And away we go…

Well hello. Happy New Year! Time to share resolutions for 2014.  But first–my new cover art for Cerise Amour, the next title in my Unlikely Gentlemen series. (Cover by Booknibbles.com).

Cerise-Amour-by-Gem-Sivad-300dpi-final_522 x783

Blurb:

Chary: cautiously careful; wary; shy; timid; particular; choosy; sparing; frugal—Cerise Fitzwilliam has built a life following these principles and casts every one of them aside, faking her own death to save the only man she’s ever loved.

Jebediah Carter is sick, maybe dying. Someone has been slowly poisoning him and the only person he really trusts for help is the wife he couldn’t convince to stay with him years before.

In the intimate salons of Paris, passion simmers between them as Cerise nurses her husband back to health. Reluctantly they plan their return to Texas where they’ll face outraged friends and family–and a murderer they’ve left behind.

Excerpt:

Cerise stretched her long limbs, enjoying the feel of silk sheets caressing her naked body. She’d retired the night before wearing a sleeping gown, which, as usual had been discarded. Without looking, she knew it lay on the floor next to the bed—on his side. Her foot mistakenly, or perhaps not so accidentally, skated down his calf and his breathing changed from a rumbling snore to a growl.

In one fluid movement he surrounded her, pulling her back tight against his chest. Even though he emitted more heat then the smelting furnaces they’d viewed in Luxemburg, Cerise shivered.

“What is it, sweetheart?” He knew her so well he didn’t interpret her touch as intended seduction. Nevertheless, his arousal prodded her bottom and she wasn’t immune from its charm.

“I don’t like being dead,” she whispered, sounding forlorn even to her own ears.

“Nor I,” he agreed. “We’ll have to face the music soon enough. For now, let’s enjoy this last respite from responsibility.” One of his big palms slid south to her belly, then lower.

“We need to plan.” But she found it impossible to think logically as her husband nuzzled her neck and rendered her senseless to everything but pleasure… continued in Dreamcatcher eZine

And if your looking for new authors, great books, and a gazillion give-aways, check out the “Baby It’s Cold Outside” blog hop starting at midnight tonight.

JustRomance.me Bloghops

Leave a comment and tell one thing you’ve determined to change in 2014. Tomorrow, I’ll draw a name  and give away a  digital set of River’s Edge and Outrageous Pride, Books I & II in my Unlikely Gentlemen series.

And now about those pesky good intentions we all start the year with…

Gem Sivad


Writing Erotic, Paranormal and Historical Romance
Author of the series Eclipse Heat & Unlikely Gentlemen
Published by Ellora’s Cave; Siren BookStrand & Dark Mountain Books
______________________________
Web Twitter / FB / Amazon  / B&N

About Gem

Author of contemporary, paranormal, and historical western romance always with a pinch of naughty, a dash of desire and sometimes with a touch of magic.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, Book Cover Art. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to And away we go…

  1. Tracie says:

    Happy New Year!
    2014 is going to be the year of organization and getting my life in order.
    So far so good!

  2. laineslite says:

    In August I had a stroke and this new year I am working on me and getting my life back to as normal as can be. So I have to put me and my health first, hopefully love comes next and a little romance never hurts.

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    Intriguing cover art, it is hard to see how the images connect so I am wondering if these are short stories or one novel?
    Last year my resolution was to publish my books, having done that, this year I am writing another and doing more publicity such as an author’s newsletter.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Clare. I’m guilty of the “busy” covers in this series. The pictures really do all tie together and am hoping after readers enjoy Cerise Amour they’ll see how. 😀

      P.S. I read your last book and am looking forward to more. Good luck in 2014!

  4. Annette says:

    Now that I’m an empty nester, I’m determined to spend more time on me. That means more reading..naturally..and hopefully some travel. And as it is a new year, I hope to hold on to the normal resolutions-eat healthy, exercise, reduce debt-longer than I did in 2013. Happy New Year, all!

    • Gem says:

      I’m with you Annette. Worthy resolves all and adding one more to them for you–give yourself a reason to smile BIG now and then during the year.

  5. Becky Ward says:

    Happy New Year, everyone!
    For 2014 I am planning on exercising and taking better care of my health. I’m also hoping to do some remodeling if things go right this year and I get some debt cleared up.

    • Gem says:

      Gah, Becky. I’m knee-deep in chaos in my office refresh (it started with new paint and accelerated quickly to new floor @_@ ). Wishing you health, happiness and a fun time remodeling.

  6. suzlyne says:

    I’ve decided this year to focus on the positive. I’ve had a couple health issues the last couple months and Rather than think about what could have been I’m going to focus on the good health I’ve got.

  7. Lori Meehan says:

    Happy New Years everyone!
    Gem the book looks really good. Putting it on my TBR pile.

  8. Happy New Year.
    2014 will be a big learning curve for me as I get used to being on my own after the sudden death of my husband at the end of November.
    Reading provides great solace and I love the excerpt from “Cerise Amour”…it’s going on to my wishlist.. 🙂

    • Gem says:

      Oh Susan, I’m so sorry for your loss. {{big hugs at you}} I have weathered storms hunkered down in books also. Wishing lots of great stories your way this year.

  9. Spend more time doing fun things I want to do

  10. Shirley says:

    2014 should be interesting for my kids/grandkids. Starting now, if I can’t control it, I’m not going to worry about it. Taken me a long time to get to this point, but worrying doesn’t change anything and it’s time for me to concentrate on my and my husband. We raised ’em right and if they choose another path, then they can suffer the consequences without me making myself sick over it. Happy New Year!!

    • Gem says:

      I like your idea Shirley. Worry doesn’t do much but make you ill from anxiety. Good luck in 2014 to you and yours!!

  11. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I am going to try to get a better handle on our finances!

  12. Tiss says:

    After my divorce is final, I plan on cleaning out this house and organizing things where I can find them. (I Hope). LOL. I don’t make resolutions, so we’ll just home it all comes to pass.

    • Gem says:

      Out with the old and in with the new…lots of love coming your way this year Tiss. I feel it in my bones as my granny used to say. {{hugs}}

  13. Kirsten says:

    Gem,
    The new story sound SOOO GOOD! I can’t wait! As for a resolution, I’ve never made New Year resolutions. But I’d love to be published this year! Hope you have a fabulous 2014!
    –Kirsten

    • Gem says:

      Kirsten, whether it’s a real life adventure you’re sharing or a tale of a cowboy sheriff helping commit a bank robbery I enjoy all your stories. Wishing you a great year and your first book published in 2014!

  14. Happy new year to all. Going to try and reinvent myself, wanting a happier me. Cut about 8 inches off my long hair now short look, starting on the outside and working on the inside. No one can make happy unless I’m happy with who I am. One thing I’m keeping the some is my quite time for reading, something just for myself. Going to try to do a lot just for me moments. Life gets busy with work, family, ill parents I need to remember myself in the mix.

Leave a Reply

