A Soulful Interview with Hot New Country Star Jackson Young

Welcome Jackson Young, a hot new country western artist who has a special project honoring our military, and helping children in need. Jackson will be stopping in to answer your questions, so be sure to leave a comment or two.

Jackson Young 2

Randi: Do you write your own songs? What’s your writing process?

Jackson: Yes, I have written or co written anything I have released. My writing process starts the same as you would tell any story. The who, what, when, where, why. One thing I add to it though is some sort of real world relatability. I think the most important thing to capture is a listener’s soul and the only way for me to do that is telling a story I have lived directly or indirectly.

Randi: You have written some amazing songs, and I’m currently listening to your great new album. If a person wanted to write songs, can people actually write songs for singers?

Jackson: Yes, there are people that are strictly songwriters and actually song writing can be divided into two parts; lyrics and melody.

Randi: You make it sound easy, but it’s a very rare talent you have, Jackson. Were you born “country” or did you adapt to the lifestyle?

Jackson: Great question, to be truly country you have to have it in your blood. The core of my family are from Kentucky and come from a blue collar background. So I guess you could say it’s in my blood, but before high school I didn’t understand my country roots because I grew up seeing the ghetto life by enduring living in inner cities. So an honest answer to your question would be I have a city mind with a country soul.

Randi: That country soul comes through in your music. Do you listen to other genres?

Jackson: Yes, I listen to just about every genre of music. I think as a song writer and artist it is very important to understand the whole world, so to speak. Music is our past, present, and future of so many cultures world wide. So to not experience all of that in some form or fashion I think is robbing you of a full life.

Randi: Who inspired you?

Jackson: I would have to say in this order my nanny (maternal grandmother), Jesus everyday of my life, story of Job, and every person who ever told me you can’t.

Randi: What an inspiring list! What is your favorite song of all time?

Jackson: Amazing Grace, because it always reminds me no matter where I am in life, I could always be somewhere worse, and I have the ability to take myself somewhere better.

Randi: Which artist had the most influence on you?

Jackson: Ray Charles, Johnny Cash, and Elvis Presley. Ray for the innovative music, Johnny for the honest words of wisdom, and Elvis for reminding me that on stage the audience is the star I am just there to remind them of it.

Randi: That’s a great combination of musicians. Which artist do you think has had the most influence on country Music?

Jackson: A lot of people would say Garth Brooks, but I would have to say George Strait. King George as we call him in country music, reminds us of one thing, no matter how good lookin you are, no matter how catchy your sound is, no matter how good of a song writer you are, you have to stay anchored in one thing in order to stay successful, and that’s to be true to who you are.

Randi: I know a lot of people who would agree with you, me included. If you could pick one person of the opposite sex, living or not, to do a duet with, who would it be?

Jackson YoungJackson: I would have to say Patsy Cline and Aretha Franklin. The reason why those two is because their voices are so honest that I know working with them would make my soul grow.

Randi: Your soulful voice would blend well with theirs, Jackson. Where would you like to be in your career 10 years from now?

Jackson: A little more money, a little more happiness, a little less stressed, and helping a whole lot more people

Randi: Stress is a big part of your profession. Would you trade it all for a quiet life?

Jackson: In order for a voice to be heard, you have to speak up. In this life some of us have no choice because the beat is so strong and the voice is so loud in us that there is no way for us to get peace and quiet unless we let it out.

Randi: That sounds like a heavy responsibility. What do you do for fun?

Jackson: Honestly what’s fun for me is knowing that every minute of everyday of my life is moving in a direction to inspire others to have a great day. As far as my day to day fun, I love writing songs, I love watching movies, playing chess, and I love working out

Randi: What’s your idea of a perfect date?

Jackson: Red wine, steak medium rare, dancing, a movie, another glass of wine and chocolate, great conversation, and making love by a roaring fire, inside or out

Randi: Okay, now that you’ve got us all warmed up… What is a typical day for you when you’re playing out?

Jackson: Organized chaos, there is so much that goes on behind the scenes I cannot write it all here. I can tell you this, the 90% of bs you have to go through is worth the 10% you get to experience on stage only because of one thing, my fans

Randi: Your fans love you! What’s your favorite thing about doing concerts?

Jackson: If you have ever been to a Jackson Young show you know three things, number 1 – your gonna get rowdy, number 2 – its no secret that my hips shaking inspire a good time at the show, and number 3 – if you’ve never felt like you’re number 1 in your life, you will.

Randi: Wow, I don’t think there’s any way we can resist seeing you in concert. What is your favorite charity to support?

Jackson: I would say anything that has to do with children because they need someone to fight for them, or anything to do with animals. My relationship with my redbone bloodhound, Gentleman Jack, is living proof that all people should have a second chance to be rescued when they save the life of an animal.

Randi: I’ve seen pictures of Gentleman Jack, and he looks like a well-loved pet. Do you have a horse?

Jackson: Lol I plead the fifth.

Randi: What’s the one song that means the most to you?

Jackson: I would have to say Purple Rain by Prince, because its lyrics and melody are irreplaceable once you have heard it. The second would be Sing Me Back Home by Merle Haggard, because it reminds me how powerful a song really can be.

Randi: As a Prince fan myself, I have to commend your good taste. How many cowboy hats do you have?

Jackson: 2, one belonged to my papaw who passed away and the other I bought when I won my very first country music singing competition. Its been worn through the majority of life’s rodeo that I have been put through, but cowboy is more than a hat. It’s a state of mind very few can be.

Randi: What brand of jeans do you wear?

Jackson: Anything boot cut, no sissy skinny jeans for this country boy

Randi: Boxers, briefs, boxer-briefs, or commando?

Jackson: Let’s do a poll what do you think

Randi: You’re teasing us, Jackson! Are you single?

Jackson: I get asked this question a lot and I guess the best way to answer it is by saying no, because I am definitely married to my music.

Randi: All you single ladies, I think Jackson just issued a challenge! LOL. Who’s your favorite, Dolly Parton or Tammy Wynette?

Jackson: Clearly, Dolly Parton, not only is she an amazing songwriter, instrmentalist, comes from humble beginnings, great actress and entrepreneur, her spirit defines what being country really should be about.

Randi: Dolly is an inspiration. Who gave you that “It” moment when you knew you wanted to sing country?

Jackson: That it moment came for me on a back road in an old yellow 4×4 pickup truck when my friends would not only sit around and listen but would request me to sing along with an old casette tape that had George Strait’s, “Babys Gotten Good at Goodbyes.” At that time I didn’t know what was happening but I knew something was there. So here we are today.

Randi: And you’ve made many, many people happy with your music. What has been your best fan experience?

Jackson: I would have to say, every time I connect with a child. I have met children that have dirty hands and second hand clothes, I have met children who have come from nice middle class homes, but no matter who they are or where they come from, the one thing that is priceless and irreplaceable to me is to see the fire or hope and the courage of dreams in their eyes the first time our eyes meet. After I sign an autograph or they take a picture, they aren’t the only ones walking on cloud 9 as they walk away. I believe the children are the future and to be a mentor or any part in that is the greatest fan experience.

Randi: Your caring and giving is an inspiration to me, Jackson. Will you talk a little about your 2013 Veterans Tribute Video and the children’s charities you’re supporting? How can we help?

Jackson: Helping is easy, all you have to do is go to my YouTube channel Jackson Young Country watch the ad in front of the video, as well as the video, and share and like the video with as many people as you possibly can. YouTube is not interested in the same people watching the video over and over again. In order to get paid for the video, which will enable us to help a children’s charity, we need you to get as many people as possible to share and watch the video. Any money made off of the video until December 31st we will donate half of the proceeds to a children’s charity.

*Now the cool part of the charity is we will pick three worthy canidates and the rowdy nation, my fan club, will decide who the winner is. So any children’s charity you may know or be apart of by helping us out you or your charity could possibly be selected to the top 3. So please, please this holiday season make it a wonderful seasons greetings for more then just yourself. Just by the click of a button.

I want to thank Randi for having me today. I highly encourage y’all to get ya some country soul by purchasing my current album with TMG Records, Let It Ride at Jacksonyoungcountry.com. We do have a limited supply at the Rowdy Nation Gear store. You can submit orders by emailing your order to jycrowdygear@gmail.com. And lastly, join the rowdy nation on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube by subscribing, liking, tweeting, sharing – ya’ll have no idea how important social media is these days. Plus you can win cash and prizes with our weekly and monthly contests. My humblest of thanks for some really great questions. Let’s Get Rowdy!

Your biggest fan,
Jackson Young

-let’s all help Jackson reach his goal of helping the children’s organization by sharing the link to the video http://youtu.be/by4UyZOgr0w and asking our friends and relatives to watch it. It’s a moving tribute to our military set to Jackson’s wonderful song, Home for Christmas.

Thank you for being here today, Jackson, and best wishes for continued success in your career.

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Soulful Interview with Hot New Country Star Jackson Young

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Well done! Enjoy your Christmas.

  2. KT Hawkins says:

    Awesome Interview and loved getting to know Jackson a little more! The video is definately one to be checked out! Thanks Randi & Jackson!!!

  3. A wonderful interview. I am praying that St. Jude is the winning Children’s Charity. Jackson I fell in love as soon as you said King George…about George Strait!!!! Indeed he is King George. Plus you like Cash and Elvis. Amazing Grace is a favorite of mine and my father. Bless you!!!

Leave a Reply

