The End of Another Year

First of all, I’ll like to shout out a loud HAPPY NEW YEAR!

photo-4As 2013 winds down, New Year’s Eve is always a good time to reflect on the past 12 months while setting goals for the coming one. 2013 was an amazing year for me, personally and professionally. On the home front, I’ve watched my children become young adults right before my eyes. I’m feeling less mother these days and more friend. It’s been a lovely transition. I also became the proud owner of a cat in October. My little Sheldon is alleviating some of my pre-empty nest jitters. Both kids will be leaving in August, so I’m clinging to this poor little guy and letting him fill in some of those places that are starting to feel empty.

Professionally, it’s been an amazing whirlwind of releases and new adventures. I dipped my big toe in the self-publishing waters in January. I love it. I also saw the end of one cowboy series, while another began.

image001In the spring, Lexxie Couper and I left Farpoint Cattle Station as all our cowboys found their happy endings–literally and figuratively. Snicker. Writing the Foreign Affairs series was definitely a challenge for me as I left the comfort zone of American cowboys and ventured into telling the story of Australian stockmen. Luckily, Lexxie–the most patriotic Aussie I’ve ever met (her pjs have the Australian flag on them, I swear!) held my hand and we found our way through different time zones, seasons and while we both speak English, there were times when I thought I was learning a new language!

Winter'sThaw300To ease the agony of leaving that series (I always hate saying goodbye to characters and settings), Jayne Rylon and I kicked off the Compass Girls, a companion series to the Compass Brothers. See what I mean about hating the end of series? I was so sad to leave Compton Pass, I talked Jayne into writing an entirely new series. This time we’ve fast-forwarded 20 years and we’re telling the story of the Compass Brothers’ daughters. It’s been great fun imagining our strong, brave, alpha cowboys being brought to their knees as they try to raise their headstrong, powerful girls. Winter’s Thaw and Hope Springs are out now. The third, Summer Fling, will come out on Feb. 18.

MidnightInk_boxAs for resolutions, I do set goals for myself. For 2014, I plan to finish writing the Compass Girls and Second Chances series. I also have a new series I’m working on that takes place in New Orleans called Big Easy. The first story released in November as part of the Midnight Ink Anthology I had the opportunity to participate in. If you haven’t had a chance to check it out, I hope you will.

Scorching Desire1800x2700I’ll also continue writing the Trinity Masters series with the hilarious and incredibly talented Lila Dubois. The series is all secret society, arranged menage marriages tied up with a bit of suspense and a LOT of sex. The first book is Elemental Pleasure and the third, Scorching Desire just came out in November. Go take a peek. This series is one that I’m extremely proud of.

So…those are my plans for 2014. What about y’all? What are some of your resolutions for 2014.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The End of Another Year

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    The kitten is beautiful and a great idea. (Got one cat on my arm as I type!)
    Happy new year!

  2. Shirley says:

    Hey Mari — 2014?? Who the heck knows what’s down the road. Only thing I’m sure of is that I will be reading and reading and reading. So, you need to keep the fingers flying over the keys, My only resolution is to be myself and stop trying to please everybody. If I can’t control it, I’m gonna let it go and move on. So, my friend, HAPPY NEW YEAR to you, I wish you nothing but happiness and success for 2014.

  3. Tiss says:

    I quit making resolutions. I’ll just be happy to get through my divorce and for things to straighten out and maybe I can attend a few conferences for readers this year. Looking forward to many new things in 2014. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  4. Eileen says:

    Happy new year Mari!! Hope 2014 is a good one for you and your family.

  5. Happy New Year!! Goal for 2014 is to getting our property in Florida sold!!

Leave a Reply

