry to hear about your year. My year has started off pretty well. Already have my son’s birthday party planned which is fabulous. Usually do everything last minute because is b-day is just a month after Christmas. However, layoffs are starting at work next week, so my year may take a turn for the worse. (Do not think I will be laid off, but some friends will be…good thoughts) Good Luck this year, may you get what you need! 🙂

    On a side note, love your books!

  30. Gail S says:

    Hi Gem, It can only get better from now on! 😉 My year started as it ended fair to good with a chance of getting better. I choose to be optimistic, it keeps me moving forward.
    So glad that you got that 5 martini review, it’s always nice when someone realizes how hard you work and they recognized it. I can’t wait to read ‘Trouble in Disguise’. Thanks for a chance to win.

  31. tiss81 says:

    Sorry to hear your year is starting off to a bad start. I am also not starting out great, but it depends on how one looks at things. I’m getting a divorce. So hoping life turns around for me. Thanks for the contest.

  32. Eva P. says:

    Yikes, that’s a bad way to start the year! Hope it gets better soon!
    Mine started off ok, so just hope it continues that way 🙂

  33. angela says:

    I am with you!
    Hubby, unexpected hospital bills ;(
    My Car revived but, at the end of its life
    my washer died!
    my computer fritzing out
    and my dishwasher sputtering and washing only half the stuff
    Iwillnotcry iwillnotcry iwillnotcry iwillnotcry!!!!!

    I really had much higher hopes for the new year! Hope things will start to look up for you…..and me too!!

  34. Tracie says:

    As they say, “it can only get better”…
    I can already tell that 2014 is going to full of financial challenges for me. The good news is that I can look forward to escaping in the pages of a book!

  35. retta l says:

    I’m sorry you are having the start of a bad year. 2013 ended back for my family (about 8 death family and friends) but so far everything is going good for the start of this year. Hope you have a great year even with a few set backs to start out with and that the writers block leaves soon. Love all your books and waiting for more.

  36. Jana Leah says:

    Hope your 2014 gets better. Mine has been good. Thanks for the giveaway.

Leave a Reply

